Monday 03. 07. 2017

sleeping-sperm-whales

Sleeping Sperm Whales

83 responses to “Monday 03. 07. 2017”

  1. NuitsdeYoung says :

    I saw this on Saturday before returning to Glasgow:
    Gavin Bryars/Andrew Marvell: Winestead. A wonderfully evocative short filmed musical performance, in Andrew’s father’s old parish church. Gorgeous views of Christopher Hildyard’s tomb in it, too.

  2. Sleepychow says :

    YeY !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. Sleepychow says :

    bollox

    *sulks*

  4. Sleepychow says :

    I can’t compete with you n your kulchure, Nuits.

  5. Sleepychow says :

    *wanders off*

    *kicks bin on way out*

  6. NuitsdeYoung says :

    Sleeps:
    Sage Derby is excellent. I was introduced to it as a child, and it looks wonderful as well as being seriously tasty.

  7. brusselsexpats says :

    Hi Bill,

    Er no – she might like to try the Champagne/cocktail bar near the Monroe Beach and upset the waiter by asking for a cava like wot I did.

  8. brusselsexpats says :

    There is a new bar/Restaurant called the Orangerie which is very nice and does a mean cocktail – not too pricey.

  9. brusselsexpats says :

    Hi Nuits,

    Yes there’s something very ethereal about Delvaux’s works – very otherworldly. A bit like Rodenbach’s famous novel Bruges La Morte.

    I also like Magritte’s sea-inspired paintings and, despite coming from Brussels, he always went to Knokke for his seascape inspiration.

    His mother committed suicide when he was 13; when they took her from the river Sambre she had a cloth over her face. Some of his works reflect this later on.

    There’s a great Magritte museum in Brussels but the Knokke show is relevant given that he painted so much there. There will be an exhibition in October just of his seascapes.

    I love seascapes……

    Ah well, better get on. I have to do an article for my newsletter on Bowie’s Tintoretto.

  10. brusselsexpats says :

    There are 56 art galleries in Knokke-Heist/Knokke-le Zoute and from August 5 – 15 the Art Nocturne will be held, which is one of the biggest annual showcases of art and antiques in Europe. (Held from 16h00 to 21h00 each evening). Brings out all the big international collectors.

  11. Tybo says :

    I am wondering if I am to blame for what has happened to Bill?

    The other day I went poking about in the basement to try to find Emma’s email. I found a place where the four of us with mod privileges were listed with our emails but tried to change the thing to posters or something more broad, so that I could see Emma’s.

    That didn’t work but before I went something changed and Bill and I, who seem to have different statususes to Fings and Sleeps, got listed separately…

    So I wonder if I have buggered it up.

    Though that doesn’t explain why I can still initiate posts no problem.

  12. Tybo says :

    OK, I had a look (under “people”) and found that now, Fings and Bill were down as “contributors” while Sleeps and I were down as “admins.”

    That can’t be right. Fings definitely should be an admin.

    So acting on the principle that ,though I may have inadvertently buggered things up before, poking about blindly cannot possibly do any harm, I changed Fings and Bill to (back to?) admins.

    Do you want to try the ignition, Bill?

  13. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Oh the tension …. 😉

  14. emmachisset says :

    Evening all,

    Am in a lovely hotel

    It gets many bad reviews, but it’s perfect, immaculately clean,

    £25 inc. breakfast

    Annoyed that I didn’t book more nights here, the reviews made me wary.

    Big indoor pool too 😀

  15. Bill says :

    tybo, the fact that I can edit your post suggests I’m back in my position of power without responsibility. Will try and create a post. Please stand by….

  16. Bill says :

    I see Sleepy’s beaten me to it. Interesting pic. I’ll pop in again on Wednesday.

  17. Tybo says :

    See, I knew all that practice fixing TV’s by giving them a good bang on the top of the set would come in handy one day.

    Sorry for temporarily buggering things up, folks.

    I promise not to go blundering about in the dark room marked “people” until…

    … well, until the next time.

  18. Paul says :

    Come On Tim !

  19. Sleepychow says :

    I didn’t know if I’d be in (or capable) later of doing an emergency post for tomorrow so I took liberties with you, Bill.

    Mebs you could try scheduling next Mon & Tues ? Y’know, before Tybo buggers it up again.

    ha.

