Monday, 24th April, 2017

Monday

115 responses to “Monday, 24th April, 2017”

  1. interiorbc says :

    topses!

  2. interiorbc says :

    “ages since I’ve seen the sea”…me too, allow me to oblige 🙂

  3. interiorbc says :

  4. interiorbc says :

    I always liked this version of “Persuasion” …improbably handsome Ciaran Hinds…

  5. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Tenby North Beach:

    Tenby Harbour Beach:

    Tenby Castle Beach:

    Tenby South Beach:

    I’ll pack my wellies, cagoule and sou-wester. 😉

  6. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Why do they not cut the trouser that way any more?

  7. interiorbc says :

    oooh, nice beach and town…

    because they have zippers now? it is a nice cut isn’t it?

  8. interiorbc says :

    nice beaches I should say, obvs more than one…

  9. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    It’s v v pretty, Inty, really romantic story, my uncle, from Huddersfield, was posted down there for his national service in the 1950s, met the woman who would be my aunty when they married in 1957 (but not my aunty for a bit, I came along in 1961). That’s why my cuz comes down every year and we try to meet up but haven’t for a couple of years but will do this time. Yay. Oh and the town, it’s walled as in medieval town walls, famously has 5 arches on the seaward side.

  10. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Five Arches Gate:

  11. interiorbc says :

    cool! why 5 arches?

  12. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    No idea why 5 arches, Inty, doesn’t very keepy-outery does it? Will see if I can find out. x

  13. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Oh, it was some kind of barbican built mid-16th C according to Wiki amid fears of a second Spanish Armada. Which doesn’t explain why there are 5 arches. Unless it was a “let them get in there, pour something v hot and horrible on them” thing.

  14. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    I am so excited now I can’t get back to sleep. Mentally doing the packing although it’s weeks away. And I’m taking my Mummy, shhhh, she doesn’t know yet. And it’s a caravan, I haven’t stayed in a caravan in ages. Why did I never think of a caravan? Ok, they call it a “holiday home” but it’s really a caravan.

    Oh and Inty, if you read back this far, the original walls are 13thC, they added that bit – the 5 arches – on. And Henry VIII’s dad, Henry Tudor, total chancer-got-lucky, hid out there before he fled to exile. He’s dead now, though. 😉

  15. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Right, done some shopping, mostly beans and soup, it is a caravan – not a “holiday home” – after all. Although it will be our holiday home. Hmmm.

    Anzac day down under, all the best. Was 100 years ago Saturday my great-grandfather was blown to bits at Arras. Very sad in every way.

    I could try for 2 more hours’ sleep. Will it happen, though?

    That banner cat. Traumatised by “children at play”, I wondered.

