Tuesday, 20th June 2017

148 responses to “Tuesday, 20th June 2017”

  1. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    I hope today went well for Emms and Tybo, let us know please? And happy swimming James. i almost googled when my local pool is open but that would involve going out again.

  2. xenium1 says :

    Just got an email from Amazon saying my first royalty payments will be paid into my account in the next week.

    Now, where’s that Ferrari catalogue?

  3. Tybo says :

    Thanks for the links, Clocks. I will bookmark them to study them at leisure.

    The meeting went well, I think, but I won’t know until they get back to me. However the amount I quoted was so low that I won’t think I went too high if they decide it is too much. Just that it was a bit hopeless to start with.

    The people I had the meeting with were fine, which I expected because though I don’t know them well I have my spies*. So with luck, if it goes ahead, I will be at arms length from the more difficult ones.

    The two I talked to were distinctly sensible and realistic so, if I get the gig I will be reassured.

  4. Tybo says :

    Ha, I do like the emphasis in the society for editors and proofreaders that you can’t achieve perfection (or rather that no one is prepared to pay for it).

    Less keen on the idea that you need to be able to spell and punctuate!

  5. Tybo says :

    Xen, I had a client called Rose. BBC Rose she called herself.

    I once had to get her a new telephone and she insisted that it be “Ferrari red” because she loved Ferraris and that was her favourite colour.

    Which was a bit odd as she had been totally blind from birth.

    “BBC” stood for “blind, bonkers and crippled.”

  6. justamentalpatient says :

    Ha! I like that, tybes.

  7. Tybo says :

    She was a one off, Rose. I knew about her from before she joined the scheme because she was infamous. She would beetle down the road wielding her white stick like a weapon.

  8. NuitsdeYoung says :

    “Less keen on the idea that you need to be able to spell and punctuate!”

    Why? Both matter.

  9. Tybo says :

    Because I am not very good at them, Nuits.

  10. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Tybes, on reading back it seems you are likely to have a mix of creatives and pedants – thinking of hyphenation-man there (see what I did? ๐Ÿ˜‰ ). I think it’s right up your street, tbh, if I’ve got you anywhere close to right you’re a people person, you identify strengths and cope well with weaknesses. And I don’t think you’re going to be dealing with Booker Prize winners. Best of with it if you get it/decide to take it.

  11. justamentalpatient says :

    Giant river otters!

    Love ’em. Wanted one for years.

  12. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Sleeps,
    “Oh no.

    I might develop a having-to-wear-acceptable-clothes-just-in-case policy.

    or not”

    Not, I’d say. I’m fine from 8.15am until about 5.30 then it’s jimmies all the way. Mind, I have a thing about jimmies too, I have at least a dozen pairs. Although sometime I rebel and wear the wrong tops with the wrong bottoms. If they nearly match. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  13. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    We’ve got them in the park, Justa, huge park here, gifted to the good folks of P’pool in lieu of death duties. Got a river, got otters. ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    PS: Never seen an actual otter in there.

  15. justamentalpatient says :

    Sea otters!

    Inn fakt ,orl ottas r phab.

  16. emma chisset says :

    it went fine thanks fifty, mildly amusing as i forgot to take tissue so arrived after a slow slow slow bike ride, but still withsweat dripping down face and brow as teh interview started,

  17. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Well hopefully Emms, they’ll have appreciated your effort to get there and that you’re keeping yourself fit and well, etc. And anyway, everyone was sweaty today.

    Blimey I am having an optimistic day. ๐Ÿ™‚ (Despite the fact the cat tried to kill me by lying full stretch at the top of the stairs when I wasn’t looking.)

  18. Paul says :

    Evening all

    Fresher conditions should prevail by friday which i’m sure will be welcomed by anyone struggling with the heat and humidity.

  19. Paul says :

    I don’t remember giving anyone permission to use a picture of my block of flats as a banner heading here.The impertinence of some people.

  20. Paul says :

    There’s been another a possible terrorist incident in Brussels.

    Hope our Bru hasn’t been caught up in it.

    http://www.standard.co.uk/news/world/brussels-central-station-explosion-trains-halted-after-small-blast-a3569436.html

  21. interiorbc says :

    Love otters!
    Everything you ever wanted to know about sea otters:

    http://www.vanaqua.org/learn/aquafacts/otters-and-pinnipeds/sea-otters

    “Small sea otter populations inhabit kelp forests, bays and coastal waters near islands, reefs, and fjords in the North Pacific Ocean. In British Columbia, they are …”

  22. NuitsdeYoung says :

    Tybo, that’s where an additional editor could help.

  23. neartheclocktower says :

    Tybo, from what I’ve seen of you online your spelling and grammar are fine. And if you’re copy-editing then a proofreader would pick up on any final problems, that is if they employ one.

