Monday, 14th August 2017

Long exposure of an aircraft taking off.

47 responses to “Monday, 14th August 2017”

  1. NuitsdeYoung says :

    Pretty!

  2. Bill says :

    Two of your posts went into spam last night Nuits

  3. Bill says :

    Where was Fing yesterday?

    #worried

  4. polly says :

    Good morning.

    Apparently there are no hipster tea bars in the UK, I must have imagined the ones in Manc then like ‘Propertea’ (geddit?)

    As I chucked a mangled slug out the kitchen door last night (that’ll teach it to crawl all over my floor, fortunately I was wearing slippers) I briefly and vaguely saw the perseids. Only tiny faint streaks of light though. One year I must arrange to be on holiday somewhere with no light pollution and watch them properly

  5. Sleepychow says :

    At first glance I thought the banner pic was a tentacle from one of Attenborough’s Deep Sea series*.

    Morning all.

    Don’t worry about Fings, Bill: I expect she went out on the lash with her hosts and is just fine.

    Looked at the sky a bit in the Peaks on Saturday night: Nothing to report.

    *I’ve been watching a few Attenborough’s recently. Spooky animals, some of them.

  6. Sleepychow says :

    Aw.

    Ginger Ninja just came to call on Biscuit and he went out to play.

    Aw.

  7. Sleepychow says :

    A few things to do so I’ll be orf the noo.

    CU later, guys.

  8. fingsaint says :

    Sorry I wasn’t around yesterday to thank you all for your birthday wishes, I’ll pop back onto yesterday’s thread and deposit a nugget of heartfelt gratitude. ☺️

    Was out on the lash, as foretold by the chow with the ouija

    Reciprocates Bill’s hug xx

  9. Bill says :

    Wotcha Fing.

  10. Bill says :

    “Hurcules, the Legendary Journeys” on the Horror Channel. Hysterical.

  11. polly says :

    The seagulls are branching out into using weaponry by the way. Let’s hope they don’t get their claws on anything more deadly than stones.

    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-cumbria-40843811

  12. interiorbc says :

    Happy belated birthday fings! Hope you had a perfectly lovely day 🙂

  13. Sleepychow says :

    Tories, pants and gulls.
    CU is complete.

  14. Bill says :

    Lumley’s Bridge is falling down,
    Falling down, falling down.
    Lumley’s Bridge is falling down,
    My fair lady.

  15. Sleepychow says :

    You still watching telly, Bill?

    I just watched an episode of Hoarders where a woman collected dead animals in her fridge: The clean up was easy because all that was in her house was live cats, dead cats and poop.

    Lots and lots of poop.

  16. polly says :

    the pants look like they’d protect you from most things acksherley, maybe gentleman CU’s should invest and also benefit from a lifted bottom.

  17. polly says :

    Sort of encouraging to see that Murdoch has decided to take aim at Jeremy Hunt. Wonder what he’s done to upset the dirty digger?

  18. Bill says :

    Now watching Pointless.

  19. polly says :

    This is deffo an image that stresses the pants USP

  20. polly says :

    I can’t watch those hoarders programmes, some are more sympathetic than others, but they seem to me to essentially be treating people who are ill as a freak show.

    Not a criticism of you sleeps, just saying.

  21. xenium1 says :

    Oviedo & Logroño. And Espanyol. Do I get three Pointless trophies?

  22. Sleepychow says :

    Some certainly can be like that, Poll.
    I like certain doctors who actually listen and connect with the people who are ill and I love the success stories. Some you know just won’t get better so those are hard to watch.

    I’ve spoken about it before on here so I won’t repeat myself.

  23. emmachisset says :

    “An infestation of ‘super-fleas’ with penises 2.5 times the length of their body is set to hit the UK in the next few weeks, experts warn
    The influx of fleas is caused by rising temperatures that are ideal for breeding
    The ‘super-fleas’ have the largest penis, relative to size, of any bug on the planet”

  24. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Evening All

    Ahh, that explains ^that man up there^ rummaging in his pants then, Emms, to see how his compares to those of the fleas? 😉

  25. Sleepychow says :

    … and I read that all fleas have penises 2.5 times as long as their bodies but they are so thin they need claspers.

    Ah, claspers.
    I remember reading about those.
    Hero v Shark.

  26. Sleepychow says :

    Right.
    I’ve skimmed the “papers” so I’m off to do something a bit more useful ………………….. or not.

  27. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Who is doing this clasping of fleas’ dinkles?

  28. JamesFrance says :

    Evenin’ all !

    Bill: “It Came from Outer Space”, ace film, this picture you put up is it. Nice one.

