24. 05. 2017

18403572_10155277061259061_137699984118045304_n

A Spot of Norman Rockwell

198 responses to “24. 05. 2017”

  1. justamentalpatient says :

    151!

    Good point, 51.

  2. justamentalpatient says :

    Specsavers and suppositories are at different ends of the…um…ah…err

  3. justamentalpatient says :

    Nice of our USian cousins to leak info like a pair of damaged sphincters!

  4. JamesFrance says :

    Hey, nice one Justy – can I play ?

    152 !

    πŸ™‚

    ‘evenin’ all, it’s been a busy day here, I see, I can’t keep up so I’ll fall comfortably behind.

    News from over here, well, the metro is running, the parks are full, people partying away outside in the gloaming as if it was a solstice, I expect the druids to appear at any moment with mistletoe and arcane gnomic things.

    I like gnomic things, because it’s such a good word.

    Right, must do things.

  5. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Evening James

    “gloaming”, v good word.

    “gnomic” I am less sure about, short and pithy, sometimes meant to sound profound but actually confuse. That’s probably gnomes for you, they’re short and confusing.

  6. justamentalpatient says :

    Good evening, lovely james. πŸ™‚

    And leave me out of it, fiddy! πŸ˜‰

  7. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    I was thinking Rumplestiltskin, Justa. πŸ˜‰

  8. interiorbc says :

    πŸ™‚

  9. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    I might have just done a silly thing. I booked an extra night in Tenby cos, like, there’s a streetfood festival on the day we’re supposed to leave and there’s street bars and everything (loads of pubs in Tenby anyway) and I haven’t told my Mum yet. Plan is we move out of the caravan, my cuz (they’ll be there before and after us) follows me to a nearby village where our 1 night hotel is, I dump my car, come back into Tenby with him, cab back there once we’re nicely fed and watered. Mum has to stay with me anyway, we’re visiting again on the Sunday so it shouldn’t matter, she wasn’t going home. I’m 56 and still a bit scared of my Mum. No, she’ll love it, really she will. She will, she will, she will she will, she will.

    And I won’t be going to Abergavenny Food Festival this year, it’s far too crowded and super-cheffy now.

    No, it is a good idea. It is a good idea.

  10. justamentalpatient says :

    The Tenby one looks interesting. Your mum will be fine with it.

  11. justamentalpatient says :

    *sings with a silly accent*

  12. JamesFrance says :

    Hello Justy there ! This time: 153 ! I think I’ve got the hang of it now, this toptptopping there πŸ™‚

    Gnomic: My favourite word. Gnomic is to gloaming what … let’s see, what Ursula K. Le Guin is to … Tolkein (Hobbit phase). Because “gnomic” has this mysterious, undefinable thing with witchery and a bit of sourcery in it, whereas gloaming is the comfortable summer festivities gaining tempo as the last rays of the sun touch the wispy clouds floating past the early stars winking in the dusk.

    That’s a bit over the top, perhaps.

    How’s this: Gnomic is to Gloaming what King Lear is to Midsummer Night’s Dream πŸ™‚

    Other favourite word off the top of my head: Filigree. Wonderful word, that. A filigree of gnomic phrases wafting through the summer breeze.

    Hmm. A bit over the top too – but hey, it’s the summertime atmosphere outside the windows, with kids playing football, guitars strumming, joggers ceaselessly stomping down the good brown sod for all our sakes and earning champion rheumatism and dodgy knees in later life πŸ™‚

  13. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    That’s what I thought, Justa. Small but something for everybody. Abergavenny is manic now, used to be I knew some of the stallholders now they come from everywhere and you can’t get into the town. This’ll just be small and interesting. And anyway, I can blame my cuz’s wife, she asked us to come. πŸ˜‰

  14. JamesFrance says :

    Fifty, the street food festival Tenby things sounds fantastic, it’ll be great. A scary mum ons is still a little bit scared of is an enormous asset in a street foodie festival place.
    You can use Scary Mum in all sorts of situations. Clear a path through dense crowds. Unleash her on unruly kids setting off firecrackers and doing what unruly kids do.
    A short sharp dose of Scary Mum quells any queue jumpers, the ones on the mushroom pasty and aged stout stall, the one near the stables.
    And last of all, get Scary Mum to read scary stories to one and all when it’s time to go to bed.

