Sunday 26.3.17

Great Pyrenees

Great Pyreneese & co.

78 responses to “Sunday 26.3.17”

  1. JamesFrance says :

    I’d have expected someone to show up by now. I expect they’re alll cooking broccoli. (Or is that “broccolli”? Or “Brocolli”? It’a a funny word, as is “oeuvre” which I had my doubts about, I’m telling you. Damn tricky to spell, that one.

    Any one about ?

  2. JamesFrance says :

    Oh ! Get that ! Well: The bottom of the page starts here. Hey, profound, or what !

  3. justamentalpatient says :

    james! Why, you little…

    *shakes fist* πŸ˜€

  4. JamesFrance says :

    What’s nice about the top of the page is the effortlessness: From here on, it can only go down. What a very relaxing thought πŸ™‚

    Hey Justy, nice to see you about. I hope you like my two comments in quick succession explaining in their own way why ambition is a Bad Thing.

    Aim low: Can’t fall over that way πŸ™‚

  5. JamesFrance says :

    I think, Justy, I have to apologise here for being too verbose. There’s there people, like me, gabbing on all the time πŸ™‚

    I quite like that “It can only go down from here” line there, there’s something peaceful about that one. Also, it makes all right wingers climb trees and be angry, which is a bonus πŸ™‚

    My motto: “don’t try too hard !” πŸ™‚

  6. JamesFrance says :

    Incidentally, I don’t mean to blow trumpets or anything (don’t snigger, Sleeps), but I did quite like this exchange:

    James “Anyone about ?” (topt of page-ed-ing. Thing.)Justy “51!”

    Hoohoo πŸ™‚

  7. justamentalpatient says :

    james, you little sweetie, you are not too verbose! You are your own wonderful, eccentric self.

    Ambition can be a problem, I guess it’s partly how it’s directed?

  8. xenium1 says :

    I had the foresight to record Oliver! earlier today, so that’s what we’re watching now.

    Oom-pah-pah! πŸ™‚

  9. justamentalpatient says :

    That’s ‘ow it goes!

  10. xenium1 says :

    πŸ˜†

  11. JamesFrance says :

    Justy, well, I just like the idea of always comfortably going down , go with the flow, but not so fast as to land with a *thunk( and do oneself an injury, of course.

    Non ambition is something to be embraced with circumspection πŸ™‚

    The main thing, as Epicurus said, and I keep endlessly quoting like the proverbial record (scratched), he said “live well and have a good time”, and that’s the be all and end off of it. Leave empire building in all its guises to others πŸ™‚

  12. JamesFrance says :

    I’ll have to work that into my next interview. This will be challenging.
    HR: “So, James, we have a high pressure environment here. Achievers, that’s us. How do you fit in with this?”
    Me: “Oh, like a charm. I leave the achievement to others. Like a well-oiled machine, which I would not dream of interfering with. You achievements are safe from me !”
    HR: “How novel. Don’t call us, we’ll call you.”.

  13. justamentalpatient says :

    Nowt wrong with going down.
    *ahem*

    Does ambition always mean empire building?

    I fink it’s broader than that, meself. Educating, helping and so on can be ambitions, Shirley?

  14. JamesFrance says :

    Well, “what’s ambition”: one has “selfless ambition”, which is not what I mean.
    However I’d add that selfless ambition is not really ambition. It’s wanting to improve things, make the world a better place, and put lots of effort into it.

    Whereas “ambition” without “selfless” in front of it generally means enterprise, eagerness, motivation, which are not a bad thing at all except that underlying all these praiseworthy and energising things is the concept of “so I have more”.

    That’s the problem in ambition: The “More for Me !” bit. Which is the converse of selflessness in the other flavour of ambition (which I think it is challenging to label as ambition in the first place.

    It’s a tricky issue πŸ™‚

    For example: My ambition is to have fun. So I put quite a lot of effort into trying to make sure someone pays the bills to let me mess about with things, solving puzzles, and … having fun !

    And incidentally, the puzzles are supposed to be for the greater good, hence the “selfless” element. Which it isn’t really, because the main point is to do fun stuff πŸ™‚

    As I said – tricky.

  15. JamesFrance says :

    p.s. as to “why broccolli?” – well I done garlic in oil, add broccolli, and add to wholemean pasta tonight, dead good.
    Add salt, pepper, ‘erbs obviously πŸ™‚

    Borrolli, good stuff. As it garlic, And ‘erbs. Borrolli ???? I mean Broccolli, damn that’s hard to spell πŸ™‚

  16. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Did somebody call?

    πŸ™‚

    James, I like the thought of going down gently, you know, like a helium balloon, don’t know where it will land but it’ll be gentle, as it slowly deflates.

    I’ll read the rest now.

  17. JamesFrance says :

    p.s. with fish, which is the fish called “rascasse”, I not know ‘ow Eenglish say zis. Fish supper zis is good for la santΓ©, yes, with the broccolli as well πŸ™‚

    Fifty, read on ! I remember little about the last page except there was a slow race at the end of it, a race to the bottom fittingly enough πŸ™‚

    And love the idea of gently coming down as a helium balloon πŸ™‚

  18. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    There’s a thing, see, helium balloons. Everyone likes a helium filled balloon, it should mean someone, somewhere, is having a nice time. But now we’ve (the planet) nearly run out of helium. And they use it in things like linear accelerators which I had never heard of until I suddenly needed one. Sleeps’s G will encounter one (a LA not a balloon). So, we might have to stop doing helium balloons.

    We can sleep easily on a fish supper, though. So long as it’s not haddock. We’ve nearly run out of haddocks too.

  19. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    If you drive through Lincolnshire in the autumn there is a fantastic smell of brassica(s) – is the “s” right or not, there are lots of types of brassica?. Caulis, cabbages, broccoli all growing right there by the side of the road. Well, in fields obvs but they don’t do walls there, brassica(s) tend not to wander.

  20. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Ooh, who knew rapeseed was a brassica? Me, that’s who. I do now, though. πŸ™‚

  21. Paul says :

    Glad you enjoy the music i post James

    Here’s one more for you.

  22. emmachisset says :

    opium poppys are very common on the Lincs roadsides, all perfectly legal, but never see them down here in the south, except in people’s gardens.

  23. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Emms, you must have been in spam or summat cos I’ve been hard at work here, I’m not sure given I’m still on “easing back in” hours how I stand on claiming for it but I’ve come up with 3 cracking solutions to stuff n that that I’d be fine claiming as flexi time if I’d not just had a year off. Anyways, you weren’t here last time I checked.

    I once went from Wales to Lincolnshire on a bus, well, 2 buses, 12 hours it took.

  24. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    I wouldn’t know what to do with a poppy, I mostly smile at mine, I have a little garden that is seeded with mixed wild flower seeds every other year, I have these daisies that get up to about 3 feet and no weeding, they’re all considered weeds. πŸ™‚

  25. cyanbloo says :

    heya sleepy people
    i am just around to test an emoji paste

    🦍🦍

  26. cyanbloo says :

    yay it worked
    boo they are tiny.

