Tuesday, 9th May 2017

164 responses to “Tuesday, 9th May 2017”

  1. justamentalpatient says :

    Sack the FBI boss!

  2. JamesFrance says :

    I’ll make an exception to my secular principles this time: Time to toast this person most righteously on a fine big bonfire for heretics !

    A catholic heritage isn’t something that can be denied πŸ™‚

  3. JamesFrance says :

    Another good thing: the far right neice in Carpentras is stepping down “to spend time with her family”.

    I’m tempted to go into more hellfire damnation bible speech here to celebrate this, but will resist the temptation πŸ™‚

  4. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Lovely you’re back, Bill. Sorry, not been on the planet for a couple of days. Agree with everyone’s opinions on social housing, we need more of it and good quality. I live in it. Mine’s lovely, totally renovated – workmanship perhaps a bit iffy in places – before my daughter and I moved in, new kitchen, bathroom, boiler, some new radiators, all painted in white gloss and ceilings, rest magnolia, v fresh. I do know how lucky I am and although I might be in a position to buy it, I never would. My children don’t want to live here so it would only be sold to some btl-er after my demise.

    Carwyn Jones wrote to me individually, here’s his letter. *Waves bit of paper bearing my first name, well, my other name too* Welsh Labour is a whole other thing to Labour, he tells me. Well, I’ve known that for years.

  5. JamesFrance says :

    Right, being righteously somnolent now, I’m off to doze, perhaps to … what rhymes with “doze”.
    Windows?

    I’m off to doze, perhaps to … open windows? It’s got something, but no, no good.
    Nose ? Nah.
    Blows. Close. Snows !

    I’m off to doze, mayhap it’ll snows. Argh.

    Help !

    πŸ™‚

  6. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    How about, “I’m off to doze so off I goes”, James? πŸ™‚ x

  7. JamesFrance says :

    Hmm, Fifty, that’s not bad, stylistically, next thing is to work on the mitre.
    Blank verse doesn’t have amitre though.
    Other verse does. And bishops.
    Another awful pun πŸ™‚

    So:

    The spring wind blows
    Sound of banging from windows
    Close, in snows, and doze.

    That’s a meta-post modern haiku, whatever that means πŸ™‚

  8. JamesFrance says :

    Incidentally, my ancient (Bill will love this) windows emulator, on t’Macintosh, running XP, is called “Windoze”

    This being a pune on wordes because “Windoze” is monstrously slow, so one dozes as it grinds painfully into fitful life. Sparks zitter in the barkground, making small lighting and a crackling sound like a deep fat fryer.

    That’s a gothic or steampunk vision of windows as windoze πŸ™‚

    (p.s. who remembers Delicatessen? Wonderful. City of lost Children, not bad, but not as wonderful).

  9. JamesFrance says :

    p.s. “zitter” is a new worde. I looked it up, it dinnae exite. I reckon it may have mileage:

    “zitter” – verb, tr. ebvs. nat.
    To make a sound like a fawlty (sic) contact in an ancient mechanical device out of those scenes in “Delicatessen”, the film(Jeunet et Caro).
    Maybe I’ll put it on Wiktionary and see if it takes off !

  10. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Can we not have a chipmunk version of windows. They’re really excitable, might make it work?

  11. JamesFrance says :

    Right: “to whit, too-hoo, a mery note, while greasy joan doth keep the pote” – old Will Shakespeare, that’s remained in my mind most of my life, who knows why, and that’s just to say good night all.

    How that relates to “good knight”, who knows, the world is all the better for new mysteries arising – as long as they aren’t scary, ‘cos we woudn’t sleep well then would we now πŸ™‚

  12. justamentalpatient says :

    I’m off to doze, to doze, to doze

  13. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    But if it snows, cover up your toes, you toes your toes.

    My work is done.
    x πŸ™‚ x

  14. justamentalpatient says :

    My toes are hairy.

    Yes, I’m a Hobbit.

    Nighty night, guys and gals.

