Tuesday

133 responses to “Tuesday”

  1. NuitsdeYoung says :

    Spiffy, Justa! I have a 1939 officer’s riding cape from the Scots Greys, which was my Grandad’s old regiment (though he was never an officer). It’s a good winter coat: navy, with a red lining and v full skirt (designed to spread out on your horse).

  2. justamentalpatient says :

    He’s hard to categorise, nuits. Which is why I like him. Sort of sci-fi, historical fiction, steampunk, fantasy, and more. Cryptonomicon is great for code and computer geeks who, for example…
    If you fancy a change from re-reading old faves, consider giving him a try.

    The air is really poor down in Londinium, paul. Noticeable to an outsider.

  3. Paul says :

    My contribution to tonight’s military theme

    British armed forces are the best in the world

  4. justamentalpatient says :

    Who put that “who,” there? C’mon. Own up. *stern look*

    Me? Shirley knot!

    That sounds absolutely fabulous, nuits. The best uniforms are for mounted bods. The bastards! 😀

  5. Paul says :

    ps Hope that caricature doesn’t offend any gay chundies.If it does then sincere apologies and please mods can you delete it.

  6. justamentalpatient says :

    Ha! That’s hillarious. Love it.

  7. justamentalpatient says :

    Dunno about gay chundies being offended, I will be forwarding it to L. Even though he isn’t in the army anymore.

  8. NuitsdeYoung says :

    Yeah. Grandpa joined the Greys when they still had horses, in the 1920s, after falling out with his father and new stepmother. He was on reserve when the war broke out, so was sent to the Sherwood Rangers (they did this to get regular soldiers to train up the yeomanry regiments). He then went into the Military Police, but was disabled in an incident trying to stop some Aussie troops who were gun-running on the side (Palestine, 1942).

    Mechanised cavalry’s not the same: if you’re in a bad situation, you can’t eat tank parts.

  9. justamentalpatient says :

    True. I think they just eat each other if they have to now.

  10. NuitsdeYoung says :

    How could anyone be offended by that, Paul?!
    Camp is fun. That was why, as a student, I got on better with the gay men in the Gay & Lesbian Awareness Society than some of the “political lesbians” of 1980s (who told me off for “not being political enough” and having long hair and wearing make-up – though not nearly as much as some of the blokes I knew – and velvet clothes). A humourless Millie Tant type set herself up as the arbiter. I preferred hanging out with the kind of boys who read Wilde and Firbank.

  11. NuitsdeYoung says :

    Justa: horse preferable to cannibalism.
    I recommend La Tacabanda in Asti and Verona Antica in Verona for equine cuisine…

  12. justamentalpatient says :

    Thankfully, the militant types are only found writing for the Graun these days, nuits.

  13. interiorbc says :

    oh thanks justa, no footy for a bit, no…two week recovery (at least), we shall see.
    I know she will want to play, and she and the bf have taken up baseball in their new community also !

    oh the canuckians guarding the Queeen – they are led by a wee canuckian laydee captain!

    https://www.theguardian.com/…/megan-couto-canadian-army-officer-first-woman-qu…

    Jun 26, 2017 – Capt Megan Couto leads 40 Canadian soldiers through changing of the … First female officer appointed Queen’s Guard captain – video … at Buckingham Palace, St James’s Palace, the Tower of London and Windsor Castle.

    love thatvid Paul, but then I love all things Python, lol.
    no, not that far away from the fires Paul, about 100+km, so not that close either.

  14. NuitsdeYoung says :

    Justa: Yes. I found JB especially reminiscent of the girl in student group.

  15. justamentalpatient says :

    Two weeks? Arthroscopy? If so, it depends on what the surgeon had to do.

    I think I posted a link to that story at the time for you, inty. It might seem like nothing much, but it’s a big thing. An honour.

  16. justamentalpatient says :

    Gawd, I’d love to meet JB just to tear strips off her!

    Never (knowingly) tried horsemeat, but imagine it’s pretty good when cooked right. Much as I like our horsey pals, I’d give it a try.

  17. polly says :

    “The Lake District’s world heritage site status is a betrayal of the living world”

    Oh cheer up George, here’s a picture of some lovely sheep.

  18. justamentalpatient says :

    FYI, inty. Baseball invented by the Brits. But we prefer rounders nowadays…

  19. polly says :

    brown sheep and white sheep and warm woolly jumpers
    sheep that upset environmental tub thumpers
    lambs that leap round they’re made out of springs
    These are a few of my favourite things

  20. interiorbc says :

    yes, it is justa, she was interviewed on the cbc, and she was quite bowled over by the whole thing…speaking of bowling, I would rather play cricket than baseball, never appealed to me, cricket looks rather fun and you get to wear whites!
    mind you, I never see lady cricketers, wonder why?

    re horsemeat…sorry, no can do, had some in uni once, and when they told me it was horse I threw up…

    polly, 10:42…cute!

  21. interiorbc says :

    ooops, sorry:

    globalnews.ca/news/3589137/pink-horse-bc-wildfire

  22. NuitsdeYoung says :

    Justa, Inty: Horse is delicious – somewhere between good lean beef and venison. Had it braised in red wine (Barolo?) with mushrooms in Asti, and in Verona, it was a local speciality, more or less pulled horse in a goulash-type sauce with polenta. I’ve also had donkey ravioli (agnolotti al asino) in Asti, and donkey salami from a market on Lake Garda, also good. I like horses, but they taste nice. I also like ducks and bunnies, but they, too, are tasty.

  23. Paul says :

    Are you settled in your new home now Nuits ?

  24. NuitsdeYoung says :

    Justa: With JB and her student equivalent in the ’80s, what really got me was the humourlessness and lack of style. The camp blokes I liked hanging out with were *fun*, but these women seemed to give the impression that being a lesbian meant you couldn’t have fun; that you weren’t allowed to dress flamboyantly or femme (you should, instead, try to look like a brickie’s labourer straight off the building site); you couldn’t indulge in camp humour; you were expected to have more or less a package-deal of values and opinions… It was a lot of “you-must-conform-to-stereotype” nonsense, all horribly earnest.

  25. NuitsdeYoung says :

    Paul: No, the flit is at the end of this month. Am still carting stuff to charity shops & c.

  26. Paul says :

    All the best with it when the time comes.

  27. NuitsdeYoung says :

    Thanks muchly.

  28. interiorbc says :

    I believe you nuits, and I believe the French are big on horse meat, and I’m sure they love their horses too 🙂

    I do after all eat deer, but something about horse, it’s not big on menus around here either, although I have heard it is in Quebec, perhaps someday I shall expand my taste buds.

  29. justamentalpatient says :

    nuits: Sounds tasty. And you are spot on that Bugs and Donald are acceptable grubbage.

    We’re kinda pragmatic in our family. Fat bro named his first two chickens Sage and Onion and he hangs game when he gets given it in the kitchen, as a chef by training he wants his kids to know where their food comes from.
    I always tell my dogs that should the apocalypse occur, they’re curry.
    OK, I’d eat Jack before Tilly, but ya’know!

    Can’t be doing with humourless dykes. They can be as oppressive as what they claim to be fighting. Why must people be miserable and moan all the time? Have a laugh! It makes life more bearable.

    If someone wants to wear make up, is that worse than me wearing combats?

    Attitude to life is more important than how a person chooses to present physically. That you just take as it comes, the person is what matters.

    They’d probably hate me, I’d be seen as looking the part but just take the piss.

    Signing orft now.

    Hope the move goes well, chick.

