Sunday 28.5.17

dieser-graffiti-kunstler-integriert-obdachlose-in-seine-bilder-1414682454321

139 responses to “Sunday 28.5.17”

  1. polly says :

    night Paul.

  2. justamentalpatient says :

    “Anyone who thinks he was just a pampered rich boy doesn’t know much about him.” So Mark Thatcher wasn’t a pampered rich boy who grew up with mummy as PM? He was a volunteer in an armed uprising, after all.

    “He did also have to work in his father’s mill, starting out as a clerk, so saying he ‘never worked a day in his life’ is bollox.” I would say “Oh, the hardship!” if I’d made that point. But I didn’t

    “He did indeed support Marx financially, but that’s because Marx was broke.” Don’t forget doinking the servants. And expecting Fred to cover for him. Like a true man of the people!

    Some of what he said was spot on, but don’t pretend that the bloke was a messiah.

  3. Sleepychow says :

    Polly @10:23, previous page.

    Do you have a linky for that please?
    It sounds like you might have found “them”.

  4. Sleepychow says :

    Poll,

    You put your prize foot-long-worm fertilizer on the weeds?
    Oh my.

    Why not stick it on your rhubarb?

    Oh.
    You have no rhubarb?

    I don’t have rhubarb.

    I like rhubarb.

  5. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Bloomin’ heck Corbyn is a bit reasonable, honourable, truthful, isn’t he? Comes as a bit of a shock among politicians.

  6. Sleepychow says :

    Justa.

    It seems the vast majority of schools are now academies and if they aren’t they will be soon.
    I think I read 80% already are.

    Not sure 80% of which types …

    … or words like that.*

    *It’s late

  7. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Our dog used to back up to the rhubarb and do unspeakable things (massive poos) on it, Sleeps. Put me off for life. And I lived within the rhubarb triangle. (Try explaining the rhubarb triangle to your southern born kids, they thought I was smoking something.)

  8. Sleepychow says :

    Are you watching a thing, 51?

    I have Kids tv Gone Wrong on for a wee while afore I go bedwards v soon.

  9. Sleepychow says :

    rhubarb rhubarb rhubarb

  10. Sleepychow says :

    &

    dog poo

    nom

  11. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    I’m watching Peston, Sleeps but I think it;s on plus 1, cos I read that at the end of it he bangs his head on his desk because Fallon tells so many lies. That I want to watch even though Pesto annoys me.

  12. polly says :

    it stinks Sleeps….. it really really stinks (the slurry). Now it’s stinking in the alleyway, though hopefully a rainstorm will damp it down and dilute it.

    My point is Justa that the person making the remark clearly didn’t have a clue what they were talking about in claiming Marx and Engels were just some kind of 19th century Emily Thornberry equivalent. I don’t recall saying Engels was the messiah, but he was bang on the money about a lot of things and genuinely concerned about the appalling conditions people lived in.

    And Mark Thatcher provided money to finance an armed uprising last time I checked, he didn’t actually participate in one. Nor is his life partner a mill worker…..

  13. Sleepychow says :

    Mmmmmmmmmmmmm pesssssssssssstttttttttttto.
    We have some homemade in the freezer.
    Nom.

    And on that bombshell …………

    NN all.
    CU the morrow.

  14. Sleepychow says :

    It’s still due to rain but , y’know …………….

    Hope the worms n slurrry do their stuff.

    Proper NN

  15. polly says :

    “He did also have to work in his father’s mill, starting out as a clerk, so saying he ‘never worked a day in his life’ is bollox.” I would say “Oh, the hardship!” if I’d made that point. But I didn’t

    The tweet I quoted – which is what I was referring to – DID claim that. Link above.

    I’m talking about people who claim to be providing an excellent standard of education, but don’t seem to be aware of some pretty well known recentish history. If you’re going to slag off Marx and Engels, at least try to find out some basic facts about them, or you look a bit like you’re just spouting stuff off the top of your head.

  16. polly says :

    Marx was also a journalist, which was also a job last time I checked.

  17. polly says :

    Well the worms may survive, at least some of them. I did try to rescue them, but if they will make a home in a drain…..

  18. justamentalpatient says :

    And my point is, poll, that Karl and Fred weren’t working class heroes. They were both members of the bourgeoisie, but one pissed his money away.
    Both more than capable of hypocrisy.
    Karl pontificated while Fred covered for him.

    And the Manifesto was pretty much written by Karl. Who understood life as a prole about as much as the queen, and made assumptions about potential splits in society from that viewpoint.

  19. justamentalpatient says :

    Marx was a journalist…have you read the press lately?

    The worrying thing is that crap reporting is nothing new,

  20. justamentalpatient says :

    FYI, the tweet you posted doesn’t say what you claim it said.

    Anyhoo, I’m off to write a guide for a Prince, or similar person aiming to maintain a position of power.

