Friday 26.5.17

tick thing

193 responses to “Friday 26.5.17”

  1. Paul says :

    Cockney accent is dying out in East London and is now more commonly heard in Essex.

  2. Tybo says :

    I have only visited a couple of times, briefly, on family history hunting trips. We did find the house my grandmother was born in in Bloxwich, a two up two down like several million others. And we went to Pelshall where her mum was from.

    They had a little family history place there (which was surprising as it is only a village) and they were very friendly and helpful.

    The thing that struck me was that it is rather a nice village with a massive village green and houses facing it. But back in the 19th century, by all accounts, it was fairly hellacious. The green had some sort of tracks over it taking wagons of coal or iron ore (or both) there were furnaces and mines etc.

    About the only sign of this grim industrial history now is a memorial to the men and boys who died in a terrible mining accident. I mean, it is not going to edge out anywhere in the Cotswolds for “most scenic village” award. But it has cleaned up surprisingly well considering its past.

  3. interiorbc says :

    Stupid article (and some stupid comments) on our PM in the Graun…his gov’t has actually accomplished quite a bit, the most recent being child care tax cuts and more $ direct to middle and low income families, but hey, why muck up a story with facts…Have a very good weekend all.

  4. polly says :

    Probably the influence of EastEnders Paul. Or the massive influx of hipsters who all speak RP cos they’re secretly really posh.

  5. polly says :

    Have a good weekend Inty. Good luck with the bee, that’s a lovely gesture.

  6. polly says :

    I was born in a terraced house Tybes. And I live in one now. I had a brief excursion into semi detached as a child, but that’s downward mobility for you.

    My siblings are all considerably richer than me.

  7. justamentalpatient says :

    Sitting with a mate on a bench at uni, a group of black lads approached. One looked at my ugly white mug and addressed my mate with a sentence beginning “Bwa!”.

    There was a complex verbal exchange and the lads left.

    Mate asked me if I knew what had been said, and I only had a vague idea. He laughed and told me the lads were all born and bred in X, and they thought I was a white boy.

    Very odd.

  8. justamentalpatient says :

    Bollocks! Missed the start of Last Leg.

    *crying*

  9. Tybo says :

    Thats better. 22 men and boys were killed when the Pelsall colliery suddenly flooded

  10. justamentalpatient says :

    *between sobs*

    G’night inty. Have a good, wah, weekend oot!

  11. Paul says :

    Mass migration out of East London into Essex is what’s transferred the cockney accent there Polly.

  12. justamentalpatient says :

    Migration along with JO and wankers, paul.

    Including my aunts in the latter category.

  13. xenium1 says :

    Fag break.

    I picked up a bit of Essex patois in my 4 years in Colchester. Largely “You wot?” but, hey, I was innigrahin like, innit?

    (This was well before all white kids down there started to sound like they were straight outta Kingston.)

  14. Tybo says :

    I once met a woman with an actual Essex accent. This is late seventies and I had grown up in Barking (which was officially Essex for at least some of that time) without ever having heard one.

    No doubt there are (or were) more than one as it is a big county, but she was fro a village in the far North East, near Malden.

    Sounded like a cross between Suffolk and Australian.

  15. Tybo says :

    When I first went to school in Barking, with my (then Nottinghamshire accent) I got asked if I was Scottish, Xen.

    “Ere, you Sco’ish or summink, mate? Cos you dahn ahf talk fanny!

  16. polly says :

    “started to sound like they were straight outta Kingston”

    Kingston upon Thames?

    They’ve got a nice big John Lewis there.

  17. justamentalpatient says :

    Kingston!

    Says the lass who was born in Durham, lived in the midlands most of her life and still thinks of herself as Surrey (not the posh bits).

    The Good Life has a lot to answer for

  18. justamentalpatient says :

    Kingston?

    It had a big C&A in my yoof, poll.
    And a fantastic ice cream shop.

  19. interiorbc says :

    ha, this turn of conversation reminds me of this classic:

  20. interiorbc says :

  21. justamentalpatient says :

    Saw Pygmalion at the National on the last day of the run, inty.

    Henry Higgins sounded like Sean Connery, which was a tad strange.

  22. polly says :

    Was he played by Sean Connery?

  23. JamesFrance says :

    Delightful canadian lesson there IBC.
    Here’s another wonderful one in French. quebequois sounds fantastic ๐Ÿ™‚

    Most people in France would like to sound Canadian. And that’s the truth. Well, most of the people i know anyway.

