Wednesday, 21. 6. 17

P1160312

Sticking with the Seville theme from yesterday, the view from a hostel across the roofs of the Casco Antigua towards the Alcazar (Bill’s photo) and cathedral.

195 responses to “Wednesday, 21. 6. 17”

  1. polly says :

    The one, the only, Dennis Skinner…

    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-politics-40345280

  2. NuitsdeYoung says :

    Nobody leaps as well as a stoat…

  3. NuitsdeYoung says :

  4. Tybo says :

    I remember Diva, Justa but there were no message boards back when I was doing that.

    Well, not that I knew about. I think they had those precursor things that total geeks chatted on but magazines and the like didn’t have them*.

    So I am guessing it was a bit before that. I was (and still am in some cases) friends with some of the SM Dykes though, so if you knew any of them we might know someone in common.

    Not C though. She still hasn’t learned to use a bloody computer!

    *In fact they didn’t have websites. FT moved to an office in a basement off Tottenham Court road which we shared with three guys whose business was trying to persuade companies that the internet was the coming thing and that they needed to get websites. One of them spent the days ringing up people like M&S and getting not very far because they had not yet caught on that they needed websites.

  5. polly says :

    Theresa May is urging us to seize this moment. For what though?

  6. interiorbc says :

    nuits, I was thinking that those people need a bit of a break as well.
    I thought it was kind of cool that they were putting them into those flats, and more importantly, keeping them in their area.

    great stoat pics.

  7. interiorbc says :

    this looks just like our cat:

  8. interiorbc says :

  9. NuitsdeYoung says :

    Mustelids have sweet wee faces. I love baby pine martens, too:

  10. interiorbc says :

    looks just like our Tip

  11. NuitsdeYoung says :

    Inty, a friend’s cat was called Vertical Take Off And Landing (VTAL).

  12. interiorbc says :

    awww…cute marten pic

  13. interiorbc says :

    9:43 nuits, lol!

  14. justamentalpatient says :

    Pets and snow highly amusing. Would love to see the marrema do his otter impersonation.

    Not seen Jack in snow, but he does a funny little hop and pounce like a fox, reinforces the view that he has escaped from the Siberian experiment.

  15. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Agree wholly, Inty, Justa, Nuits.

    Inty, that cat looks like someone shaved Kit.

  16. justamentalpatient says :

    Ah, right, tybes. Late 90’s, early 00s was when I lurked there. The BDSM gals were some of the best.

    In fact, my first post was due to a *ahem* misunderstanding.

  17. NuitsdeYoung says :

    There is no such thing as too much cute;

  18. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Oh I had a tiny jack that hated the snow, his little willy was only a few inches off the floor, if my bits had been that low I’d have refused to go out too.

  19. justamentalpatient says :

    Ha! That cat reminds me of Harry.

  20. justamentalpatient says :

    “It’s not a Two Ronnies sketch – you can’t answer the question before last.”

    Poor Bojo the Clown!

  21. Paul says :

    I may have posted the following here before.

    It’s a short British Pathe film which is supposed to be about the heatwave of 1976.However the person who commissioned the film clearly didn’t tell the cameraman .

  22. interiorbc says :

    Speaking of cute, the lighter one looks like what the darling and the bf are getting tomorrow:

  23. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Oh is this the family they found, Inty? (I know pic not actual family). I read that and was really moved/grateful to you lot. Did they find the owners?

  24. Paul says :

    Dogmeat is still popular in China despite there being an official ban on its consumption.

    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-asia-china-40337327

  25. justamentalpatient says :

    Labrapups are lovely. If a tad chewy. Don’t let the dog near the bog roll! 🙂

    If it was a case of starve or eat dog, Tilly is curry, paul.

  26. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    *Fills out adoption forms for Tilly*

  27. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Spaniels are chewy. Not in an “eating dog” way, more in a “he ate everything” way.

  28. justamentalpatient says :

    Ha! Don’t worry. I doubt the apocalypse is close. In spite of the best efforts of our dear PM.

    Labs chew/eat anything and everything. Never had a spaniel.
    Tilly managed to eat a dictionary, baseball cap, boot, TV remote, roll of sellotape, Bs ear drops and cuddly toy in a short space of time, once. Almost an admirable feat.

