Saturday 5.8.17

painting by Jeremy Miranda

68 responses to “Saturday 5.8.17”

  1. brusselsexpats says :

    Thanks Nuits – that is a really nice piece of music.

  2. brusselsexpats says :

    Evening all and a Happy mid-Thermidor……

  3. brusselsexpats says :

    Clocks – wise decision. The situation in Barcelona looks horrendous.

    Years ago I was travelling with my mother to Tenerife during an air traffic controllers’ strike. The normal journey is about 4 hours. After a delay of 7 hours we were allowed on the plane then it took us a further 6hrs 30 mins to get to Tenerife (via Libya of all places.) We could have been in New York the time it took us.

    I’ve known people to take days to get back after a holiday either due to strikes or – wait for it – volcano activity.

  4. JamesFrance says :

    Hey Bru, what a fine way to start a new page ! I only regret, as usual, all the fine things consigned to the wastebin of yesterpage, as the leaves of autumn pile high and subduct into the depths of the earth, year on year, so the words of the underground go back through the ages whispering forever more, and … piling up some into something or other.

    Now leaves and wood and all that, these make coal. What to the words of the underground piling up make? We must wait a few hundred thousand years to find out. I wan’t wait ! I bet it’s a book plant 🙂

  5. JamesFrance says :

    Right, I’m off to take the compost out. In the meantime, a but more from Rufus:

  6. NuitsdeYoung says :

    Take care, Inty! Commiserations, LaGrande!

    Glad you liked the music, Bru, James.

  7. polly says :

    Evening

    I’ve been doing great railway journeys of the world today. I decided on impulse to go to Scarborough and had to go via Sheffield to York as engineering works at Huddersfield. On the way back saw a train to Sheffield and thought ‘oh I’ll get on that’, not realising it took 3 hours via Hull……

    So I had a brief visit to Hull and a very good view of the freshly listed bridge as I pulled out. Also Selby, Beverly, Doncaster…..

  8. polly says :

    Anyway Scarborough Castle is well worth visiting for spectacular views if you haven’t been as it’s on the highest point of a headland (obvs good place to have a castle)

  9. polly says :

    Evening

    Llagrande, I once temped for the Grauniad in their Northern Ads department (this was back in the day when the paper did well out of job ads), they made me type all the Welsh ads, as I was the only person there who could copy type properly.

    Anyway apparently I got them all absolutely correct, I put it down to have a Welsh neighbour as a child who used to send us christmas cards in Welsh.

  10. NuitsdeYoung says :

    I’ll probably be off to Scarborough on Monday for day out with little second-cousin and family… But it will probably be more seaside-y than castle. Scarborough was the hometown of my bigamist great-grandmother…

  11. JamesFrance says :

    Hey, just dropping by. I can’t resist, Simon and Garfunkle:

  12. JamesFrance says :

    And here, Nuits, is my equivalent of Robespierre, possibly: Evocación de Damascus a Córdoba, by Juan Martín:

    That’s maybe my favourite piece of music ever, of all time. Played with passion rather than precision. And that includes all of Paco de Lucía, of Isaac Albéniz, and if that’s not saying something, I don’t know what is 🙂

  13. NuitsdeYoung says :

    Ooh, nice! I have quite a collection of flamenco CDs, you know…

  14. NuitsdeYoung says :

    This is one of the greats, whom Lorca admired:

  15. NuitsdeYoung says :

    James, Simon and Garfunkel got that song from Martin Carthy, and – much to his chagrin, as it’s traditional – copyrighted it.

  16. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Sorry I’m late. Indeed, Nuits (re Scarborough Fair) and again re the banner. I have to have books, even though I don’t read them as often as I did, they have to be there, my comfort blanket is a big old oak book case (although if it fell on me with its contents and those nick-nacks atop it, I’d prob be crushed to death).

    James, it was Magnum PI (Tom Selleck) you were thinking of, I think. Back in the day I used to have a neighbour who looked a little like him and milked it for all it was worth, right down to sandals in winter in Yorkshire.

    Fings, Sleeps said a few days ago, when I could sometimes read but not contribute because my broadband’s been/is iffy, that they were going to her MiL’s for some “looking after” for a few days, hope they’re having a lovely time. x

  17. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Inty, know you’re off now, I don’t know how close to you the fires now are, a little while ago, too close for comfort. Take care lovely. x

  18. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Clocks, here in the UK right wing press report your airport situation as being as being pretty much wholly aimed at Brexit and UK travellers. It’s ridiculous, I know. We are not a Shengen country so there’s a bit more hold up, the staff are striking, that’s a further hold up for everyone. They are doing in a way to cause the most disruption possible to as many people as possible at what is their most busy time. Staunch remainer as I am but even if I wasn’t, I am never going to swallow that. It’s a Union doing what Unions do to make their case.

    That this coincides with worldwide terrorism threats involving air travel passes them by.

    Mind, I speak as someone who has avoided airports for quite a long time now, I really can’t be arsed. Tenby’s nice. 😉 x

