Thursday 7.9.17

art by Zack Seckler

91 responses to “Thursday 7.9.17”

  1. polly says :

    That’s solved then Xen, the entire prison population in your kitchen.

  2. emmachisset says :

    hello polly, i lost a couple of kg over the last couple of days but am guessing it’s just that my 26′ long sausage is empty, as i’ve only eaten wine, halva, grapes, tomato juice etc in that time, mostly water and sugar plus alkyhol,

    ie it’s not a ‘real’ weight loss, it’ll pick up again when i get back to eating bread, spuds etc.

  3. emmachisset says :

    “Reminds me, must opt out of council system, I don’t trust them with the bins, let alone confidential data.”

    too right polly, they are my employer and my landlord and while they are far better than any private landlord i ever had, they’re still a bunch of self serving *****,

    and besides, half the time when you think you’re talking to the council, it’s actually Capita who will do anything for a quick buck.

  4. emmachisset says :

    “Is that actually possible?”

    am no expert polly but having worked in big buildings made with lots of steel, they often cut the signal to nothing, often as i walked out the door, texts that had been sent earlier would ping in as it picked up the signal

    that was yrs ago tho, maybe signals have got stronger?

    also it would be very expensive and impractical to add the steel to an existing building, and structurally pointless, the steel frame is there to hold it up,

  5. polly says :

    I would think it would be quite hard to build a Faraday cage into an old prison building though Emms. Strangeways is massive and built on a spider like plan with a central observation tower.

  6. polly says :

    My friend works in a new office building (steel framed) and she can’t get a signal at work, but I still think it’s impractical….

  7. polly says :

    it really pisses me off when someone like IDS says -well anything really – but mainly idiotic remarks about ‘tolerance is in both directions’. Whilst I think anyone, like T Farron is entitled to hold whatever barmy christian, or other religious, views they want as soon as they start voting against gay marriage or abortion in parliament, they are imposing those views on others. As far as I know Farron didn’t vote against gay marriage, however Mogg has consistently voted against any kind of equality law.

    https://www.theyworkforyou.com/mp/24926/jacob_rees-mogg/north_east_somerset/votes

    We can tolerate him, doesn’t mean we have to like him. As someone said, if Sadiq Khan had said what Mogg had said, there would be calls for him to resign by now.

  8. polly says :

    I look forward to ‘the grape diet’ being serialised in the Mail Emms.

  9. justamentalpatient says :

    TBF, some people call for Khan to resign every time he says anything.

    Moggy gets away with it because there is something Bojoish about him.

  10. NuitsdeYoung says :

    It’s the whole media-driven “Oh, but he’s a character!” thing. I hold the media culpable for giving the Farage bandwagon air-time for the same reason. They wanted to play him for entertainment value as long as they could, and damn the consequences.

  11. justamentalpatient says :

    Indeed. Buffoons can get away with anything.

    Sometimes, I just wish a random member of the public would nail them on camera.

  12. justamentalpatient says :

    “If you have different types of trousers it leads on to different types of shoes, different types of shirts, etc.”

    Anarchy!

  13. NuitsdeYoung says :

    It happen, but somehow they still get away with it and are still trotted out again. It sickens me.

  14. emmachisset says :

    Moggy reminds me ( i’ve just seen my first picture of him – i avoid much news coverage, don’t feel i’ve missed much by not watching him on telly )

    in appearance of that lembit optic chap, the one married to a Cheeky Girl.

  15. interiorbc says :

    I like your shoes nuits…you have a bold sense of fashion.
    Yesterday you talked about long hair…I still wear mine long (below my shoulders), very easy for pony tails, braids and buns.
    I once had it cut to my chin, eons ago…I looked like a squirrel.
    Never again!

  16. NuitsdeYoung says :

    He reminds me of some of the Hooray Henries at St As in the ’80s. There was a clique of rabid Catholic ones from posh clerical boarding schools. We got a few of them in Mediæval History because they seem to have regarded it as an action-plan, not a subject of retrospective examination. One told me at a departmental party that he wished it was still the Middle Ages as he wanted to burn me at the stake as a heretic and general-purpose subversive…

  17. NuitsdeYoung says :

    Inty: Yes. I love long hair, whether on me, on other women or on men. Of course, it was used against me in the LGB (no other letters in those distant days) group I was in as a student – the dominant female was a Bindel-type who didn’t think it was ideologically sound to have long hair, wear make-up or dress in skirts and lots of velvet. She made the average brickie’s labourer look like Dame Edna and didn’t approve of us Bi-Romantic or Bisexual folk: you had to be a “political lesbian” to be in her good books.

