Wednesday, 05. 07. 2017

17504333_440644532939454_6651292743491340564_o

 

177 responses to “Wednesday, 05. 07. 2017”

  1. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Obvs saw something of their own dilemma/plight in the other. Good basis for a friendship. But really good that neither, at their young ages, have leapt.

  2. neartheclocktower says :

    Yes, they were talking about being bullied at school and really got on well. We’ll see what happens. They both have very supportive families.

  3. neartheclocktower says :

    So back holiblog. The party was great and then we got a taxi to a spa hotel where we had a light meal and retired to our very big room with two very comfortable beds. The watch and I watched an Ed Sheeran concert until she was too tired. Next morning we had a delicious breakfast and they went to the pool, jacuzzi and sauna whilst I read the paper. Soooooo relaxing 🙂

  4. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    That’s the sort of holiday I need, Clocks, to get over the one I mostly vomited through. Taken advice, doing meds at a different time of the day and it is better.

    Still want another holiday though.

  5. polly says :

    Hah yes, I saw a few bewinged ants today Paul and thought ‘it must be flying ant day’. But most had obviously already flown.

  6. polly says :

    It’s weird flying ant day. How come all the ants in the country mutate on the same day? A lot more worrying than sex robots if you ask me.

  7. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Was it Sheffland? I have loads of accommodation on offer in Sheffland and have to go up there to collect my dad for scattering. Last time I was there (didn’t stay over at the time of the funeral) we stayed on Angel Street and had a middle of the night fire alarm so out on the street in our jimmies in late November. Not doing that again. 😉

  8. neartheclocktower says :

    It’s nice to know that toffs can afford to have six kids in these times of austerity:

    Jacob Rees-Mogg posted an image of himself cradling Sixtus, with the words: “Helena and I announce with great joy that we have a baby Sixtus Dominic Boniface Christopher, a brother for Peter, Mary, Thomas, Anselm and Alfred.”

    One Twitter user responded: “There’s a man in touch with the challenges of modern life.”

    Sixtus isn’t the only one of the Rees-Mogg brood with a lengthy name. His siblings’ full names are Peter Theodore Alphege, Mary Anne Charlotte Emma, Thomas Wentworth Somerset Dunstan, Anselm Charles Fitzwilliam and Alfred Wulfric Leyson Pius Rees-Mogg.

  9. polly says :

    And we also have to worry about drunk seagulls as well.

    http://www.mirror.co.uk/science/flying-ant-day-2017-it-10742632

  10. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Eh up Polly. I don’t know if flying ants avoid Wales but I haven’t seen them in years. They like spilled/thrown food, though, and sugar. How far would one fly to find it, I wonder.

    We don’t get wasps up here either. I don’t think they like the height. 😉

  11. polly says :

    My parents had six kids and they weren’t toffs. There was a comment on the Mail which made me laugh that the Rees-Moggs were probably the only family of 6 that weren’t on benefits. Well apart from all the other families of 6 and over that weren’t on benefits (like mine).

    We haven’t all got four names though.

  12. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    I think Mrs Rees Mogg is making sure he can’t afford to leave her, the CSA would have him bang to rights. 😉

  13. neartheclocktower says :

    51, we stayed here outside Doncaster

    http://www.owstonhall.com/

  14. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Looks lovely, Clocks, have bookmarked that. Like I said, I have offers to stay with people but when it’s a bit emotional, I might not necessarily want to. My father’s funeral was odd but perfect. No celebrant, no eulogies, because we all had different feelings about him and different memories. Some choons and passing photos and chatting among ourselves. That way no-one could misunderstand anything. Back up there, prob next year now, to scatter him in the woods so it would be good to have somewhere to take myself to and if I feel like it, invite others to. I so loved my Dad. Except when I didn’t.

  15. NuitsdeYoung says :

    Clocks, I think the Moggs should be done for child cruelty, with those naming practices. It’s as bad as some of my maternal great-grandmother’s family. She had a cousin called Antiochus Grimshaw. And her father was called Caiaphas Nichols. (Antiochus was called after his uncle, one of Caiaphas’s brothers, who had the misfortune to die young in Croydon. I still don’t know why he was in Croydon.)

  16. neartheclocktower says :

    Proud mama warning

    The watch started an intensive German course today. She missed the first two days as we were away and discovered to her dismay that most of her classmates are way older than her as in about 20 (it was marketed to 14 over school kids). Anyway, she likes the teacher and got stuck into her homework when she got back. She said she would need my help and I reminded her that I know no German.

    Anyway, I’m just proud that she has a positive attitude. Apparently the teacher is translating into English when the students don’t understand and then the watch is translating into Catalan for them.

  17. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Nuits, my maternal family had an odd naming tradition, the girls were Venuta, Calphurnia, Theodocia, Luola and Wiola. In Barnsley.

  18. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Your Watch sounds like a complete joy, Clocks. I was told (can’t recall by whom) that German is pretty much the closest language to English which is perhaps why the teacher goes that way. Watch gets an enormous tick, though.

  19. neartheclocktower says :

    Nuits, Antiochus Grimshaw is quite some name.

    51, is that some part of Barnsley that I have yet to discover? Like a posh part?

  20. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Hoyland Common, I think, Clocks. 😉

  21. neartheclocktower says :

    He he,51, trying to get the watch out of bed and off to her class was a nightmare. So not a complete joy but she did it.

  22. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    My Gramma had one of those names as her middle name, might have been her who was born at Hoyland Common, will have to go back to my genealogy docs but no, they were miners, at least their dad was.

  23. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Aww but she did it, Clocks, extra curricula and all that. Yes, I have experience of prising a teen from its bed. 😉 x

  24. NuitsdeYoung says :

    51, Clocks: Yeah, seriously weird names. They were illiterate carpet weavers and agricultural labourers in Wansford (near Driffield) and migrated to the Scarborough area. I think the parents just heard names they liked in sermons and decided to use them. There was also a Drusilla, a Caleb and a Paulina Kezia Nichols, besides a few more normally-named ones. But they all sound like extras fromCold Comfort Farm. No Seth or Reuben, but they seem to have had similar propensities for rolling in the hay… At least they’re easy to find in the records.

  25. neartheclocktower says :

    Oh, I know Hoyland Common a little bit and quite a nice place.

  26. neartheclocktower says :

    Nuits,I wonder how often names come from sermons and then passed down.

    I found naming our child a strange experience. No time to go into it now as I have to go to bed but will get back to it.

    nn

  27. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Naming a child is a minefield, Clocks, I called mine the same name as my little brother, I got their names mixed up on forms for ages!

    Nn all. xx