  24. neartheclocktower says :

    Anyway, nn. Didn’t sleep well last night, and was out shopping this evening so sleep is needed.

  25. Tybo says :

    Thanks, Clocks. They won’t hire a proof-reader but it won’t just be down to me (fortunately) on the other hand it sounds like some of them might want a bit more than copy editing.

    There is still lots to sort out even if they do decide my terms are acceptable. One possibility is training in In Design might be part of the deal (I know that sounds confusing but it is because the Arts Centre is a sort of third party in this).

    I honestly cannot imagine why anyone would need In Design to format a paperback story collection. But I would love to learn it, so…

    Thanks again for those links.

  26. Tybo says :

    Hope you get some sleep.

  27. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Hi, Inty, I’ve seen the toe thing before, why? Eek? And things like that.

    Evening, Clocks. Guess what? I’ve ordered 4 pairs of black pants and 2 black bras. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Oh, and info for laydees: If you order “post-surgery bras” they take off the VAT so they’re 20% cheaper. There’s not a lot of difference if you’re not into underwired, they just have pockets inside for a prosthesis (I don’t put mine in the pocket as it’s only partial and tends to move about if I do) and they are generally cotton at least on the inside. Reason for finding this out not to be recommended, but the products themselves are v good, had them from everywhere from Asda to M&S. M&S ones v good for driving in, they’re built like fortresses, no seat belt chesticle squashing.

  28. NuitsdeYoung says :

    I’ll be popping back down to the new flat for a few days next week, just to make sure all’s well and also because I have a job interview at the university!

  29. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Oh good luck with that, Nuits, how is the packing up going?

  30. Tybo says :

    Good luck with that, Nuits!

  31. NuitsdeYoung says :

    Nightmare. Will probably have to hire packing service. Have given lots of books to charity, but still have lots. Also am wading through files of newspaper and magazine cuttings I’d collected “in case they might be useful”.

  32. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Can you do anything “techy” with the clippings? That would take time, though, I was for a second thinking “scan and archive”, no, forget that one.

    Can you just get it shifted and then sort it when you get there? I know, I’ve moved around quite a lot, can be a nightmare indeed. I still have loads of stuff in my shed (thankfully it’s brick built with proper foundations, roof, etc) and I’ve been in this house since 2010.

  33. interiorbc says :

    nuits. maybe donate your no doubt interesting clippings to a school or local library?
    or do what 51 suggest and just move it all and sort later?

  34. justamentalpatient says :

    Oh, dear. Just seen one of those “warnings” posted on FB.

    There are far easier ways to render a person unconscious than ether disguised as perfume.

    But at least May is continuing to fuck up, eh?

  35. Paul says :

    Good luck with the move Nuits.And good luck with the job interview.Let’s hope you’re about to enter a more settled and less stressful chapter in your life.

  36. justamentalpatient says :

    Amusing comment BTL.

    “They can’t even do a deal with a bunch of provincial Irish neanderthal terrorist sympathisers, and they claim they are the best party to get a good deal from 27 EU nations? What are they smoking?”

  37. Paul says :

    Good point Justa .It’s amusing but the possible consequences of Tory negotiating prowess -or otherwise- with either the DUP or the EU are anything but.

  38. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Justa, I think “Fuck-up” must be her middle name. Things can only get better. Except she is notionally in charge. He-elp!

  39. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    There very possibly may be a breach of the Good Friday Agreement by the govt of the United Kingdom and Northern Ireland forging an alliance with one party to that Agreement, no matter how that is phrased. The govt of the United Kingdom and Northern Ireland must stand entirely non-partisan.

    Cos we’ve not got enough shit going on?

  40. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Sorry, cross that the tories ever were that crass (but, hey, they’re the tories). But a little amused that even the DUP won’t have them as partners.

  41. justamentalpatient says :

    Davis dropped his trousers and spread his cheeks on day1 of negotiations with the EU, paul. And not because he enjoys anal (he might in his personal time, I’ve never asked the bloke).

    The question I have is How have such a bunch of incompetents managed to do so much harm to this country in 7 years?

    That must be a record.

    Even Trump won’t beat it.

  42. justamentalpatient says :

    nuits, I would offer to “look after” some of your books but short on space, myself.
    It might be worth looking at getting mates to help pack and hiring a van for the move.

    Good luck!

  43. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    I think the v v best thing May ever did was call an election within the very next next fixed parliamentary term to the one where they fixed fixed parliamentary terms. We can now argue that even those that passed that Act did not follow it and it was only them that could break it. (The double words are meant to be there, btw, they fixed fixed parliaments and the next one broke that, fixed terms are shite, they lead to lame ducks, we need dynamism.)

  44. justamentalpatient says :

    We need a massive shake-up of our system.

  45. justamentalpatient says :

    Anyhoo. I be knackered and have dark wee, so going to drink some water and have wind down time before bed.

    G’night all.

