Thursday 23.3.17

30 responses to “Thursday 23.3.17”

  1. fingsaint says :

    Continuing the theme of icebergs *heh*

    Can’t vouch for the sea-lions (yet?), this is all I know:-

    Miehe A German musician Heinrich Miehe and his wife Louise, née Schulz, founded a circus in Denmark in 1884. From 1884 to 1888 they used the name circus Thyland. From 1889 the name was changed to circus Miehe. Owned by family members this show toured Denmark until 1958. Most famous member of the Miehe family is probably the clown August Miehe (1889-1936) – a baggy-pant clown with exaggerated makeup and clothing. This type of clown is often called the auguste named after August Miehe. (Another and maybe more likely explanation of the origin of the name auguste for this type of clown could be that “auguste” in German means a peasant or a clod).

    Morning

  2. emmachisset says :

    growlers and bergy bits are my favourite icebergs,

    and what sort of sex education does a clown need?

    ( I could edit that , but hey………….for some reason i had looked at the poster above and read it as Frohn’s sex educated sea lions 🙂 )

  3. xenium1 says :

    They need to know about the mammals & the fishes, Emms.

    And a flipper could do a helluva damage in the wrong hole.

    Morning…

  4. Bill says :

    Morning.

    Today I’ll be mostly piddling about with my Raspberry Pi.

    Poor bloody seals wouldn’t be able to afford the tuition fees nowadays.

  5. JamesFrance says :

    Hello all, Fings, another fine image there for the morning!

  6. xenium1 says :

    I was visiting my hometown & went to see the house I grew up in. I knocked on the door & asked the folk living there if I could go up & see my old room. They said no.

    Jeez, my parents can be really mean at times…

  7. Bill says :

    Cock pheasant now comes to the back door for food. Still won’t let me within a foot of home though.

  8. neartheclocktower says :

    Miss, miss, he said cock!

  9. neartheclocktower says :

    Good morning

    Sun/cloud and windy here.

    Just had a full-on week with my new job. Hit yesterday’s deadline so (fingers crossed) it’s going OK.

    I’m editing materials for the ‘aspirational bilingual’ market. This, apparently, is when parents send their kids to an expensive private primary school with minimal English and expect them to come out six years later bilingual. The market is mainly in Mexico and Turkey I wonder where the money comes from 😉

    I think I may have sold my soul to the devil!

  10. Sleepychow says :

    That pic is obvs photoshopped.
    You can see the line between the seal and the guy.

    Smoke n mirrors, guys.

    Morning.

    … and what’s that distressed pixie doing there on the right?

  11. Sleepychow says :

    ” The market is mainly in Mexico and Turkey I wonder where the money comes from”

    Sombreros/jumping beans/stand-offs & stuffing.

  12. Sleepychow says :

    Ha, Xen.
    I didn’t see that coming.

    … as the actress etc etc etc

  13. Sleepychow says :

    “growlers”

    *snort*

  14. brusselsexpats says :

    Great joke that Xen – gave me the first laugh of the day.

  15. brusselsexpats says :

    Morning all,

    Good news Clocks – sounds interesting anyway. All those Mexicans trying to sound like Yanks…..

    Wonder about Turkey though. Is the Turkish government training up future spies to infiltrate the EU?

  16. Paul says :

    A chundie tribute to Dame Vera Lynn who recently turned 100.

  17. Bill says :

    She doesn’t look as if she’s speeding.

  18. Paul says :

    I should hope not at her age.She does however put her longevity down to the daily spliff she enjoys with her morning tea.

  19. emmachisset says :

    how to make a profit from the public sector,

    I was given 9 days to travel around Hants, blowing leaves,

    went to one place today, staff said to me, ” what bloody leaves, they did it 2 weeks ago and there were no bloody leaves then either ”

    as long as someone makes an easy buck out of it, only the taxpayer suffers….

    ( I have found a few, but not many ).

  20. justamentalpatient says :

    Priorities, emms.

    Sod social care, there’s leaves to be blown. Or not.

  21. xenium1 says :

    Well, that’s the Italian (Umbrian) kids off home now. Finished class with a round of applause for yours truly, handshakes all round & a few hugs. And several cries of “You’re the best!” I never doubted it… 🙂

  22. neartheclocktower says :

    That’s lovely, Xen. Praise from teens. Doesn’t happen that often (or maybe it’s just me).

    Did your French kids ever turn up?

  23. xenium1 says :

    They did, Clocks. That class was a bit more troublesome. Though ultimately successful. Kinda. Swings & roundabouts… 😉

  24. Bill says :

    I’ve deaded the thread again.

  25. emmachisset says :

    there’s still time yet…

  26. emmachisset says :

    the night is still young

  27. justamentalpatient says :

    Sitting here finking “gawd, I miss sex!”

  28. justamentalpatient says :

    Ooo Jaws 3. Wot no D?

