Sunday 23.7.17

reverse grafitti by Moose

Reverse graffiti by Moose.

And a Happy 1st Anniversary to Tiger & Mrs T. x

60 responses to “Sunday 23.7.17”

  1. neartheclocktower says :

    Finished about an hour ago, 51, so no spoiler. I believe there was also a very good cricket result, though I didn’t watch it.

    Did catch a bit of the high board diving with Tom Daley. Rather impressive (and I’m not just talking about physique).

  2. NuitsdeYoung says :

    51: Yeah, I move on Thursday. I will be knackered on Friday, but will be doing one of my personal historical commemorations, with appropriate jewellery and clothing for the day…

  3. neartheclocktower says :

    Justa and 51, I said at the outset that friendship and landlordship wouldn’t mix, and made it clear that it was his undertaking if he went ahead. To be fair he has done a fair bit of threatening when they weren’t paying any rent and they now seem to be paying regularly. But what they pay only covers the mortgage and a payment that we have to make because the building is old and we’re paying into a fund to have it done up. We pay for water, gas, council tax and community charge (for upkeep of stairwell etc). It’s all the wrong way round – they should be paying the bills and we pay for maintenance of the building.

  4. neartheclocktower says :

    Good luck with the move, Nuits. I hope all goes very well.

  5. neartheclocktower says :

    In other news, I saw a gecko in the study this morning. It was on the floor and ran under a wicker basket. I’m now paranoid that Snudle will find it. Hopefully it’s gone out of the flat onto the balcony and up on high.

    Snudle is good at getting cockroaches and sometimes moths, which I approve of. But the one time he left a mangled gecko on a rug I was rather upset.

  6. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    I said you were too nice to be landlords, Clocks. You said that they took your place in an emergency because they were being evicted from their previous one. It may well be they acted in the same way toward their previous landlord. However it came about, though, I still think you need a set set of rules, ie, a tenancy agreement. I’d go round local letting agents to find what is a fair rent for a similar place in a similar area and then arrange to meet with them. You could say something like “We’ve been considering selling” to get their attention, it’s not a lie, you have considered selling.

    What I really think you shouldn’t do any more is jeopardise your own family’s happiness and wellbeing to subsidise another family and if they are anything close to being friends, they will understand that.

    I typed “tenancy agreement” into that well known search engine and came up with loads of which you can strike out clauses that don’t apply (thinking here of small things such as keeping pets). All of the ones I looked at made clear that all charges for utilities (although one site called them “changes” for utilities) are the responsibility of the tenant.

    All the best to you and the gecko. 😉 x

  7. neartheclocktower says :

    Thanks, 51

    We have done the ‘we are skint and we need to sell’ bit and that seems to have resulted in them paying the rent at least.

    As we understand it their previous landlord gave them notice to leave because they needed the flat for their offspring. They then found another flat nearby but that fell through. That was the emergency, and we never for a moment thought that a family of three would want to stay in a studio apartment for more than a few months.

    It turns out that they have family very close by to the apartment and are happy there. They have made improvements to the kitchen and want to change it all around to make separate bedrooms. I’m not sure about that and they would definately need consent from us to do so. A couple of months ago we made yet another emergency plea for them to pay the bills and they said they would. They now pay the electricity but we are still paying water and gas (they said they would put these in their name but haven’t).

    I always hated having landlords and now I hate being one. Aaaargh!

  8. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Clocks, I couldn’t do it, be a landlord, I mean, I think I’d be like you. And I’ve been a tenant for years, since my last divorce but been so lucky to get good social housing for most of it so we all know what the rules are, social housing is a whole other thing, obvs.

    Hope it works out, lovely. You just have to be firmer. x

  9. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    I missed Sleeps’s off on hols this morning. Have a lovely, lovely time. It’s gonna rain, you do know that, hope you packed your wellies. 😉 x

  10. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Tiger and Mrs Tiger, thank you for your support, it was v much appreciated, I hope all is good the the SBJB world and Happy Anniversary you lovely peeps. x