    Or feel free to remove my filth.

  20. Sleepychow says :

    Ta for the update, Emms.
    Indoor pool eh? At least you won’t get wet from the rain. (ha)
    Mebs you can cancel somewhere else and come back for a day at the end of your travels or …. oh, I don’t know what I’m saying. Must be a deficit in my diet.

    Oh how time moves on when I’m clickety-clacking on my typewriter.

    Pub o’clock!

    It’s about bloomin’ time, I tells ya.

  21. Tybo says :

    nearly finished a huge, two volume biography of Coleridge by Richard Holmes. For such a monumental work by a respected scholar there are some odd factual errors. For example, he talks about Coleridge’s grave as being in Highgate Cemtery, when it isn’t. And about Coleridge swimming as a schoolboy in the New River in the East End, when the New River never goes near the East End.

    But it has been a very interesting ride. Coleridge comes out of it as a brilliant mess but also very likeable (so long as you weren’t depending on him for anything). My favorite quote so far is from his elderly landlady in London in 1808 when he was giving (or trying to give between bouts of illness and opium delerium) a series of lectures at The Royal Institution.

    ‘”Mrs Bainbridge, was old and deaf and could not cope with his visitors. She turned away one, the distinguished painter John Landseer, with the explanation to Coleridge that he was “a sort of Methody Preacher at that Unstitution, where you goes to spout sir.” Coleridge considered this as a rare compliment.’

  22. Tybo says :

    Knowing almost nothing about the Lakeland/early Romantic poets before starting this I have been amazed at just how incestuous they were.

    Coleridge married Southey’s sister in law and when that didn’t work out fell in love with Wordsworth’s (about to become) sister in law. Coleridge moved with his family to the Lakes to be near William and Dorothy Wordsworth (prior to William marrying Mary Hutchinson) but when he became estranged from his wife, Southey and his wife (sister of Coleridge’s wife Sara) moved up to the Lakes and into the house where Sara and C’s children were living.

    Wordsworth’s sister in law who Coleridge fell in love with was also called Sara but fortunately Coleridge often called her Asra, presumably so that he could keep track of which sister in law of which fellow Romantic poet he was married to and which one he was in love with, when off his bonce on laudanum.

  23. justamentalpatient says :

    If in doubt, blame tybo. I’ve always said that!

    😉

  24. Paul says :

    I’m reading the Diaries of Victor Klemperer from 1945-59 -still haven’t finished The Spanish Civil War by Hugh Thomas

    Professor Klemperer lived in Dresden and was the son of a rabbi .He converted to Christianity and married a woman called Eva .Eva was classified as an Aryan by the Nazis and despite being persecuted it was that which saved Klemperer from being deported to the death camps.

    His wartime diaries are fascinating but i’m now reading what happened after the war when he lived in a Dresden which was then under Russian control.

  25. Tybo says :

    Sounds interesting, Paul. Have you ever read Slaughterhouse Five?

  26. Paul says :

    Hi Tybo

    No i haven’t and tbh i’d never heard of it being the philistine i am.

    Just googled it and it sounds like it’s an interesting read.

  27. Tybo says :

    It is. Though it is Sci Fi (sort of) a lot of takes place in Dresden. Vonnegut was actually in Dresden as a prisoner of war when it was firebombed.

    He (and the protagonist in the book) survived because the POWs were kept in underground cold stores for meat at a slaughterhouse (thus the title) and when they emerged they came out to a city that had been completely devastated.

  28. Paul says :

    Don’t ask me why but i was reminded of the following film ”Life Is Beautiful” which is a comedy drama set in WW2. It’s about a man who’s sent to a concentration with his little son and who tries to protect him from the harsh realities of it.

  29. Tybo says :

    Haven’t seen that.

    Well, I suppose I should finish the bio. It is a bit odd because I started with the second volume, half way through, when Coleridge moved to Highgate, but then when I got to the end I was interested in what had happened before and knew that the other volume was in the library (because I had seen it in the reserved stock when I got the second volume) so then I took that out and started at the beginning.

    So I am not exactly near the end but near the point where I came in, which is the point at which he moved to Highgate.

  30. Paul says :

    which is the point at which he moved to Highgate.

    Let’s hope we also make it there in the end

    Nite Tybo.

  31. Tybo says :

    Night Paul.

