Friday 2.6.17

interpretive-dance-OD-500x353

121 responses to “Friday 2.6.17”

  1. Tybo says :

    Oh bollocks! I just realised that the Labour poster in my front window has been upside down for the last few hours.

    I wouldn’t be bothered except I had to talk Matt the Labour bloke into giving me it, earlier on as they were short of big posters. I put it up the right way but it fell down and I obviously wasn’t paying attention when I stuck it back up.

  2. Tybo says :

    I know he is called Matt because he is in the walking group and chair or something of the allotments etc etc.. Stornoway.

  3. NuitsdeYoung says :

    I like to hear people having fun, especially as life has been harsh of late. My Dad had a great sense of humour and vitality.

  4. justamentalpatient says :

    Aye, nuits.
    I hear you.

  5. xenium1 says :

    I am, I said.

    Brilliant… 🙂

  6. xenium1 says :

    Are Wee Frees allowed to vote Labour, Tybo?

  7. Tybo says :

    Traditionally they were Labour, Xen, until Labour selected a fabulously useless lump who famously never said a word in the commons for 20 years after his maiden speech.

    And the Nats got their first MP, Donald Stewart here. He went round the villages and talked to people while the Labour guy sat on his fat arse in Westminster and won them round.

    But it is a bit different here anyway, parties are not so important. Most of the councillors, for example don’t even say which party they support.

    But to be fair to the Wee Frees (which I do with some pain) they were the kirk of the dispossessed back in the 19th Century when the Church of Scotland was the kirk of the landlords, and when people were either being evicted from their crofts or trying to get back decent land that they had been cleared from.

  8. NuitsdeYoung says :

    Tybo, that’s not quite true. The Free Church ceated by the Disruption (which some of my family was in – one of my great-great-great-great-grandfathers was a precentor and catechiser in Assynt) gradually reunited with the Kirk during the later 19-early 20C. What the Wee Frees of today are is a rump of a rump left over after the majority had rejoined the main Kirk.

  9. NuitsdeYoung says :

    “created”. Is there an edit button or is this like CiF?

  10. xenium1 says :

    So they should be voting Communist, Tybo. Who’s the Communist candidate? Oops, this is still Britain we’re talking about…

  11. xenium1 says :

    “I’ve called these circles ‘zones of privacy’ – don’t google that unless you want to see pictures of people’s genitals.”

    Gawd, I love Sheldon… 🙂

  12. Tybo says :

    I have one, but that may be because I have admin privileges Nuits.

    I make no claims to be a historian on the issue and am aware it was a simplified version but the frees and wee frees tended (as far as I am aware) to stand with the crofters rather than the lairds, at least up here.

    And that is one reason for the peculiarity of a place that was long solid Labour whilst being the most rural of rural constituencies (the other one of course being that it was mostly crofters rather than farmers).

  13. Tybo says :

    Anyhoo, the strain of avoiding the “Leaders question time” is starting to tell. So I am going to head.

    Night all.

  14. emmachisset says :

    hi folks,

    do se do, yee haa, i’ve a been a working in a barn dance

  15. xenium1 says :

    Pippa Middleton at a barn dance.

    Did you know that’s my number one fantasy?

  16. emmachisset says :

    i’d forgotten about Pippa, she’s just a random avatar t o me

  17. emmachisset says :

    shake your hunny bun

  18. xenium1 says :

    That’s what her millionaire husband says, Emms…

  19. NuitsdeYoung says :

    Tybo, yes that was true of the Frees *when they started*, but the point is that all that’s left that didn’t reunite back with the Kirk (which has not had a landlord patronage system for over a century) are the barking Christian fundamentalists. In fact, one of the few benefits of the patronage system in the Kirk (especially in 18C) had been that it tended to marginalise the fundamentalists (the kind who had had a Unitarian student hanged for blasphemy in 1698 in Edinburgh).

