Sunday 6.8.17

 

Beau, a 55-day-old echidna, in the hands of a vet nurse at Taronga zoo in Sydney.

The baby animal was rescued by hikers after it was found abandoned on a bushwalking track near Newcastle in New South Wales

49 responses to “Sunday 6.8.17”

  1. NuitsdeYoung says :

    Aw! Wee cutie! I discover I now have a new tribe of ‘cheeky chicks’ to wake me in the mornings: the squawky gulls on the river at the end of the street.

  2. polly says :

    Gulls are taking over Nuits, saw loads of them yesterday, all with attitude. I contemplated getting chips to eat outside, but decided against it as didn’t want to be dive bombed.

  3. emmachisset says :

    “Hard Brexit will see ‘Swedish stilton, Polish pork pies and Belgian black pudding’ push out British favourites, warn food firms”

  4. NuitsdeYoung says :

    There was a dappled youngster padding about in the back courtyard yesterday. They have such gorgeous markings.

  5. neartheclocktower says :

    Good morning

    Don’t like gulls at all.

  6. polly says :

    Stilton is protected outside the EU though.

    Blue Stilton” and “White Stilton”
    cheeses both have EU Protected Designation of Origin (PDO) status whilst
    the word “STILTON” is a Certification Trade Mark (CTM) registered not only in the UK but in another 15 countries
    around the world. As such, there are legal requirements relating to the labelling of these products (and products
    where these cheeses may form a predominant part – such as White Stilton with Apricot).

    Who cares anyway? I buy ‘salad cheese’ rather than Feta cos it’s cheaper. And who always buys proper Greek yoghurt rather than ‘Greek Style’?

    I just had a pita bread with tomatoes, spinach and melted stilton for breakfast….

  7. polly says :

    I have a grudging respect for gulls clocks, because of their swagger.

  8. polly says :

    I have discovered you choob rainfall sounds. I went to sleep with one on last night (should last nine hours, but my battery conked out after three, must plug laptop in next time). Apparently you sleep better with low level ambient sound it does something to your brainwaves.

  9. polly says :

    This is a funny story, though probably not if you’re trying to run a business in Keswick…

    https://inews.co.uk/essentials/news/uk/trouble-paradise-christian-convention-sparks-lake-district-tourism-row/

    “This is a nice tourist town where families come to enjoy the scenery, but they can’t visit because everywhere is booked up for the convention. The conventioneers take up the accommodation and the parking spaces, but they don’t spend their money in town. We’ve even had people on the street telling everyone they are sinners.”

    I might go, I like a good argument with someone telling me I’m a sinner. Had a great one once in tandem with a gay man (complete stranger) about some homophobic placards outside the Tory party conference which ended with him saying ‘well I’d rather go to hell with her than heaven with you’.

  10. JamesFrance says :

    Evenin’ all ! Fifty, Tendy is the best ! I’ve never been there, but I say this as a fellow airplane avoider, because of the security, the queues, the beeps, the “take your shoes off!”, the “come into this back room here and take all your clothes off!” (as has happened to me, it’s true), and worst of all, because of being obliged to traipse through a gigantic shopping mall like a herd of sheep to the slaughter on the way to the bleedin’ boarding gate.
    And at the boarding gate, everying jumping to their feet the moment “Boarding!” lights up, and thens standing there like lemons, immobile, for hours until the gate opens. With children screaming, teenagers having fits of temper (“You hate me! Nobody understands me! I hate you!” they wail).

    It’s been in the news these last few days, so I’ve writtent that same comment about air travel in several different versions 🙂

    I’d like to think it’s ripening with successive versions. Except on this one, I left out the nostalgic flavour of “how great it used to be when we were young and went to see granny and grandad”),

    Nuits: I’ll look as those flamencos – were you particularly struck by “From Damascus to Cordoba”? It’s magic.

    Right: train to catch in 30 minutes ! Train takes the pain out of planes (I don’t think that works, but it alliterates, which lets one get away with loads 🙂 ).

