Friday 4.8.17

 

66 responses to “Friday 4.8.17”

  1. brusselsexpats says :

    Hi Nuits,

    Wow – they are very original, very striking. Good you can transform them to clip-ons. I don’t have pierced ears and have to ask someone to adapt them for me.

  2. xenium1 says :

    Fag break. Rain stopped. Play. No music in a Wetherspoons. Just serious drinking. To forget. Forget what?

  3. brusselsexpats says :

    James,

    In school here we got ancient history then for the more “modern” bits mainly French history – starting with Louis XIV, the effect of his government on business, the wars – many wars – and a lot about Colbert. In parallel French lit. classes would be Racine, Corneille and Molière.

    I was left with a great love of these playwrights.

  4. brusselsexpats says :

    Yesterday watched a two-hour (the French don’t do anything by halves) French documentary on the rise and spectacular fall of the Templar Knights.

    Saw some spectacular scenery and ancient castles/forts.

  5. NuitsdeYoung says :

    Bru, because Pa de Young used to be a radio officer and then a Marconi technician in his younger days, we have some very fine pointed pliers. Because I’ve never had my ears pierced, I’ve become a dab hand at using pliers, other pairs of earrings and superglue to convert them. I used the post-wires on the back of the wiggly scrolls of these earrings to make a ‘loop’ to hook into a ring on a pair of clip earrings, making them into longer drops. After bending the wire over, I then add a little glue.

  6. NuitsdeYoung says :

    Yeah, Bru. Poor old Templars… I recommend Helen Nicholson, Malcolm Barber and Peter Partner on the subject… There is a lot of pseudo-mystical, pseudo-historical guff out there on the subject, though, so you have to be careful in bookshops.

  7. fingsaint says :

    Bottoms up, xen 😉

  8. xenium1 says :

    Nuther fag break.

    My bottom’s never been upper, Fings… x

  9. brusselsexpats says :

    Nuits,

    The programme mentioned the famous curse Jacques De Molay – when at the stake – is supposed to have placed on Philippe le Bel, the Pope and de Nogaret. There is strong evidence that the speech was uttered and not merely a legend.

    It also provided France with one of its finest historical drama series I have ever seen: Les Rois Maudits. Sensational acting from the entire cast.

  10. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Your bottom’s never been up a what, Xen? (Sorry!) 😉

  11. Paul says :

    Congratulations on your good news Bru.Can’t remember whether you now have dual nationality or not.

  12. NuitsdeYoung says :

    Bru, worth reading Peter Partner’s The Knights Templar and their Myth.

  13. xenium1 says :

    51, uppa…erm…can’t quite remember now. That might be the beer talking… x

    Just had a cold milk, smokey bacon crisps & a Cadbury’s Caramel. Does it get any better? I hope not. I might burst with pleasure.

    Have this as a goodnight gift, ‘cos I might not have expressed my feelings correctly enuff earlier… 🙂

  14. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Ooh, Xen, weirdly I now want a smoky bacon crisps sandwich. On soapy white bread, obvs, which I have banned myself from buying. I also don’t buy crisps. Bum. x

  15. lagrandeflaneuse says :

    Night all.

    I’m totally cream crackered.

