Sunday 2.7.17

wiggly.jpg.gallery

143 responses to “Sunday 2.7.17”

  1. Sleepychow says :

    Never heard perm used like that.

    I’m still hungry.

    No blinkin’ wonder!
    Just realised all I’ve had today is a small sandwich.

  2. Sleepychow says :

    The perm answer may or may not be in this wiki blurb:

    “Winning
    Typically a fraction of a penny would be charged for each line entered, though players often had the option to play each line at a higher stake and so receive a higher share of the pool should their line prove a winner. Accordingly, players would usually submit many different lines in a single entry. Popular ways to do this were “full perm” entries, where 10 (or 11, or more) matches were selected and every possible combination of eight matches selected from the total was entered as a single line. As there are C(10,8) = 45 ways to select eight matches from ten, the cost of such an entry was 45 times the cost of entering a single line. Note that the term “perm” was used despite the relevant mathematical operation being combination rather than permutation, as the order in which the eight matches were selected was irrelevant. The pools companies, many daily newspapers and the sporting press also issued “plans”, which were subsets of full perms: these enabled the punter to cover more matches for the same stake, with the proviso that even if eight draws were in the selections, they might not all be in a single line of the plan (but well designed plans could give a guarantee, such as ‘if the plan hits eight draws it must win at least a 3rd dividend’).”

  3. Sleepychow says :

    Pie.

    I wonder if we have pie …

  4. Sleepychow says :

    Got a bit of fresh veg …

  5. Sleepychow says :

    … and cat food and wine … and

  6. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Showing my age, Sleeps.

    Just got 5 mins of sense out of my Sunshine, I knew he’d be hungover today, I saw the message he sent me on FB last night, well 2am, this morning “Love you loads Mum …. Really love you Mum XX” ‘Spect I was his best mate at that time too. He’s suffering. Ha, love him.

  7. Sleepychow says :

    Ha.

    Last night I started writing a gushy email to new Mouse owners but had the whadyamacallit not to press send.

  8. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Wha ….? ;

    I have pies.

  9. Sleepychow says :

    *wanders off to look at a freezer or something …*

  10. Sleepychow says :

    We both potentially have pies?

    Are we the same person?

  11. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Ooh, confused now. Perhaps it depends what is in the pies.

  12. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Oh, decisions, salad and new potatoes or ratatouille and cauli cheese? Quick, I have to decide, I’m hungry too.

    Ooh, we’re both hungry, Sleeps, with potential pies. Perhaps we are, after all.

  13. xenium1 says :

    My spinach* pie was a triumph yet again. As was the Chilean plonk. And my totty plants are appearing above the compost. Time to cover them & make them strong. Apparently…

    *& cheese & garlic. 🙂

  14. polly says :

    I’d imagine the cheese and garlic helped the spinach along Xen.

    Apparently there are loads of things you can do with whey. Make ginger ale, make bread, make ricotta, use it as a facial toner…

    Who knew? Not me or I wouldn’t have poured it down the drain.

  15. emmachisset says :

    whey, is that the stuff that is ‘buttermilk’, probably not ..

    buttermilk is good for scones, maybe other things too…

  16. emmachisset says :

    watching the tour,

    they must wear kevlar underwear, one guy was sliding about 20 yards on his arse, didn’t seem to bother him too much ( after falling off ).

  17. emmachisset says :

    ta for the yoghurt info polly, it’s one of those things i’ve been meaning to try for ages.

  18. polly says :

    When you make butter, the fat turns into the butter and the rest is buttermilk.

    Whey is what’s left over when you’ve made cheese, or strained yoghurt. Or if you add acid to milk, you get curds and whey a la Miss Muffet. The curds are a type of soft cheese. Dunno why Miss Muffet was eating them both, she could have just drunk the milk.

    Apparently butter is also easy to make at home.

  19. polly says :

    All you need really Emms is a means to keep the yoghurt at the right temperature, so you could warm it to 40 degrees and pour it into a thermos flask if you have a big one. Or use a slow cooker on low. And then if you filter it, use the whey to make sourdough type bread.

    I must buy a cooking thermometer…….