  11. JamesFrance says :

    A more prosaic approach might be “Air-planes are a pain, let the train take the train as you drift across the plains”

    (Although I’m not sure why I said “prosaic”. What’s prosaic about either formulation? It’s that old trick “add random good words to spice up speech” I suppose.)

  12. neartheclocktower says :

    I’ve taken the train across the plains in Spain a few times, even in the rain.

  13. emmachisset says :

    “Who cares anyway? I buy ‘salad cheese’ rather than Feta cos it’s cheaper. And who always buys proper Greek yoghurt rather than ‘Greek Style’?”

    Never tried ‘salad cheese’, tho i’ve noticed it lurking on the shelves,

    – it’s only slightly cheaper than real Feta, ( I did try lidl’s barrel aged feta at twice the price of the ordinary one and couldn’t spot much difference ),

    but salad cheese isn’t Feta, so people who like real feta would be the ones who ‘care’, eg Kizbot !

  14. neartheclocktower says :

    51 (from last night) it really annoys me when the press have that ‘everyone’s picking on the Brits’ attitude. The security strikes have absolutely nothing to do with Brexit.

    I have a lot of sympathy for the security staff. It has to be the definition of a thankless task. They have to enforce stupid rules on people, often with no common language. Most of them have at least some basic English. In Barcelona they often relax some of the rules when it’s particularly busy (they ‘forget’ to tell you to take shoes off). They are asking for better pay and conditions, wanting a modest 3% pay rise. I dno’t think that’s too much to ask in a country where the cost of living is shooting up.

  15. polly says :

    25p less Emms…..

  16. Bill says :

    There’s no point in putting off the inevitable. Glass of cider anyone?

  17. JamesFrance says :

    I’m on the train. It’s a bit of a surprise, they brought lunch.
    Amazing.
    I reserved a day or two ago, always the last minute, me, and they put me in first class. I thought “Ah, it’ll be quiet”. I didn’t think “they will serve us all the way, be at our beck and call, pampering this and that”.
    So I used up the old rests, this being beans and fish. It would go to waste otherwise.
    I therefore ate beans (green, “des haricots”) and fish (the pressure pasteurised sort). And then this bloke shows up and says “what would you like for lunch sir?” I replied “what’s this about lunch? You mean you give us lunch?” “Oui mon-sewer”, he replies, “Vegetarian? Fish? Meat?”, “Oh alright then, fish”. “And to drink?”. I boggle a bit. And say “Alright. Water. Just water. No bubbles.”
    There was rare juices, fine wines, exotic alcohols like out of bloomin’ Baudelaire probably, and all I could say was “water, no bubbles, cheers.”

    Later on, there will be coffee.

    I feel I shouldoffer to do the washing up, or help clear the tables or something. This is odd. But most pleasant 🙂

  18. neartheclocktower says :

    That sounds rather civilised, James.

    When I was commuting weekly to Madrid I was once booked into ‘Preferente’ (Spanish first class). It was a bit underwhelming. As I wasn’t travelling during a proper meal time I got a small ham sandwich (work didn’t know I was veggie, which had to be chosen at the time of booking) and a yoghurt. Did have a little bottle of wine with it 😉 The seats were bigger and more spaced apart, but it wasn’t really a first class experience.

    The French really know how to live!

  19. polly says :

    Just watched the film of Pygmalion from 1938. Annoyingly it still has the wrong ending, ie Eliza goes back to Henry Higgins, rather than the actual ending as written by Shaw. Surprised Shaw let them film it with that, since he was apparently quite fussy about his plays being staged exactly as written, but maybe he wanted the cash…

  20. lagrandeflaneuse says :

    There’s a mole with a Number 1 at the top of the page.

    Afternoon all.

  21. neartheclocktower says :

    Drama in the street below. There’s a fire engine and our street is cordoned off, from our building to two blocks down. They’ve got some kind of monitor which keeps bleeping, but there is no sense of urgency. They’ve just let a boy go into the block next to us so I suppose we are safe. Nobody else is on balconies so probably most residents are on holiday.

