Sunday 9.7.17

s-l1000

120 responses to “Sunday 9.7.17”

  1. emmachisset says :

    Clocks,

    I’d kick his arse and tell him to get down those stairs, not to return without some 3 ply look roll. 😀😀😁

  2. neartheclocktower says :

    Polly, some of the CBBC stuff is quite cool, but as you say some is very noisy. The watch is just about growing out of it. There are some programmes I’ll miss.

  3. emmachisset says :

    😀. That’s it re the predicted text I must investigate how to switch it off.

    I once sent a message to a guy who has disabled children and the p.t. turned a short everyday word into

    ‘thalidomide’

  4. Tybo says :

    I won’t be sniggering, Polly.

    I think he does a lot of damage with his hyperbole. There are many places that could do with re-afforestation. Actually there are some big chunks of the Lake District that could.

    The trouble with George is that he over-states the case so absurdly he does damage to the argument for more achievable improvements.

    Just as going on a bout re-introducing wolves – which is arguable in the Highlands but pretty much ridiculous in England, IMO, damages the case for reintroducing beaver and lynx, which are perfectly doable.

    One ultra isn’t such a problem but he is seen as a guru and he could be cheerleading for actual possible improvements in the environment.

  5. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    I used to drink raw milk all the time, Emms, our neighbours had a dairy farm, I babysat their little girl and worked there when they needed me. Huge chilled tank in the dairy, big steel blade keeping it moving, dunk the jug in (as in pitcher, not as in ….). Can’t say it tasted any different from pasteurised, it was just closer than the shop.

  6. neartheclocktower says :

    Emms, sage advice as always, but as he’s snoring on the sofa I think I’ll away to bed in the study now.

    I may have to embark on a dirty protest tomorrow 😉

    nn

  7. Tybo says :

    Night, Clocks.

  8. neartheclocktower says :

    I drank raw milk when on the kibbutz. The volunteer who worked with the cows would bring us a jug of milk which was warm straight from the cow. We mostly drank it with a banana liqueur. Any bad after effects blamed on the alcohol.

  9. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Nn Clocks, hope it looks up.

  10. justamentalpatient says :

    It’s not the taste miracle you may have been led to believe, emms.

    When I first started seeing the ex, they always got their milk from a neighbouring farm, muggins didn’t know that it was (illegal) raw milk.
    That farm got busted a few years ago.

    Anyhoo, it’s just milk with a small risk of health complications.

  11. NuitsdeYoung says :

    James: Gertrude Stein is the lady you’re thinking of: “A rose is a rose is a rose…”

  12. justamentalpatient says :

    nn clocks. A dirty protest might be a good idea…

  13. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Justa, this was mid-1970s, don’t know if it was illegal for health reasons back then (could google) but the law was all milk had to go to the Milk Marketing Board, tanker came every day for it – could have been every 2 days.

  14. Paul says :

    Set off a firework under his chair Clocks and then tell him you’re on strike until he pulls his weight.

  15. justamentalpatient says :

    Probably not, fiddy. It’s mostly a cleanliness thing to reduce the risk of nasties now.

    R was a dairy farmer before I met the ex and had a tanker arrive daily, I think. Never asked him about it as it tends to result in stories of Number xx who was a stupid cow, or Number xx who was a nasty cow.

    He raised a few beast, because he liked them, but was mainly arable when I popped up.

  16. justamentalpatient says :

    Tangent alert!

    While skinny bro was here, I introduced him to a fillum. Unfortunately, I didn’t realise it was on until it was near the end, but he enjoyed it.

  17. emmachisset says :

    Ta for the milk info,

    I might go try it anyway,

    I can see the point of it re milk

    But it bugs me that they now Pasteur use most bottled 🐝. Beer, mostly for the convenience of the brewers re shelf life

    It gives them a bland uniform taste

  18. justamentalpatient says :

    No (or very little chance of) harm in trying, emms.

    Any Emmerdale fans here?

  19. justamentalpatient says :

    And just because I love this guy

    nn