  18. justamentalpatient says :

    I suspect they are a dying breed, nuits. I hope so, anyway.
    Most of the young dykes I know would tell the old school stroppies to fuck off.

    Although I do know someone who very nearly ended up on Jeremy Kyle to get her gf to “prove” she had never had sex with a bloke. They decided to have a curry, instead*.

    *true story

  19. emmachisset says :

    i was about to ask if it was a nice curry, but any curry is better than JK,

    my main exposure to him was when i was crawling along the corridors, slowly, in a Bupa home, it was often on in the rooms, doors open, loud.

  20. justamentalpatient says :

    It is a pretty good curry house, I’ve had their takeaway.

    I know a couple of people who have been on it. It would probably be cheaper for them to move the studio from Manc to Nuneaton, TBH. The last time I was A&E (an ex had been knocked off her pushbike) there was a bloke in the waiting area telling us all about the time he was on it.

    Mind you, channel 5 does quite well out of Nuneaton, too.

  21. NuitsdeYoung says :

    Justa: Glad to hear it.

  22. justamentalpatient says :

    Aye, nuits. A good curry. 😉

    Seriously, tho. Don’t think we’re there yet, when it comes to bisexual or biromantic lasses. But things seem to have improved a bit.

    Never understood the problem, myself. But the ex did have a bf when we met, and I never found it threatening. Did used to laugh when blokes chatted her up.

  23. Paul says :

    I think one of the sisters may have snuffed it recently but i could be wrong.

  24. justamentalpatient says :

    Great comment on the UN thread, paul.

  25. polly says :

    A friend of mine once lived in a women’s commune in the 70’s Nuits, she had some hair raising tales to tell…..

  26. polly says :

    Sadly Lembit Opik never married his cheeky girl Emms, apparently his partner now is a Bulgarian property lawyer.

  27. justamentalpatient says :

    Bulgarian property is quite cheap at the mo. Skinny bro was considering it at one point (we call him the Littlest Hobo).

  28. polly says :

    This is a stupid piece

    https://www.thesun.co.uk/money/4411732/we-reveal-how-many-specialbuys-aldi-actually-stocks-and-the-number-will-shock-you/

    I go to aldi regularly for the cheap everything, not in the hope of getting a massive telly.

  29. justamentalpatient says :

    Apparently, it’s like the wild west when they open a new store because of the giveaways.
    Some people are just stupid.

  30. neartheclocktower says :

    We got cheap stuff from Aldi in Switzerland. The cheese was good but the wine not so.

  31. polly says :

    The most expensive thing I’ve bought from there that was non food was an insulated food container that was £3.99. It’s great though, it’s got a screw top, handle and little slot with a fold up fork/spoon.

    In fact I’ve got 2, I’m somewhat obsessed with food containers. They belong in my fantasy life in which I plan all my meals thriftily in advance….

    I suppose I should make more use of them in real life.

  32. polly says :

    I’ve never had anything from there I thought was awful, or worse than the big supermarkets.

  33. neartheclocktower says :

    Anyway, the Bowie exhibition was wonderful. I thoroughly recommend it. Spent two hours looking round it and could have spent more.

  34. neartheclocktower says :

    Xen, I’d say go for it.

  35. Paul says :

    Thanks Justa

  36. NuitsdeYoung says :

    Polly, Justa: Yes, it was demoralising when I was a student, and to be honest, put me off a lot of the ‘identity politics’ bullshit for life – because so much of it seemed to be about other people wanting to change your identity to fit a template of their own. I’m A physically, but bi-romantic, and there wa a lot of pressure on women in the group to fit a ‘political lesbian’ identity that didn’t allow for nuance or diversity. I got on better with the gay men: I could have a laugh and be camp with them, without being bullied for not being a walking butch stereotype.

  37. justamentalpatient says :

    The problem with identity politics (for me) is that people tend to focus on and reduce themselves to one identity/label. I mock that attitude with my username. Some people fall into the trap of taking it literally.

    Life is much more complex than that. As are human beings. Have any of us met another person who was completely one-dimensional?

  38. Sleepychow says :

    WP appears to have stolen the “schedule post” button. This means I’ve had to publish tomorrow’s post early and I may not be able to post Sunday’s as I’ll be away.

    Bill,
    If I stick a pic in the pic library could you pop it up for me please? Saturday night or whatevs.

    Hope this is not a permanent state.

    Please could someone pass on my message to Bill?
    I can hear him snoring at the mo.

    ta in advance

  39. NuitsdeYoung says :

    Agreed, Justa. It’s very reductive. We all have multiple layers of identity.

Leave a reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.