  22. neartheclocktower says :

    The firefighters have taken their helmets off, and are just standing around. The bleeping thing has stopped.

  23. neartheclocktower says :

    Two vans from the gas company have turned up, and they’re trying to break down a door!

  24. NuitsdeYoung says :

    Yes, James: that was lovely music! Spanish guitar = great.

    Meanwhile, more beauty. Because I do like boys who dress well…

  25. NuitsdeYoung says :

    Should have said. That’s the wonderful Aubrey Vincent Beardsley. The man in homage to whom I’ve been dyeing my hair dark red for over 30 years.

  26. neartheclocktower says :

    No doors broken down yet, but people from an electric company have arrived. Much beeping going on.

  27. neartheclocktower says :

    Looks like they might be going to switch the leccy off. I’ll switch off the computer just in case.

  28. Bill says :

    I’m impressed with myself because I recognised Aubrey Beardsley before I read the post.

    Suffering from a surfeit of sparrows here. Just counted about thirty of them in the garden. They’ve been around for three or four months now.

  29. Bill says :

    It’s when they start running you need to worry Clocks.

  30. neartheclocktower says :

    Leccy back on, everyone still standing around.

    Mr went down to let one of them into our building, and weirdly didn’t ask what was happening.

  31. NuitsdeYoung says :

    Well done, Bill!

  32. polly says :

    oh dear clocks, do you think it was a gas leak?

  33. polly says :

    Anyone bought a cheap pressure washer? I have various tidying up outside jobs to do, such as removing the remnants of the I*y from the wall and painting it and thought one might make life easier. Argos do a basic one for under £50.

  34. lagrandeflaneuse says :

    About thirty of them is a good thing, Bill. Poor little spadgers got hit by an epidemic a few years ago and nearly wiped out.

  35. lagrandeflaneuse says :

    What’s l*y?

    *baffled face* as Sleeps would say

  36. polly says :

    Ivy…..

  37. polly says :

    “New Great British Bake Off presenter Noel Fielding says he is careful about eating sugar because “no-one likes a tubby gut”.

  38. neartheclocktower says :

    Been out to feed a friend’s kittens, so I asked the firemen. It’s an electrical problem, but they and the gas people are staying here just in case. They don’t think there’s a gas leak but aren’t taking any chances. I asked if we would have the power cut off again, and they said our building should be OK, but the next one could be without power for up to four days.

    Got back and they’re digging the road up. Oh the joy of road drills on a Sunday. A third fire engine and crew have just arrived to take over.

  39. neartheclocktower says :

    The watch is now flying in Spanish territory. Her friend’s mum is working today at the airport, and finishes about when the flight is due to land. She’ll be delivered to our door.

  40. neartheclocktower says :

    Going over Montseny towards the coast north of here.

  41. neartheclocktower says :

    The fire brigade and gas people have just left.

    The watch has just landed.

  42. NuitsdeYoung says :

    I grew up with this song: we had an old Calum Kennedy recording. I love the melody:

  43. Bill says :

    I’m beginning to feel I’m living in a Cbeebies remake of The Birds.

  44. polly says :

    don’t underestimate sparrows Bill.

  45. NuitsdeYoung says :

    Indeed: remember, Bill – all birds are dinosaurs.
    Even the sparrows.
    You are being overrun by dinosaurs.

  46. xenium1 says :

    I have a cunning plan. Big bro will be here* for a week** in September & I shall take the opportunity to bugger off to Barcelona for a few days…

    *No dates known as yet, so the plan is on hold.

    **Only a week as they also want a holiday somewhere in Spain during their month’s holiday & they will also be househunting. The poor souls…

  47. polly says :

    Good luck with the plan Xen.

    Apparently Aaron Carter is bisexual. Who knew? More to the point who the f*** is Aaron Carter?

    I sometimes think the Mail just invents these people.

  48. neartheclocktower says :

    The leccy people have just stopped making lots of noise. It’s turned midnight here.

    The watch came home with lots of stories to tell.