  24. interiorbc says :

    That would have been cool to see Pygmalion live…a Scottish Henry Higgens? Odd that.

    James, I spent a summer as an exchange student in Quebec, the summer before the PQ crisis in fact, with a family whose papa was the president of the Societe Saint Jean Baptiste, very separatist…a political education for a grade XI student from the west.
    Beautiful people, beautiful part of the country, fabulous food! I ended up doing my uni studies on the history of the habitants in Quebec, a place where many of my Scottish ancestors settled.

    I have a great, great great etc who was born in Lower Canada and died in Quebec!
    …and home to my favourite hockey team, the Montreal Canadiens aka ‘les Habs’, after les habitants.

    the mixture of French and English in slang ‘franglais’ is interesting, as in “deux bacon parallel, deux eggs side by each.”

    Montreal is a very sophisticated city, and the separatist movement has largely gone by the board, great Province, Montreal and ‘la Belle Cite’ aka Quebec City is stunning.

  25. interiorbc says :

    from the separatist era, brought the album home, Charlebois is revered in Quebec:

  26. justamentalpatient says :

    Don’t have the programme, but pretty sure it wasn’t SC, poll.

    It would have been memorable, like Jeremy Northam as Hamlet for my first Shakespeare (also at the National) about a month after Ian Charleson collapsed on stage.

  27. JamesFrance says :

    Very nice this quebequois – I’ve just watched the whole thing.

    Earlier I also watched May with Andrew Neil. Hmm. Say no more. Just *aaargh!*

  28. interiorbc says :

    Funny thing James, my French accent is very Parisien, due to having a French teacher all through school (from Grade III – XII) from Paris.
    Funny thing, when I wrote my scholarship exams, my highest mark was in French, I had to write an essay on existentialism, en francais, couldn’t write one on that subject in English to this day!

  29. interiorbc says :

    Oh, I love Ian Charleson as Eric Liddell…handsome actor, and convincing.

  30. JamesFrance says :

    IBC, I’ll go over there one day ๐Ÿ™‚ I love the sound of it, and I love cities. I just don’t like the endless snow and ice and I’m not ashamed to admit I’m scared of bears and wolves.
    So I’ll go in summer, some day, rather contradicting “endless snow” there ๐Ÿ™‚

  31. interiorbc says :

    “Quebecois” or “Quebecoise”

  32. xenium1 says :

    You still talk fanny, Tybo… ๐Ÿ™‚

  33. Paul says :

    My french accent is very franglais.

  34. JamesFrance says :

    Right, now off to listen to Jeremy for a bit. With Andy. If Jeremy wins, I’ll retire and party for the rest of the year.
    Maybe even with bears and wolves in Quebec.

  35. interiorbc says :

    Quebec lovely in late spring, summer and early autumn – stunning in autumn!
    Not many bears / wolves in old Montreal or La Belle Cite ๐Ÿ™‚

  36. justamentalpatient says :

    Love (and miss) theatre, inty.

    The power of live performance when done well sucks you into a vortex. It takes you in, plays with your mind and feelings. Teaches, scares, invokes love and hate, thought, imagination.

  37. xenium1 says :

    I saw Taggart do Macbeth in Kirkcaldy. Now, that’s theatre.

    “There’s been a murder. Oh, it was me.”

  38. justamentalpatient says :

    Ian Charleson was a great and actor and true professional.

  39. Paul says :

    The following made me smile

    nn all

  40. justamentalpatient says :

    I saw Burger-rack do Leontes in Stratford (not the London one).

    Bloody awful, xen!

  41. JamesFrance says :

    “Not may bears / wolves in la belle citรฉ” – well, that’s what we’re told. They’re crafty creatures, and I bet they’re hiding in the shrubbery, waiting to *pounce!*

    I switched off Neil number 2: Too long. I had a too long couldn’t watch any more moment – “tlcwamm”.

    I wonder is that going to cotton on on the internet :

    “I saw that movie – man, tlcwamm or what !”

    I leave others to be the judges ๐Ÿ™‚

  42. xenium1 says :

    Get home. Turn on the tv. There’s Adele doing Someone Like You. Brilliant. Love her to bits. But just sometimes, I wanna play the bad devil’s advocate thing.

    So, an overweight southern Tory whines about some bloke she didn’t like. Yet again. Just like Alanis Morrissette.

    As Mr Bragg said, “There’s two sides to every story.” ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Nn…