  20. polly says :

    I’ve also made almond butter today, with some almonds I had kicking round the cupboard that I can’t eat very easily thanks to my dental mishaps.

    That was fairly easy, just blended, added a bit of oil and water.

    I am reading the salads section on Deliciously Ella, but she’s a bit like Yotam Ottolenghi, loads of ingredients and there’s always one you haven’t got. But I might adapt some of the ideas. I have also made mediterranean chickpeas (ie chickpeas, garlic couscous, tomatoes, basil, onions and peppers, with tapenade) for dinners this week.

    Am thinking carrots, onions, peppers, lentils, sweet potatoes (cos I have all those) and doing a dressing with the almond butter/.

  21. Tybo says :

    I had spaghetti with the rest of the rubbish Tesco “Best” pesto and a boiled egg.

    Boiled eggs are great with pesto IMO. But they really want to be the right consistency, between soft and hard boiled to be perfect.

    And be with better pesto.

    Was all right though.

  22. polly says :

    You need a lakeland egg perfect egg time Tybo. My life is really just one lakeland binge….

  23. polly says :

    In fact as I said on Rhik’s column before I got banned, Lakeland screws you up. It’s heroin for the middle classes .

  24. Tybo says :

    I got it right by guesswork, Polly.

    Still could have done with better pesto though

  25. polly says :

    I’ve just started reading this on the Graun (from last year, but hey).

    https://www.theguardian.com/lifeandstyle/2016/may/14/shared-parental-leave-mothers-fathers-childcare-paternity-maternity

    “last week I went into town wearing jogging bottoms; I vowed I’d never do it, but it was strangely liberating”

  26. polly says :

    I suppose the moral of this story is don’t trust the Guardian Tybes. Full of fake news about pesto.

  27. polly says :

    From a Mail story on strange proposals

    “And one man recounted a touching tale of how he pretended to produce the ring from a rather intimate part of his wife’s body during an examination (he was her gynaecologist). ”

    We must assume he was not in Blighty, becuase I’m fairly sure the GMC have struck people off for stuff like that.

  28. emmachisset says :

    never having been to Lakeland i looked them up,

    nearest one is twenty miles away, which might explain it.

  29. polly says :

    ooh it’s well worth a trip Emms, but the website is also compelling.

  30. emmachisset says :

    Just what i always wanted, 🙂

    MAGNETIC WOODEN TOAST TONGS FOR TOASTERS

    it looks a bit like a clothes peg, for holding toast.

    must admit i try to keep things simple in the kitchen, absoloute minimum no of gadgets and fancy things.

  31. polly says :

    Yes but:

    No more burnt fingers when making toast
    Safely retrieve your toast from the toaster
    Magnetically attach to outside of toaster when not in use

    For only £2.29!

    And saves you sticking a knife in and electrocuting yourself….

  32. polly says :

    read the reviews….

    “Another useful product from Lakeland. Easy to retrieve hot cross buns, crumpets and slices of bread that have become jammed in the toaster. Have just bought a second one for my mum. “

  33. polly says :

    Also: if you go to the Lakeland mothership in Windermere, they’ve got a really good cafe.

    http://www.lakeland.co.uk/stores/windermere-first-floor-cafe

  34. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Aah, a hot cross bun retriever. I seriously need one of those. No, I mean it, I do, they never pop out far enough, do they?

    Re your yoghurt making. Polly, my Mum used to make it back in the 1970s and I don’t think hers was runny but certainly not Greek style thick either. But she used whole, fresh milk, was wondering if that would make a difference?

  35. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    My sil was there a few weeks ago, she’s a fab and enthusiastic cook with a husband who reaps the benefits. She spent a fortune, apparently.

  36. Bill says :

    Am I still a prisoner in spam?

  37. NuitsdeYoung says :

    Polly: curds and whey makes a sort of pudding, The Bengali equivalent is ras malai, which most ‘Indian’ restaurants offer (and is lovely!).
    Yorkshire curd tart is wonderful, though. It’s pastry with a curd and dried fruit filling. I know a bakery in Hedon that does wonderful ones… But you can get them in most bakeries in Hull and environs.

  38. Tybo says :

    New thread up

