03. 05. 2017

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAKittens by Maud Lewis

I only recently Learned about Maud Lewis because of the film Maudie (which is getting good reviews from Canadian FB friends), but there is something about her paintings that just make me happy.

https://www.artgalleryofnovascotia.ca/maud-lewis

85 responses to “03. 05. 2017”

  1. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Oh, you reminded me, Justa, I registered for online stuffage at my GP but this sent me this letter with a really long and not memorable password then I had to enter another password of my own which I’ve also forgotten so I think I’ll continue with the “drop off repeat prescription form on my way down town, pick up repeat prescription on my way home 2 days later” method. Really good of S to go out with you though, she sounds like a diamond.

  2. xenium1 says :

    Naughty Justa, posting “Tybo” & “shed” in the same comment… 😉

  3. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Ooh

    Tybes, get really good pegs, the ones they sell for resealing food, not the ones for the washing line, and peg the bike cover closed. However, if the winds are really high and your bike is really light, this may just succeed in making the bike into a kite.

  4. Tybo says :

    Our one came up in a conversation with my mum recently.

    When it was dug up it left quite a hole. One day my sisters and I excavated it even more and then took a table and stuck it in the hole. It had a red formica top and made a great roof for the cave like thing we constructed (after we had piled earth on top of it. It had an entrance which was a dustbin that the bottom had rusted out of. We stuck that, sloping, in the side and sealed it up with earth and then a dustbin lid made a great hatch.

    Our memories vary though. My mum recalls coming back to find that we had buried her kitchen table (though where she was and why we were unsupervised I don’t know) my memory is of us having the cave for several days and excavating the sides away to make it bigger before being forced to give her back the table.

  5. Tybo says :

    Good idea fifty. You are right about the kiteyness but I could weigh it down with rocks or something.

  6. justamentalpatient says :

    I just can’t help myself, xen!

    Yep, S is just fantastic, inty. It’s so hard to get out and get things done without help right now. I’m lucky to have some wonderful people in my life.

  7. interiorbc says :

    well, I am glad you do justa…sometimes we all need a helping hand or two 🙂

  8. polly says :

    Evening, cute kitties.

    Hope Bill is ok….

    My first chance to vote for – oooh – a good 10 1/2 months tomorrow, can’t wait to exercise my democratic rights…..

  9. justamentalpatient says :

    Had a weird and wonderful life (score 8 on the ACE thingy), but also met some examples of the best of our species along the way.

  10. justamentalpatient says :

    Yes. As a relative newbie here, it is worrying that billiam has not been around.

    Hope he’s safe and getting decent care.

  11. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    It’s another nursery day robbed off the under 4s, but yes I shall be wielding my pencil tomorrow.

    Bottoms, better find my polling card then. Or you can just turn up with ID these days can’t you?

  12. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Here too, all the best, Bill. x

  13. xenium1 says :

    Well, I’m pooped & tipsy. Sbeen a long day. Sitges tomorrow. Hope the sun shines…

    Get out & vote, even if you fancy the posh twat. No, on second thoughts, if you fancy the posh twat, stay at home all day – for the next 10 years – with the curtains drawn & listen to same James B***t…

  14. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Sorry, I had mail I didn’t respond to, answered now. x

  15. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Well, sounds like a lovely hols so far, Xen. Not been abroad in, bugger my passport has expired, that’s how long. Can’t stand the thought of airports any more. x

  16. polly says :

    I don’t think there are any posh twats standing for Mayor of Greater Manchester Xen, though the candidates DO seem to be twats, to a person.

    It’s a matter of which twat is the least worst. Burnham A is the biggest twat clearly so I have to pick one of the others. The Tory is out, obvs, so that leaves Fib Dem or Green.

  17. JamesFrance says :

    Well well, been fighting the good fight for peace, democracy, and the left over on the French thing there with tonight’s final debate.

    I was going to not watch this, but got dragged in 🙂

    I’m afraid I probably quoted Churchill there somewhere. Hmm. I should avoid quoting ancient tories.

  18. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Def no posh twats standing in this ward tomorrow but still need to keep it Welsh Labour.

  19. interiorbc says :

    only in Britain would you read the words ‘posh twats’, teeheehee

  20. justamentalpatient says :

    inty, I’d really love to give you a big hug. Ya Canuckian loon!