    There’s a new kid’s story there, and no mistake, though the inspiration is, as usual, Roald Dahl !

  15. interiorbc says :

    I think that sounds like a great plan 51, of course your mum will love it, plus an extra day with you!

  16. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Ha, James, she’s lovely really but I am still going to copy that, print it writ large and stick it on my fridge for when she comes. πŸ˜‰ x

  17. JamesFrance says :

    Oh, on gnomic: it also makes me think of Gong – it’s the “g”‘s in there. And the pothead pixies – gnomic fits like a glove, because Gong is mystic, not very comprehensible, and hilarious, and that’s gnomic to me.
    Daevid Allen with his silly hat (since KT’s not about, we’re safe πŸ™‚ ):

  18. JamesFrance says :

    On those notes with all those scatterd Gs, goodnight Justy, Fifty, and IBC (snowed in in May!)

    A demain people !

  19. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Nn lovely James, hope your gnomic peeps have dispersed now and not doing their gnomic whisperings below your window. Or perhaps they still are and you can use it as a lullaby.

    Inty, I remember that song from Gramma’s house (or perhaps a New Years show) when i was little but listening to it on a 78 and gramophone was a bit beyond me, sorry. Snowing in May is just really not on. Down with snow in May. (You prob don’t want to know it’s been really sunny here.)

  20. Paul says :

    Feels humid tonight

    My favourite track from Rumer.

  21. justamentalpatient says :

    The swines have been in my head since I woke up.

  22. justamentalpatient says :

    Leg end (what’s that, the ankle/foot?) has it that these guys used to play in seriously tough bars.

  23. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    x πŸ™‚ x Justa

    Was just googling the Mavericks, apparently used to regularly play on same bill as Marilyn Manson so I expect they were quite gritty gigs. Bit more for you:

  24. interiorbc says :

    Hi James! NN James.

    it was 29 and sunny here yesterday, then great screaming winds last night. Bizarre weather.

    justa, I thought May and DT were such hand holding buddies? Both wankers.

  25. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Can’t help feeling, Justa, that Trump and his intelligence/crime agencies are so at each others’s throats they want to prove who knows what first at whatever cost. A*seholes.

  26. justamentalpatient says :

    It’s been a while, but I think they used to play biker bars and places Patrick Swayze wouldn;t bounce at. So they must be pretty good live to survive.
    Two secrets for you guys, I love country music and wish I could tap dance.

  27. justamentalpatient says :

    Excellent, inty! Proud of our Canuckian pal.
    Utter wankers.

    Ban out of order, though, 51.

    Keep the pissing matches local.

  28. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    While we’re sharing, so do I (your first admission) and this always makes me smile:

  29. justamentalpatient says :

    The chicks are a bit different to the mavericks but could probably play biker bars, too.

  30. justamentalpatient says :

    What’s wrong with tap?

    Grrr!

  31. interiorbc says :

    Dixie Chicks are great – do you know the story behind “Not Ready to Make Nice”?

  32. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Bang out of order, agreed, Justa. Power struggle over there should not undermine our safety, absolute w*ankers.

    And nothing wrong with tap except it would wobble my wobbly bits. πŸ˜‰

    Inty, tell us and meantime you can have this, which also makes me smile, my daughter loved it because she’s seen photos of me as a punkrocker with flowers in my hair. Wonderful, silly days ….

  33. justamentalpatient says :

    Yes. Fair play to them, inty!
    Slightly purer bluegrass…

  34. justamentalpatient says :

    I’ll let inty tell it, 51. Top gals.

  35. justamentalpatient says :

    Sorry got a bit distracted, there.

  36. justamentalpatient says :

    I used to watch the CMAs. Sad git.
    Thought this might be a giggle on the wy out of the crem.

  37. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Further confession: I have a quite large Lyle Lovett, Mary Chapin Carpenter and Nanci Griffiths collection. Separate CDs, obvs.

    Have to be bedward now. CU the morrow, will read back to see what you’ve been up to. x πŸ˜‰ x

  38. interiorbc says :

    Remind me tomorrow and I’ll tell the story re Dixie Chicks.
    nn
    xox

  39. justamentalpatient says :


    Just cracks me up!

