Tuesday, 16th May 2017

Storm over Panama City

91 responses to “Tuesday, 16th May 2017”

  1. interiorbc says :

    for a laugh, a Victoria, BC woman has made a Sean Spicer garden gnome…

  2. Bill says :

    4 a.m. Fing.

  3. Tybo says :

    Oh, and fabulous banner pic, btw. Forgot to mention it earlier.

  4. interiorbc says :

    hey fings, aren’t you up a bit early?

  5. fingsaint says :

    πŸ˜‰πŸ˜΄πŸ˜΄πŸ˜΄πŸ˜΄

  6. interiorbc says :

    How’s life in the land of Oz?

  7. justamentalpatient says :

    Ah, yes. The “Does he want a cup of tea?” approach to folk using wheelchairs. Just makes you want to slap people!

  8. interiorbc says :

    I like the one about the waiter who asked a wheel chair bound woman’s sister “and what will she have?” and the sister said “why don’t you ask her.”

    I remember working with seriously physically disabled people, cerebral palsy and the like, when new volunteers would talk down or over them…I would have to show them how to kneel down and talk to the person’s face – you may not understand what they are communicating, but they do indeed communicate.

  9. interiorbc says :

    this is funny, a new you tube vid:

    Donald Trump vs Justin Trudeau on Explaining stuff.

  10. justamentalpatient says :

    Shouldn’t you be in bed, fings?

  11. JamesFrance says :

    IBC, that’s a good one.

    Justy, I liked the fleeting hat picture there, though the dog now is at least as good but different, and less blue for one thing πŸ™‚

    Off t’t’pool now.

    How would a yorkshireperson say “I’m to the pool” now? A good accent that πŸ™‚
    (p.s. though I’ve a soft spot for a good oirish accent being such myself and given that lass on masterchef who’s irish πŸ™‚ )

  12. JamesFrance says :

    Off to swim, perchance to float !

  13. justamentalpatient says :

    Ha! That was funny, inty.

    james, it would have been OGs 70th birthday on the 13th. That was him in the silly hat.

    Enjoy your swimmaging!

  14. polly says :

    Ha, that’s kind of my point though Tybo, when the ‘millennials’ say they can’t afford a house they mean “I can’t afford a house in central London”.

    Which to be fair no one can on an ordinary wage. My colleagues daughter and her partner (both earn squillions as management consultants) have just bought a house in Greenwich and it cost them Β£830,000. And it isn’t big.

    But I’m sure if RLC even looked at somewhere like South Norwood, she’d find property much more affordable.

  15. polly says :

    Sorry to bang on about such an unpleasant topic, but WTF have the Graun published an obituary of Ian Brady? I know that you don’t have to be nice to get an obit, but surely you at least need to be an influential figure for good or ill? And since when did that include contemptible sadistic murderers?

    To quote the chair of the Manchester police federation Ian Hanson(who sounds splendid)

    “When somebody dies, it is natural in a civilised society that we show compassion. However, there are exceptions and this monster is one of them.

    ‘He had no right to breathe the same air as those decent and dignified relatives whom he tortured for decades by refusing to assist in the search for their loved ones.

    ‘He now takes his place in hell and he can rot there and as far as I am concerned.

    ‘Ashworth Hospital can leave him out for the bin men.’ ”

    Amen to all that apart from a bit unfair on the bin men.

    Sorry, just had to get that off my chest. Like Mr Hanson I grew up with the shadow of these murders and the warnings they inspired. I didn’t understand why until I was older. Keith Bennett didn’t get to choose his grave, or his family to know where he lies, I don’t see why his murderer should be afforded that luxury.

  16. JamesFrance says :

    Back from floating up and down t’t’pool at great speed !
    Well, moderate speed.
    1km takes 20 minutes.
    Champions do it in 8 minutes I think? Or is it 12?
    My fastest ever was 18 minutes, but I think I miscountded.

    As you go faster and faster, a red mist descends on your goggled eyes, and the world disappears, and all that remains is the rhythmic thrust of palm on water, the pounding beat, the rasping gasps for air, and the water smells of napalm in the morning.

    How’s that for a shoe-horn of Apocalypse Now into the swimming theme?

    The funny thing is you then leave the water, have a cool shower, still beetroot red, and it takes at least half an hour to descend to a normal temperature.

    That’s what “floating up and down the pool” means πŸ™‚

  17. JamesFrance says :

    Justy, now the temperature has stabilised a bit, and I no longer see visions of Kurtz and palms on fire in the morning, that was a good picture of your old da in the blue hat πŸ™‚

    Not knowing who it were, I thought it were a random blue-hatted person from somewhere. Which makes me think, one of these days I might replace me with something else!

    Let’s see. Hmm. I know -a black and white picture from Weegee. In fact, I might even put Weegee himself -fantastic new York street phoographer that he was:

  18. Bill says :

    I used to drive by a swimming pool on my way to work.

  19. JamesFrance says :

    Hey Bill, next time, work or no work, put your foot on the brake. Stop the automated motor-carriage (“motor vehicle” they call them) sharp.
    Open the door, step off, and enter t’pool and go for a refreshing swim !

    It does wonders for the odour of their newfangled petroluem oil. It’s not natural, they suck it out of the ground where God put it, no good will come of this, I tell you.

    I went on a tangent there, it’s the remnant of red mist from apocalypse now Kurtz swimming in the uni pool πŸ™‚ Go for a swim !

