Saturday 15.4.17

Flower on a creeper creeping over the fence from next door

cochliasanthus

photo by otherfing

75 responses to “Saturday 15.4.17”

  1. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Chicken!

  2. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Evening All

    Ended up at a garden centre I had no intention of going to and with a compost bin I really don’t need. How did that happen?

  3. Bill says :

    You can’t have enough compost bins. Especially if you’re a messy eater, like me.

  4. justamentalpatient says :

    Compost bins are good. Can even be used to draw ants away from the house.

  5. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    But they take away food waste, I have a brown bucket with a locking lid and everything. And a green bin for things I pull out of the ground and they take that away too. And a black box (well, 2) and a blue bag and a black bin with a purple lid. The garden’s full already.

  6. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    If you drive through Monmouthshire on bin day it looks very pretty, they have pastel coloured polythene bags for their different recyclables (our blue bags – for cardboard – are sort of rough plastic sacking type things – a bit like you get from Ikea – and if you’re not at home and bearing in mind we’re atop a hill, it’s gone, the wind’s taken it before you can bring it in. So I’ve ordered another 2 from the Council. But we’re supposed to share services. So how come their recyclables are handled in a completely different way to ours? These are the kind of thing that perplex me when I drive through Monmouthshire. Otherwise, I mostly forget about it.

  7. Bill says :

    A remake of War of the Worlds has just started on the telly and already I’m hoping the aliens win.

  8. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Oh, and I like your creeping flower, Fings and I love passion flowers, Sleeps. When I first moved to Bucks and went to MK shopping centre it was festooned with passion flowers growing up posts in raised beds edged with wide marble, very hard on the bum seating. So I bought my Mum an established, about 4 ft tall, passion flower plant and she is so good with plants and flowers but she managed to kill it within months.

  9. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    lol Bill. Some of us think they already have. (Not mentioning Trump/Brexit, no, not at all.)

  10. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    You know grapes? Well, I’ve had grapes 3 ways today, black grapes, green grapes, wine. Is that 3 of my [insert no here] a day? And tomatoes, I had cherry ones and I had sun dried ones, 1 or 2? And olives, green and black, 1 or 2? The only ones I can be sure about are the orange juice and banana. It’s a minefield.

  11. Paul says :

    I’ve just eaten an apple.What fascinating lives we all lead.

  12. justamentalpatient says :

    There is something vey wrong with remakes of old fillums, bill.

  13. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    There’s sometimes something very wrong with the first version, Justa. 😉

  14. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

  15. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

  16. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

  17. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    All I could find for olives, sorry, and I’ve not even tried on tomatoes although under Cherry tomatoes, there are these that are pretty worthy:

    Old joke, what’s worse than biting into an apple and finding a worm in it?

  18. Tybo says :

    Remakes, eh?

    True Grit is a very good remake of a very good film. But I am not sure it is better, which begs the question “why?” I actually prefer Jeff Bridges Rooster Cogburn to John Wayne, which is not surprising as Bridges is a better actor. But on the other hand Kim Darbie’s Mattie Ross is unbeatable so it evens out.

    Most are worse and answer the question: the rights owners see a chance to squeeze more money out of their property. No doubt some are done for primarily artistic reasons but few and far between.

    Some just mystify me though. King Kong never seemed such a great idea in the first place and why it keeps being remade totally defeats me. I don’t want to watch any of them.

    Jane Austen books keep being remade but that is a bit different as they are different takes on the books rather than remakes of existing films And very few are up to the task (I would say Ang Lee’s Sense and Sensibility and the Amanda Root version of Persuasion come closest). There has never been a satisfying adaptation of Emma (my favorite novel) so I am happy for film-makers to keep trying.

  19. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Has anyone tried to remake Henry V since Olivier, though? I am genuinely asking. And the TV adaptation of Pride and Prejudice, doubt that can be bettered but would make a bloomin’ long fillum.

    I am not a fan of fillums, I would rather any good novel be done in episodes and I can then decide how much of my life to waste on it. The counterpoint to this is plays made into fillums, plays are v inaccessible to many of us not that close to a theatre or with dosh, never seen a Willy Russell play done badly on fillum, though, in fact, they’ve got me to seek out the play Stags and Hens (to read, not see, couldn’t find a production).

  20. Tybo says :

    Emma would be an even longer film, Fifty, if they didnt cut half of it out which is part of the problem. So a perfect or nearly perfect Emma would have to be about five hours long. Fine for a short series of hour long episodes but way too long for a film.

    Didnt Branah do Henry V?

  21. Tybo says :

    Cripes, is that the time? Better go to bed as I have comicky stuff and cooking* for family Easter meal to do tomorrow.

    *Just the starter, fortunately, but individual little smoked haddock tortillas for 7 so it will take a bit of time.

    So good night.

  22. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Oh I think he did, will have to look it up now. Did oh, what’s the one, Benedict and Beatrice and there was a really over-age for the character Emma Thompson (is that right, something Thompson, gonna have to look that up too) on a swing. Much Ado. Off to Mr Goggle for a mo, brb.

  23. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Yes and yes. And well received.

    Nn Tybes.

  24. fingsaint says :

    re the creepy creeper flower – it’s lovely and fragrant and (here’s the important bit I found out when I was looking up what it was) non invasive. So, I’ve nabbed a couple of bean pods that had also crept over the fence and will give a go at propagating them next spring.