    Today was spend taking Gueetar, and going to parc (http://u.d.free.fr/

    Then I wandered on, saw more great places, stopped and played a little flamenco, and so on. There was also a free music group in the park my mate happened across, and we’ve joined in: freestyle music in the park like in 1966, what’s not to like ?

    I have to do some work however since I’m snowed under so all this wandering about having fun is ironically getting me nowhere from the science point of view.

  29. JamesFrance says :

    There’s a fantastic article by Harry Leslie Smith:
    https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2017/aug/14/1939-second-world-war-fascist-thundering-approach-hitler#comments

    I wrote monster comments there as usual. I want him to be my grandad, except I already have a grandad. Having more than two grandads is probably flouting the law (except in satl lake city where anything goes, bleedin’ libertines that they are, these latter day “saints” – pull the other one 🙂 ).

    I digressed. Harry Leslie Smith is a star, have a look. I’m going to buy his books, and have been going to buy his books for a while now, but there’s a problem: I don’t by things on the interweb net interconnect. Thing. That thing. Don’t like buying things unless I can talk to a human being 🙂

  30. JamesFrance says :

    p.s. have a look at green vaguely hippie neighbourhood action allotment-style thing which I put up and I’ll put up again ‘cos I found it today on the bike:
    http://u.d.free.fr/

  31. interiorbc says :

    Thanks for the link James, I really respect that man, and his writing is gripping.

  32. JamesFrance says :

    He’s great 🙂 And today, he’s confirming something I’ve been worrying increasingly for a while.

    Ho hum.

    Learn to grow lentils. And keep chickens. Work out how to waste foxes. Potatos too. And stuff.

    Living off the land when civilisation collapses is an enormour job, and I know one thing: I don’t know how to do it 🙂

    Here’s the solution: Join a community where someone else knows how ! My sister grew potatos. My mate in the south, she knows how to grow stuff (dad’s a gardener).

  33. brusselsexpats says :

    Hope you are over your birthday hangover Fings.

    Getting coat…..

    Evening all.

    Beautiful weather here but signs of approaching autumn. The leaves on the horse chestnut trees are tinged with brown round the edges.

    However I like autumn.

    Have a Bulgarian friend coming to visit me in Antwerp on Saturday. She wants to go round the shops. Nothing like doing something different over the weekend.

    Sweet dreams everyone.

  34. JamesFrance says :

    Bru, say it ain’t so, ‘Bru, please say it ain’t so, that’s not what I want to hear, Bru, ain’t I got a right to know, say it ain’t so, Bru, please say it ain’s so,
    I’m sure they’re telling us lies, Bri, please tell us it sin’t so !

  35. brusselsexpats says :

    Jaime,

    When I get back from Crete end September I will be looking Xmas in the face…..

    Fireworks here at the moment in celebration of August 15th. Not half making a racket.

  36. JamesFrance says :

    Bru, it’s the first time in 7 (or is it 8) years I haven’t been in the south of France for the 15 août feast. The roast boar (alright, pig, there’s no boars) on the tiny town square, everyone around trestle tables, the medieval style musicians dancing around the fountain, one of them a belly-dancer, singing jewish and arabic music .., I digress, because it’s all happenin’ now and I’m missing it!

    Never mind, Paris is OK. Nothing happening for the 15th though.

    In good secular spirit, in Provence, they’ve repabtised it “The feast of the apricots”. This, I approve of, althought the old title (the assumption, was it?) was a bit more mystical than the apricots 🙂

    The christians still parade up to the church around midnight on the 14th, I think it is, all ten of them. The tourists look on in awe, as the hundreds of villagers drink and dance and make merry about 100m away in the open-air fair in the school playground: there’s even a tiny merry-go-round, and air-guns to shoot stuff and win tat, and all sorts of funfair food – it’s great. The poor old christians look a bit martyred, straggling up to the church singing mournful dirges 🙂

    All that to say: I’m missing the feast of the apricots this years (a) ‘cos Paree is great (b) work to do, an’ all.

  37. JamesFrance says :

    p.s. what’s the word for jewish music from the mediteranean? And maybe arabic too. Both in one, perhaps.
    Or not.
    I’ve forgotten. Argh.
    Maybe I’m simply thinking “sephardic music” but I thought there was a slightly more specific term.

    Here’s a taste:

    There are the ones I was talking about: The djindjols !

  38. neartheclocktower says :

    There are very young children playing football on our street. OK our fiesta is starting but it’s a bit much when you can hear the parents encouraging them at this time.

  39. NuitsdeYoung says :

    Bill, it was just a YouTube music video. I posted it twice because I couldn’t see it the first time. I wondered what had gone wrong.

  40. NuitsdeYoung says :

    I often buy books & c online because it’s had to get French stuff here.

