Wednesday 11. 10. 2017

article-2209253-1536EE61000005DC-178_306x465

Happy Birthday Cyanbloo!ย 

138 responses to “Wednesday 11. 10. 2017”

  1. justamentalpatient says :

    The Vogons are coming, the Vogons are coming!

  2. justamentalpatient says :

    Cheers, inty!

    Getting lost on a mountain or in da woods is understandable, but not really an excuse on roads with signage, tybes.

    The Guidey-types in our Link unit didn’t even understand that canal bridges are numbered in order.

  3. justamentalpatient says :

    Woohoo! Get me!

    *boogies*

  4. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    My worst “getting lost” experience was when I rented a farmhouse up the other mountain. “Orienteerers” would come knock on the door clutching their OS maps asking where they were. One time was a Sunday, I’d just taken the roast beef and tatties out of the oven, knock knock, “can you tell us where we are?” (cos the mountain is called one thing in Welsh, which is on the only signpost, another in English). So I showed them. I had also just rescued a dog. By the time I showed them where they were the blooming’ dog had woofed down the whole beef joint and tatties all over the floor ….

  5. justamentalpatient says :

    B once tried to nick a roast chuck from stranger in Nottingham. Luckily, their Rottie wanted to play.

    Must have been annoying, folk with OS maps and no clue how to read them.

  6. Tybo says :

    I think the worst mountaintop getting lostage was on Red Pike (or a hill nearby) in the lakes. Visibility was terrible and there was this cairn on a featureless plateau that looked about the same from every direction.

    I had some lunch, checked the compass and set off, but shortly realised that I was going in the wrong direction. Came back, checked the compass again, tried to remember which way I had originally come from (without success) marched off again.

    Soon realised I was wrong again. Totally disorientated now. Could not make the map and compass make sense.

    Eventually, I went off another way that started to look OK, met someone and asked them. They knew where we were.

    It was all really odd. When I got back I googled to see if there was some sort of magnetic anomaly. You get them sometimes, for example in the Cuillins in Skye where compasses are more or less useless. But I could find nothing about that bit of the lakes being dodgy for compasses.

    So I never worked out what the problem was.

  7. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Was a total joy and privilege to have the chance to live there, though, Justa. Was also slightly mad as a lone woman with teenagers not old enough to drive and anyway, one way track most of the way up to it. But I wouldn’t have missed it. ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Tybes, what year was your walk, I know I’ve read bit of your blog, was brill, btw.

  9. Tybo says :

    Justa, I may have mentioned this before but my most regular driver on the scheme, Fred, was a lovely bloke but pretty hopeless navigator. And when I started my MA it was on Tuesdays so I was not always able to do them and got D, the practical worker to take over. And she was hopeless.

    So comes to Christmas shopping and I thought, I know, they can go to The Galleria in Hatfield. The Galleria is right over – I mean physically over the top of – the A1.

    The A1 leads to Archway and Junction Road at Archway leads straight down to Kentish Town/NW3 where D and all the ladies live.

    Next day, “how did it go.” “Oh, bit of a nightmare, we got lost coming back.”

    “How the fuck did you get lost? You went to a shop that is on the top of the A1 that is, the A1 that goes to Archway and turns into Holloway Road!”

    “Yeah, but Fred needed to get petrol and we got lost looking for the petrol station.”

  10. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Ha, I can prove I’ve read a bit of your blog cos whenever I think about it, I think “why didn’t he have that bloomin’ breakfast?”. No idea where you were by then but I think almost there, you were in Scotland?.

  11. justamentalpatient says :

    Maybe fiddy lived in a place with a geological/magnetic anomaly?

    Withdraw previous criticism.

  12. justamentalpatient says :

    Ha! Did you allow them out on their own again, tybo?

  13. Tybo says :

    It was 2009 to 2011, Fifty. The blog has some after that, 2013 when I extended it towards Lyme Regis (never made it all the way) but the London to Stornoway bit finished in June 2011

    http://onthewaytostornoway.blogspot.co.uk/2010/09/stage-twenty-five-haltwhistle-to.html

  14. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Just a lovely place to walk, an even better place to live but within the Beacons National Park, Justa, where when the weather changes it can change v quickly and visibility goes out the window.

