Thursday 13.7.17

Ceramic figure by Luciano Polverigiani

131 responses to “Thursday 13.7.17”

  1. justamentalpatient says :

    Hawkwind? Jaysus! No wonder you don’t get it 🙂

    One thing I’ve noticed about metalheads is that they are likely to enjoy other genres. There is a strange snobbery around metal.

    Hardly anyone moaned about Dolly Parton before she did Glasto, but some folk behaved as if the world was about to end when it came to Metallica.

  2. NuitsdeYoung says :

    Thanks, James. I’ll have some more Quatorze Juillet fun things to post for tomorrow, also furthering my campaign for the revival of decent 18C standards in male attire. It’s possible to be a dangerous revolutionary while wearing candy-stripes.

  3. Paul says :

    Only track i’ve heard from JT is the following.Not really a musical genre i’m a fan of but it’s ok.

  4. NuitsdeYoung says :

    I’ve always liked this one, about an approaching Viking raid…

  5. NuitsdeYoung says :

    I like this one, too:

  6. JamesFrance says :

    Aaargh ! All the Tull things have gone away on the past page.
    Damnable page – turning gnome ! Must put ’em back 🙂

    p.s. I don’t know what 18C dress standards are, but I probably don’t conform. My only conformity is non conformity. Or something like that. How can one not conform to non-conformity, is it possible? A non-conformist non-confirmist?

    Ok, one more:

    Then, there’s one I can’t quote remember. Think it’s Supertramp: a strange one about space, magic, and something. Hmm, I must think:

  7. NuitsdeYoung says :

    If we’d had more time, I’d have included ‘Cold Wind to Valhalla’ in Dad’s funeral playlist.

  8. NuitsdeYoung says :

    James: I like long hair, lace, knee-breeches, fancy waistcoats, and frockcoats…

  9. NuitsdeYoung says :

  10. Paul says :

    Are you a bit of a hippy Nuits ?

  11. JamesFrance says :

    (I took a long time writing that and didnae notice all those things was up 🙂
    (p.s. I’m doing it again: looking for this supertramp thing I vaguely remember. Incidentally, my favourite Tull song might be Fat Man: Fabulous 🙂 Humour always helps )

    Aha ! Got it. King Crimson, talk to the wind, that’s the one:

    Why I thought this might be supertramp, eludes me completely.

  12. JamesFrance says :

    Oops. There’s two ! And the version is slightly not the right one, but hey.

  13. NuitsdeYoung says :

    Folk and early music are a big part of my life. I learned some traditional ballads and songs from my Dad (who in turn had learned them from his parents) from childhood, more from books and recordings, and then acquired a taste for mediæval music in my teens. My personal style in dress is more New Romantic/Gothic when given half a chance.

  14. Paul says :

    A hippy track fro Nuits

  15. Paul says :

    Do you like Joni Mitchell ?

  16. JamesFrance says :

    Paul, Nuits, that lokg hair frocks lacy things is, as far as I can tell, edging towards the goth 🙂

    Right, Nuits ?

    Goths have damn good taste in music (there’s a pun, and it’s true).

  17. JamesFrance says :

    Right Nuits, goth 🙂 I type slowly, listen to music, and tap away, and teh conversation is carried away as I tap on the keyboard.

    That’s supposed to echo king crimson 🙂

  18. JamesFrance says :

    Ooh! Mike Oldfield. A bit of a loon, and a genius, that one. Extraordinary. I could listen that for hours.

  19. Paul says :

    I actually thought New Romantic after i’d posted.

    One back for you James but from a completely different musical genre.

    Was going to use the mask as an avatar but opted for Miles instead.

  20. Paul says :

    Nite James,Nuits and anyone else who’s about.

  21. JamesFrance says :

    Bonne nuit Paul ‘n Nuits !

  22. NuitsdeYoung says :

    Bonne nuit à tous.

    No, I ‘m not into Joni Mitchell. Have only heard the occasional track: not my kind of thing.

  23. Paul says :

    Philistine. 🙂

  24. Paul says :

    Could someone please explain why i was put into pre-mod for posting a harmless message from D to Emma ? And why i’ve also been put into pre-mod for asking why D isn’t able to post here anymore..

  25. Paul says :

    I see ,so it’s mention of the ”D” word in full that put’s me into pre-mod.

    Not the CU’s finest hour but for the sake of the decent majority of posters here i won’t mention this again.

  26. Paul says :

    A tdml for any nocturnal lurkers

  27. Paul says :

    ps although i’m unhappy with the way D has been treated.And i want to make that clear.She’s a lovely woman.

