Thursday 10.8.17

Artist Joshua Flint

69 responses to “Thursday 10.8.17”

  1. fingsaint says :

    Sleeping with the dog is just a temporary thing for me, Polly. It’s so I know where she is and isn’t taking the opportunity to wreck the house and garden of my kind host here is South Aus.

  2. fingsaint says :

    IYF! 🎉🎉🎉

  3. emmachisset says :

    “I agree by the way that it’s cruel to confine cats indoors, ”

    not a subject i know about, not being a cat keeper, but by coincidence i was working with my boss today, and she has an indoor cat, her opinion is, of course, that it’s not bad for them in any way, as long as you provide plenty of entertainments,

    she reckons that as it’s parents were also indoor cats, that’s the life it knows.

  4. polly says :

    Dunno Emms, my friend has a cat she got from someone who kept it indoors and it loves going out, took to it like a duck to water. Basically all cats like to get out and murder some wildlife, unless they’re really old and knackered.

  5. polly says :

    And I’d hate to stay indoors for the rest of my life.

  6. polly says :

    From the guardian.

    “Calls are being made for urgent research into the “boyfriend model” of sex abuse that was used by the Newcastle sex trafficking network and others in high-profile grooming scandals.

    It is characterised by a vulnerable person being encouraged to believe they are in a loving relationship with their abuser. The victims are often then coerced into having sex with the abuser’s friends or associates.”

    Isn’t this the classic method of pimps from time immemorial?

  7. polly says :

    And I’m not sure it needs ‘rurgent research’ so much as efforts being made to protect vulnerable people – whatever their gender, race or age.

  8. emmachisset says :

    a cynic might suggest that’s just the Guardian trying to deflect the blame , anything to avoid blaming the people who actually perpetrated the crimes,

  9. emmachisset says :

    ” Basically all cats like to get out and murder some wildlife, unless they’re really old and knackered.”

    failing that, there’s always the indoor spiders.

  10. polly says :

    “anything to avoid blaming the people who actually perpetrated the crimes”

    It does seem that way. There’s no point researching it, if you know it’s happening, get the evidence, get the vulnerable victims away from them and lock up the perps. If you don’t know it’s happening, then I don’t really see how it can be researched, to state the bleeding obvious.

  11. polly says :

    Looks like I was foolish to trust Gideon with my tenner then, since apparently most of the money donated to Grenfell fire victims has not been distributed.

  12. xenium1 says :

    You trusted Gideon with a tenner? Are you mad?

  13. xenium1 says :

    Anyhoo, just waiting for my brother to confirm the dates he’ll be here – to take over mumsitting duries – & I’ll be booking a few days in Barcelona. And my mate from Suffolk might be going out too. A lads’ jolly on the cards… 🙂

  14. NuitsdeYoung says :

    Job will be helping with the clearing/application process. Pay is better than it was in Glasgow, and rent is lower. That means more money to spend on food, brocade waistcoats, jewellery and pretty pictures… ;-D

  15. NuitsdeYoung says :

    I got some pretty pictures printed today at the copy shop near the Minster, for brooches and lockets (I do this so I can have my various favourite characters with me). The copy shop has a wonderful dog. Her name is Stella, she’s just over a year old: a fox-red Golden Retriever. She gets lots of cuddles.

    Anyway, I’ve now put a small colour portrait of the boy into a late 19C swivel-brooch that has a ‘Dieppe ivory’ bone-carving of doves perched on an urn on one side, and facetted almandines (pinky-purple stones) around the outer frame. Looks perfect, very classy, and suitably Neo-18C. (The photograph-lady who was in the brooch originally is kept in the original gift-box, along with a spare ‘Dieppe ivory’: if I change pics in jewellery, I always retain the originals.) Swivel-brooches are good for ‘political’ subjects: the innocuous doves can be displayed for some occasions, while when with people in the know, it can be turned to the portrait. It’ll look very good on one of my velvet tops or at the throat of one of my ruffled shirts…