  15. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Cheers Tybo, have bookmarked it, will do it in chronological. But, and I really need to know this, was the eschewed breakfast in Scotland? ๐Ÿ˜‰

  16. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Eep, Justa, no ET? ๐Ÿ˜‰

  17. Tybo says :

    Justa, there are actual signs that say “Holloway” from Hatfield to, well, Holloway!

    It’s “The Great North Road.” Not “a” great north road. The Great North Road. And the Galleria squats over it like a giant beatle…

    Aaargh, all these years later I still can’t quite grasp how they managed to get lost.

  18. Tybo says :

    I don’t remember eschewing any breakfasts, Fifty.

    I am sure you are right. I do remember thinking, should I really have another cooked breakfast today – though there weren’t many consecutive B and B/Hotel nights – and i don’t remember having the strength of will to actually forgo a breakfast I had paid for.

    Tis against nature.

  19. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Tybo, when I first moved to Bucks (1986) most of Milton Keynes looked like your 10:03. Now every time I go back it’s bigger and bigger ….

  20. justamentalpatient says :

    Sure they weren’t Guides, tybo?

    They can get lost in their own bathroom IME.

  21. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    I think it was an “optional extra”, Tybo, and you went for a scone or something (forgive me, I keep thinking Welshcake, that’s not likely). ๐Ÿ˜‰

  22. justamentalpatient says :

    nuits, if you’re up The Evil of Frankenstein is on Horror (Freeview70) shortly.

  23. Tybo says :

    I must read Frankenstein. Hurtling up my TBR list.

    Anyway Night all.

  24. justamentalpatient says :

    For anyone unfamiliar with the brand, a Morgan

    Hand crafted, wood frame, work of motoring art.

  25. interiorbc says :

    oooh a Morgan! Back in the day a friend had one, cool car!

    re lost people…we have a joke up here re the yanks who are misinformed on canuckia:

    ” do you know where you are? do you like it up here?”

  26. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    What would I know about bikes, Justa. When I was about 8 my parents bought me one of these, but it was blue and no basket on the back. Mind, I cycled miles on it, over to Gramma’s 5 miles away in the hols, to Spenborough Baths, at least it wasn’t heavy to lift over the barbed wire and styles:

    Tbf, I flipping loved it. ๐Ÿ˜‰ x

  27. justamentalpatient says :

    G’night, tybo. Hope you feel better tomorrrow.

  28. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Oh, should have said, the handlebar and saddle were adjustable, so it fitted me for years and years, you just unscrewed the thing, lifted the bar and saddle up then re-secrewed the thing. ๐Ÿ™‚

  29. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Nn Tybes, yes, get better soon.

  30. justamentalpatient says :

    The finest hour of one Oscar winning Nicole Kidman

  31. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    ‘Nudda budda phone call, there’s a thing, it is a controlled thing. And then there’s things.

    Eeh!

    Anyways, this is the hill I used to cycle up on my little 14 inch wheels with no gears and it gets a lot steeper:

    Mind, it was more in these days, I just wanted to go all Hovis on you:

  32. justamentalpatient says :

    Dvorak.
    Second movement?

  33. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    **Oh, that should have been *brudda* phone call. What with Welsh being fine with dd for th.

    And that reminds me, Sleeps, I might have said Welsh for taxi was “taksi”, well I talk sh*t, there is no k in the Welsh alphabet. It goes:

    a, b, c, ch, d, dd (=th), e, f (=v) ff(=f; think of and off), g, h, i, l, ll (= chl/thl). m, n, o, p, r , s, t, u, w (=oo), y (no rules here, sort of uh, unless it’s not).

    When I drive in England I miss the Welsh signs, eg, lane closure 800 yards. Where’s the “llath”?

  34. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    What the frick was that Yorkshire child doing going down a hill in Cornland? (Although my Welsh great grandfather was going down a Yorkshire mine, that is by the by ….

  35. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    It kicked off at Long Lartin tonight, my bro said it would, they stopped them smoking about 6 weeks ago and black market baccy went up 10 fold and must now have run out. Was E Wing, mine is in another wing and the wings are kept v separate. So hoping he’s ok.

    Helpless.

    He did the most awful thing, I know. Almost 3 years in and nothing’s changed; the bewilderment, the continued love, the total confusion, the helplessness. And the visits.