  29. NuitsdeYoung says :

    Aw! The pups are gorgeous! Sadly, I had to give Robodog/K9 back to Oxfam today: a robot labrador takes up too much room and is hard to pack. Also he used a lot of batteries. Still, I still have a small cuddly toy Andrex puppy.

  30. justamentalpatient says :

    Oh, nuits. At least you can keep your Andrex puppy.

    And it won’t chew your new flat up.

  31. justamentalpatient says :

    How is the move going?

  32. NuitsdeYoung says :

    Still drowning in stuff. I’ve got rid of a lot of picture frames: can roll up my posters and prints and reframe back in Hull.
    I am going down to Hull next week, but just for a week, for a job interview, to check on the flat and also to attend my old Classics teacher’s funeral. Then it’s back for the final leg… I’ll book a packing service, I think.

  33. NuitsdeYoung says :

    Justa – Private lets tend to have a no pets rule, hence I always have cuddly toys. I may get a smaller robot one later. K9 was life-size, and took up a lot of room even when sitting. I’d won him in a competition at the Oxfam shop:

  34. justamentalpatient says :

    K9 is pretty damn cool, nuits.

    My place is no pets, but the landlord agreed to B because he knew my care coordinator. If he thinks the tenant is OK, he ignores that rule now.

    I hope your landlord gives you a chance, or you find a more open-minded one.

  35. interiorbc says :

    no, never claimed…how someone could let those lovely dogs go is beyond me.
    We and the SPCA have a theory that because mum is so nervous around men that possibly she was ill treated and took her pups away herself.

    Anyway, he had his surgery today and tatooe’ed and ear chipped and first shots so sheis picking him up tomorrow.
    The BF has named him ‘moose’, which seems about right given his paw size.

  36. interiorbc says :

    Cuddly stuffed pets are the next best thing to the real thing.
    The robotic ones sound fascinating.

  37. NuitsdeYoung says :

    No, I really don’t want the responsibility of a real pet. I struggle to keep plants alive. I’d be dreadful with real animals or children.

  38. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    I hope the rest of the doggy family get as lucky, Inty. x

  39. NuitsdeYoung says :

    The lady I stayed with in P’burg during the 1991 coup told me that their family poodle had probably gone into a neighbour’s cooking-pot during the Blockade. Her brother starved to death.

  40. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Cats can be v easy, Nuits, not that I am trying to talk you into a pet. But I can leave Kit with a couple of litter trays, a big bowl of biscuits, 2 of water for up to a week. come home and there’s bics and water left over (I always over-cater). Ok, he’s cross with me when I get home but he’s forgotten after a day or 2 of extra cuddles.

  41. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Wooden hill time here, nn all.

  42. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Oh, my friend “L-next-door” who left her husband and became “L-not-next-door-any-more” is next door again. Sadly not a reconciliation but she broke her leg quite badly and has moved back in temporarily so her Mr can help with their little boy, etc.

    I am secretly hoping he’ll go all romantic and mushy and she’ll stay. I know, not my business (and not likely) but lovely to have her back, even if it is “just for now”.

    Nn

  43. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Oh gosh, can’t sleep now, my buddy put up the “Artists for Grenfell” single with Stormzy’s rapping opener and I am so angry and sad and can’t stop playing it “Waving my plain white Tee up there” was the line that broke me (it’s Bridge Over Troubled Waters with some extra bits, please buy it). The artists can do that within a week yet many of the victims are still rough sleeping? Where is our humanity? Where are our social services? Why does Philip Hammond find it ok to say “that cladding was illegal” above 10 metres and no-one has been arrested? Why was it necessary to tart up a tower at cut price rates? Are 80 lives not worth at least £5k? In f*cking Kensington? And whilst there is a fund for the victims, the other victims were the fire fighters, there is a vid showing their travel to the site where they see the fire and its rapid spread and they cannot believe what they are about to put themselves into. Nevertheless, of course, they go in.

    All for 5 thousand f*cking saved pounds.

    I am ashamed of austerity Britain and I cannot be alone.

  44. emmachisset says :

    It’s cold. ! 😎😎😎😎😎😎