  20. JamesFrance says :

    Had a bit of fun over on the Doc Who page there. There’s an odd “It’s too horrible! Spare the Little Children!” theme over there, which I’ve been commenting on – mostly in a “Bah, stop traumatising kids – it’s good for them, what’s not good for them is adults peering at them to see if they’ve been traumatised by “doctor who”” πŸ™‚

    https://discussion.theguardian.com/comment-permalink/98700309

    Doctor Who is great. Now it’s no longer the luvvy-dovey nonsense with that Amy and her Rory trailing listlessly, no, forlornly after her: now we’re cooking with charcoal again πŸ™‚

    (Charcoal? I don’t know why I said that)

  21. polly says :

    I generally don’t care much about Doctor Who, but I just pray that the next one isn’t, as alleged by the Daily Mail, Phoebe overrated woman who isn’t in the least bit funny IMO, since the press will never shut up about it.

  22. Tybo says :

    Stopped watching it decades ago (after Tom Baker left). I did watch the first one of the new series though, and quite liked it.

    But I preferred it when the sets wobbled and the script was good.

  23. polly says :

    “chanel faces backlash over $1500 boomerang”

    Surely backlash is kind of the point of boomerangs?

  24. Tybo says :

    I got a job application rejected earlier today.

    I emailed the application in on Sunday, got an email acknowledging my application on Monday, and an email saying that I was not getting an interview on Tuesday morning.

    That must be some sort of record.

    I have had three rejections in the last couple of weeks. None of them were for jobs I particularly wanted – mostly I applied to keep JSA happy – but they weren’t bad applications, particularly the last one.

    So I am wondering what is going on. Is it ageism? Overqualification? Or, despite the fact that all three jobs are publicly funded organisations, did they have someone lined up for them and were just going through the motions?

    I know that you are supposed to be able to ask for reasons but this is a very small town and I don’t want to burn bridges.

  25. JamesFrance says :

    Hey Polly, Phoebe ? Wahay !
    I’ll hear nothing said against Phoebe Buffy: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Phoebe_Buffay

    Now some newspapers belong in the fireplace to start fires with. Those with no fireplaces should have nothing to do with them at all, at all πŸ™‚

  26. polly says :

    Nah, not that Phoebe unfortunately James. She was funny.

  27. polly says :

    “So I am wondering what is going on. Is it ageism? Overqualification? Or, despite the fact that all three jobs are publicly funded organisations, did they have someone lined up for them and were just going through the motions?”

    Quite possibly all three I’d guess Tybes. Quite often jobs are advertised when already earmarked for an internal candidate, I’ve seen perfectly suitable candidates rejected simply on the grounds of age in various jobs I’ve done, and yes you may be overqualified.

    You could always ask for feedback, though bear in mind it’s unlikely to admit the real reason.

  28. Tybo says :

    Yeah, the last one is the most unlikely to be helpful and the most risky as it is the local arts centre, central to most of the cultural stuff going on here so I dont want to put any noses out of joint there.

    The other two were odder really as they were both lowly admin/receptionist jobs and I had all the things on the person specification. A lot of jobs here want Gaelic speakers of course, though I don’t apply if it is a stated requirement.

    Probably I should have asked one of the previous ones just to see what happened when I prodded them because I am unlikely to be looking for other jobs from them.

    But, basically, I think I have to accept that I am fucked and need to look off island.

  29. JamesFrance says :

    Tybo, with that sort of instant decision, it must be either “too late”, or “we had someone anyway”.

    Hence, it’s nice to know, but nevertheless best leave it be. Unless, of course, you know the people in some way or other.

  30. Tybo says :

    It wasnt too late, James. I got an email acknowledging receipt and the application went in before the closing date. And they were recruiting for jobs not one job.

    Maybe I messed up. It was an odd process, covering letter and CV rather than an application form and it said go by the person specification but didn’t really give one (but it didn’t give any clues as how to get one if the stuff linked to the ad was not it).

    Hey, it was pretty much minimum wage so I am not crying. Just wondering.

  31. Tybo says :

    The irony of what we were talking about earlier (RLC) is that I own my own house but I think I am going to have to sell it as I can’t afford to live in it – it being in the Outer Hebrides and the job situation being so desperate.

  32. JamesFrance says :

    Tybo, do you mean move away where there’s more work? New green fields ? Though I suppose life up in the Hebrides isn’t something you want to move away from.

  33. polly says :

    Well yes that is an issue T, but I suspect there’s a happy medium between ‘zones 1&2’ and ‘the outer hebrides’.

    There’s loads of affordable property in Manc if you go north, you can get a terrace in an easily commutable spot for under Β£100k.

  34. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    That would be a bugger, Tybes, particularly given what you give to the community and that your family is largely there. Can you find out if there is any sort of discretionary help to help you stay there? Best of and all that.

  35. Paul says :

    Keep your pecker up Tybo.you’ll get something eventually.

  36. interiorbc says :

    nn all, am off tomorrow…best of luck to the job seekers…that’s you tybo…

  37. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Nn Inty, have a good long weekend.

  38. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Well, we have just arranged the most bizarre send off, I think. 1st June, his mother’s birthday so it feels like a “giving back”. No celebrant, no eulogies, just a few of his fave choons and his closest family. My big bro has chosen the themes to Last of the Summer Wine and Dads Army. Brilliant, he laughed his socks off at those!

    Apparently, we had a cuckoo clock for ages that played “Under the Bridges of Paris”. Until I was at least 13. I don’t flipping remember it.