  21. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Inty, lovely, if you’d had 7 years of the never-grown-up Bullingdon Club or those who would have aspired to it as your government, you would totally understand, there are posh twats then there are us. We are in a very sorry state. (Except they will never admit they’re sorry, this austerity is all for our own good, the bankers never did anything wrong, let’s be strong and stable, give me a mandate to declare war on Europe, etc, it is super-scary.) xx

  22. interiorbc says :

    hugs back justa…speaking of loons, heard the first ones of the season on the lake this morning…marvellous!

    yes, 51 it’s all a bit bizarre, hugs to you also.

  23. Paul says :

    Allegedly 51 has claimed some Chundies have been warning her not to meet Desde because she’s unstable and possibly dangrous.

    I hope that’s not true for people who’ve met Desde in real life say she’s a nice lady .

  24. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    They may have, Paul, and my response may have been “But if I don’t turn up how can I prove her wrong?” and anyway, I will be there, it is already arranged that I will be, for much better reasons than meeting Desde. So I suggest she meets me where she announced she will and at the given time. And that what is said privately or on your other really nasty site is not brought here. And that in any event, whether I meet her or not is no concern of yours. I will be there. Thank you for your input.

  25. desdemoaner says :

    For someone who claims to be a regular prison visitor, you’re bizarrely unaware of the layout and security procedures of the prison you visit. Information which I, as someone who has never visited a prison, managed to find after a few emails and internet searches.

    ‘what is said privately or on your other really nasty site is not brought here’

    Says you who spends much time here alluding to private conversations you have elsewhere.

    You just don’t want your supporters here to know what you’re really like – which is foul-mouthed and abusive and, most concerning, ignorant, prejudiced and stigmatising to those with mental health issues.

  26. desdemoaner says :

    In addition 51, several of your emails contain underlying threats, often pertaining​ to third parties who you persistently brought into the communication and whose validation you crave and hide behind. It doesn’t matter how many false names and proxy servers you use, if you break the law, the law can find you.

  27. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Desde, I think we can only solve this by meeting in person. I have suggested where. I know that you completely doubt me but I promise I will be where I said I will be when I said I will be.

    I am getting very tired of you now. And I am sure others are too. So either put up or shut up. You may not film within the grounds, you may be there, I’m sure, for a few minutes with no real reason but to troll. I have told you, outside visitors’ reception, 12.50pm on 18th May. Long Lartin. No, not happy or proud my brother is there but he is. I have that to deal with that, you don’t. As many of you as want can turn up. I will be the only one who gets let in.

    Otherwise, please be prepared to wait until my son and his partner have sorted out their own bedroom. They have this thing called a mortgage. They are in their 20s. They spent 2 years saving up and yes did get help from my father but not a lot. They slept on a borrowed mattress for a month, they bought a bed less than a fortnight ago. That is their bed. I don’t have one up there yet and don’t expect I will for a little while.

    You thought you had me “cornered” when I said Long Lartin. I will be there. If you will not be say so. I am who I say I am and have had shovels full of shite for the last 2 and a half years and do not need more. Which is why I want it over with. Please be there, I promise I will.

  28. desdemoaner says :

    51, every time Paul posts something challenging you or vaguely supportive of me, you say it’s nothing to do with him. Yet you constantly bring other people into your narrative and claim they agree with you. Your son, his partner, your mother, other Cifunderground, your brother – even prison officers for goodness sake. It’s clear you want me isolated and as you’ve said, you loathe me and want others to.

    This deluge of abuse from you is clearly not about my challenge to you on your cancer treatment: a busy professional who works in the law and has so many family commitments would just get on with their life. It is patently about other issues.

  29. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Yes, yours. I have to go now.

  30. desdemoaner says :

    You’re acting all reasonable now but you’ve called me ‘shit on a stick’, a nonentity, below your radar, ignorant and numerous insults which I’ve never responded to in kind. You also said on here that your Long Lartin suggestion was made jokingly.

    Further, your inner snob came out from under the facade of Labour supporter/concern for the poor in your ‘fucking Woughton… couldn’t make Stony’ remark.

  31. desdemoaner says :

    My original issues are with people who post misinformation about cancer treatment in a public place and with those who prey on vulnerable people causing hurt to them.

    Latterly my issue is with people who stigmatise those with mental health problems and use the language of hate against them – the type of person you have shown yourself to be.

  32. Paul says :

    Testing

  33. Paul says :

    ‘Testing

  34. Paul says :

    Attention Sleeps and Fings

    If either of you are responsible for this selective pre-moderation of my comments -especially as you haven’t given me any explanation.-then you’re seriously abusing your admin privileges.

    And Sleeps ,you were absolutely wrong to post about this on today’s thread.It should have been posted here on this thread.And if you’ve been deleting my responses to your 9.32am post on todays thread you’re guilty of both rank hypocrisy and blatant censorship.