    NN

  21. polly says :

    Erm they – and particularly Engels – wrote a lot more than the communist manifesto…..

    To dismiss two of the most important economic thinkers in recent history simply on the basis that they came – originally – from a background of wealth is simplistic to the point of dimwittedness. They’re claiming academic excellence whilst sounding like a Daily Mail column. Katie Hopkins is more nuanced FFS.

  22. polly says :

    Being a journalist is a job…..

    The tweet does say what I quoted, you need to scroll down, that’s a link to the twitter account not the tweet…..

    I also don’t seem to recall saying that Marx and Engels were ‘working class heroes’ but again, if you’re going to judge everything they ever wrote on that basis alone, I’d suggest that it’s possibly not the best basis for analysis.

  23. polly says :

    And the link to the twitter account was posted for the information of Sleeps, who asked.

  24. justamentalpatient says :

    “They’re claiming academic excellence whilst sounding like a Daily Mail column. Katie Hopkins is more nuanced FFS.”

    I’ve read that twit post you put up, and the first twitty is about teaching “happiness”.

    Quite what it has to do with discussions in chundieland is possibly for people from another dimension.

    My brain isn’t working right, but WTF?

  25. justamentalpatient says :

    “And the link to the twitter account was posted for the information of Sleeps, who asked.” So why address comments to someone else?

    Bizarre. Really tired, so going to get some kippage.

  26. polly says :

    As I said: it’s a link to a twitter account, put there because Sleeps asked. The tweet I quoted (it’s actually a retweet from another account) is further down.

    But the link was put there for Sleeps information, because she asked.

  27. polly says :

    I’m quite sure by the way that many people who’ve read the communist manifesto know Marx and Engels background, since most people who read it will be academics these days.

    Maybe not so much in the nineteenth century, but workers movements existed independent of and before the communist manifesto.

  28. polly says :

    “And the link to the twitter account was posted for the information of Sleeps, who asked.” So why address comments to someone else? ”

    I’m addressing comments to you because you addressed them to me.

  29. polly says :

    To be frank Justa (and apologies to anyone else if this is inappropriate, please delete), this isn’t the first time you’ve picked an argument with something I’ve said and then acted as if I’m attacking you.

    It’s getting a bit wearing.

  30. polly says :

    my apologies to anyone else who’s still reading and hasn’t died of boredom. Sleeps, I hope that information may prove useful (you may want to delete the link to the twitter, or indeed anything else I’ve said, I didn’t realise it was going to embed the whole account).

  31. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Polly, to be fair, the Marx and Engels quote was not until one had scrolled down through all of those in your post to “Load more tweets” and then scrolled down a bit more from there so you could have been a bit more precise.

    But I am sodding fed up of conflict. Within 2 and a half years my bother is where he is, my family have a million different views on that (I have several myself, the predominant one being I love my little brother and believe him but still grieve for how it could have been although it couldn’t) and all of our lives have changed, I got cancer, fought it, beat it (so far) then my dad goes and sodding dies.

    I came here for support and fun, found it mostly. Can we keep it that way, do you think?

    Polly, I think you misunderstood the link Sleeps was asking for. I thought she was asking for a link to the Academy group.

  32. Pauls says :

    51

    Misunderstandings /disagreements are a fact of life.Utopia doesn’t exist.Whatever disagreement /misunderstanding Polly and Justa have had let them sort it out between themselves. You’re adding fuel to the fire so keep out of it.

  33. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    I don’t think I am. Paul. I know both know something of my history and both have been sympathetic and supportive.

  34. Pauls says :

    But this isn’t about you 51.It’s a disagreement/misunderstanding between Justa and Polly that i’m sure will resolve itself provided everyone else either doesn’t get invoved and/or take sides.

  35. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Who is taking a side? I did say – and prefaced with “to be fair” – that the twitter feed was not clear. That is taking a side?

  36. Pauls says :

    But I am sodding fed up of conflict. Within 2 and a half years my bother is where he is, my family have a million different views on that (I have several myself, the predominant one being I love my little brother and believe him but still grieve for how it could have been although it couldn’t) and all of our lives have changed, I got cancer, fought it, beat it (so far) then my dad goes and sodding dies.

    I came here for support and fun, found it mostly. Can we keep it that way, do you think?

    Trying to guilt -trip people with the above when they’ve had a difference of opinion which doesn’t involve you and using their difference of opinion as a lever to once again draw attention to all the drama in your life isn’t helpful.And i’m being polite.

    Anyway that’s my last word on the subject.

  37. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    I think you’ll find I said, Paul, I do not want conflict And I do not need pity. I just want this place to be as it says it is.

  38. NuitsdeYoung says :

    Polly: And the point is, it doesn’t matter what someone’s background is, it’s what side they choose to be on as an adult and what they do about it.
    And the Manifesto is a bloody brilliant piece of political writing in the tradition of 19C Romanticism, so yes, there are problems with it in a modern context, but it was written for its time.

