Sunday, 18.6.17

october-jones

Art by October Jones.

85 responses to “Sunday, 18.6.17”

  1. justamentalpatient says :

    That’s one way to cope with spending time on the West Coast mainline.

  2. Bill says :

    As for appalling alliteration…

  3. Sleepychow says :

    I am hot and busy.

    Nearly reached the end of the day.

  4. polly says :

    There are other amusing pictures in the M**l if you’re looking for one Bill. I think I’ve actually seen the one with the tartan carpet for real, but it wouldn’t put me off buying the house, given that I bought a house that looked like it was decorated by a psychopath who loved Laura Ashley.

  5. xenium1 says :

    Before I lead you a merry dance,
    Where do you stand on assonance?

  6. emma chisset says :

    “Where do you stand on assonance?”

    hmmm, let you know once i’ve googled it,

    and poured the tea…

  7. emma chisset says :

    sonnet, porridge

  8. xenium1 says :

    Ha! In honour of my last post* & Dame Julie, we’re gonna watch Educating Rita tonight, as it’s available on demand. I have the dvd but that’s somewhere in Barcelona…

    *She says of assonance, “It means getting the rhyme wrong.”

  9. emma chissete says :

    ?

  10. emma chissete says :

    looks like my commentson assonance are staying in the spam bin, best place for’em,

    tho i did like my new avatar..

  11. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    I too am hot and busy. Washing, washing. Would have had a lovely hol but got taken ill on day 3, still swam though but no boat trips, dicky tum. Also, women not allowed into the monastery on Caldey Island yet they charge the same for the boat trip there as they charge men. Women are allowed into the shop where they sell predominantly chocolate and perfume so women’s money is good enough, obvs, just not them as people. Sod off, monks, I say. That’s me not going to heaven, then. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Oops, sorry, evening All.

  12. emma chissete says :

    “women not allowed into the monastery on Caldey Island ”

    sounds illegal to me, clearly sex discrimination

    Ah, i forgot, it’s ok if ‘religion’ is the reason.

  13. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    I’m thinking the monks can’t keep their pants on, Emms. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  14. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Ooh, I’m now wondering if monks even wear pants ….

  15. justamentalpatient says :

    Can’t have laydees make the nice monks think impure thoughts…

  16. emma chissete says :

    caldey island monks,

    “โ€œConsider: a vegetarian brotherhood which takes away your liberty, your right to own anything, to marry or even mix with members of the opposite sex, to have a choice in anything, to go anywhere or even to speak,โ€ said Mr Lyons.

    โ€œAnd which then subjects you to unremitting hard labour, weird clothes and isolation for the rest of your life.”

    ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

    hmm, why would you want to meet people like that?

  17. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Good points well made, Emms and Justa. Just cheesed me off that if I hadn’t known beforehand/been a bit dicky I might have paid to go over there. I’ve been to Tenby loads of times though and can safely say the monks and I have never interested each other. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  18. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    The Mirror and the M**l are now calling it a “killer heatwave”. So, cold towels at the ready (nothing to do with the monks, honest!), fan heater on cold in the bedroom, curtains kept closed (glass fronted house, great in the winter sunshine ….), I am ready.

  19. emma chissete says :

    Am booking my holiday for this coming week,

    kinda randomly,

    Wed. night, double room, nice looking hotel, plenty of photos, good reviews,
    ensuite,

    Isle of Wight, ยฃ8, which includes breakfast ๐Ÿ™‚

  20. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Blimey, Emms, that’s the cost of a breakfast where we stayed on Friday night. Wouldn’t stay there again, 8.7 on Trip Advisor/Booking.com (can’t remember which now) but I wouldn’t have given it 6 except that the staff were v v nice, the walls were so thin could hear what they were saying next door, every time anyone went into/left a room on the same landing as us, etc. Hope you’re having a lovely hols, did you find somewhere to leave your bike etc while you went for a swim?

  21. emma chissete says :

    figured i might as well stay there the next night too, but they wan’t ยฃ110 for Thursday, so it can’t be a doss house,

    ( not that i’ll be paying that much )

  22. emma chissete says :

    hiya fifty,

    no, ‘fraid not, i tried left luggage at the station, but there’s no such thing, and i couldn’t leave the bags on the bike unattended, the bike , locked, is fine, but with phone, wallet and keys in the bike bags, it was too risky,

    am planning to swim locally tomorrow, while the heatwave lasts.

  23. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Should be ok if you do find somewhere you stay more than a day, Emms.

    Should be out tonight but I was still a bit dicky so am about to watch the thing on BBC2 about how the flip May got to be PM, supposed to be accurate, not sure on whose say-so.

  24. xenium1 says :

    On some silly Beeb2 nonsense, a real Tory MP says, “So, we went to Boris’s house, where he lives with his family.” Je je…

  25. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Watching it, Xen, seems to be a lot of cooperation from the real people involved but I still can’t help thinking all their pants are on fire …. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  26. emma chissete says :

    I tink she got the job ‘cos she is strong and stable?

  27. xenium1 says :

    “So if you’ve got your cozzie…erm, maybe not.” ๐Ÿ˜†

  28. xenium1 says :

    Stronger than Gove & more stable than Boris? Not hard, really, eh…

  29. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    “The most dishonest electorate in history” – out of their own mouths! And this shower is in charge. We’re doomed ….

  30. xenium1 says :

    Why is May being played by Grayson Perry?

  31. justamentalpatient says :

    I figured The Handmaid’s Tale would be less gloomy than Tory scrapping.

    Sounds like I was right.

  32. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Grayson would (1) have a better necklace and (2) have woven or potted a better cabinet, shirley? ๐Ÿ˜‰

  33. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Prob right, Justa. Was funny if frightening:

    “332 tory MPs; insincere, duplicitous bastards”. A quote from them about them.

    (I have a thing, if I’ve really enjoyed a book, I can’t watch the fillum/TV adaptation, I know those people.)

  34. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Anyhooses, I have built a 2 tier draining rack whilst wincing.

  35. emma chisset says :

    s

