Thursday 9.3.17

Art by Robert S. Connett

76 responses to “Thursday 9.3.17”

  1. xenium1 says :

    Still smiling. πŸ™‚

    Went into work with my BarΓ§a scarf on. A colleague, who used to live in Paris, told me how her teenage son was close to tears last night. So was I. For entirely digferent reasons… πŸ™‚

    And dinner’s midday, tea’s at night. On Sunday we can call it dinner, but it’s never served before 5…

  2. emmachisset says :

    mid afternoon makes sense,

    the Englishmen have it at early afternoon ‘cos they’ve been in the pub since opening while the wives stay at home cooking, so they can carry on drinking,

    while the more sober Scottish, have theirs at start of evening, so as to stay sober for the day, while still leaving the evening for sinking a few jars.

  3. emmachisset says :

    i had a look on the ‘tube for highlights, last night , but there were none,

    sometimes big boxing matches are up in minutes, and then down again an hour later………..

    Where do you watch xen? paying Murdoch ? πŸ™‚ – only teasing !

  4. Tybo says :

    Evening all.

    James – Like Fifty I am a confusion – born in Nottinghamshire (technically East Midlands but for this linguistic purpose North) grew up in East London

    Similarly complicated class wise which is the other thing. My parents were born working class but were somewhat upwardly mobile while I have been sort of bouncy up and down and all around mobile.

    The result being that I only know what to call the first meal of the day, that being breakfast in every iteration. Oh and supper only means something late at night, like fish and chips after the pub.

    As for lunch/dinner tea/dinner It is complete chance what comes out of my mouth. Probably more likely to reflect who I am talking to, so more likely dinner in the middle of the day if I am talking to less posh or more northern folks, etc

    But it is fairly random. And as I am sixty and have had this dilemma since I can remember I doubt if it is ever going to be resolved.

  5. xenium1 says :

    Got Virgin, Emms. (Paying that nice Mr Branson.) Pay for Sky Sports & BT Sports, so am putting money in the pockets of every bad corporation going…

  6. xenium1 says :

    I’m sure the match will be put out on a dvd free with the local Barcelona sports ‘paper. Will get my brother to buy one for me. Would love to watch it again. Without the nailbiting… πŸ™‚

  7. emmachisset says :

    my experience of supper was that, in Scotland it didn’t exist,

    moved to England and my friends were getting an extra meal a day, while had enforced ‘no eating’. in the evening πŸ™‚

    and i was thinner than them.

  8. emmachisset says :

    wow, quite a collection , why so many , dont’ they all show the same things?

    i’m fairly ignorant of tv things, not having a tv set like a typical Guardian reader :
    )

  9. xenium1 says :

    Sky for La Liga, BT for Champions. They’re not stoopid… πŸ˜‰

  10. emmachisset says :

    ah, gotcha,

    i used to watch on wiziwig, cricfree, etc, – I blame Wendy !

    might have been my computer, but it buffered and froze a lot, tho the sound usually kept on running….

  11. justamentalpatient says :

    It’s a bit like the roll, bap, batch or barm thing.

    I thought a cheese batch sounded lovely, but too much for one meal when we moved up here…

  12. justamentalpatient says :

    Paul Daniels had a TV channel for football, emms?

  13. justamentalpatient says :

    Whoops! My mistake. πŸ˜‰

  14. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Avocado update: I ate it. Well, 75% of it, I gave in with the bit around the stone when the stone refused to budge. It came out of one side so I was able to fill the dimple with thousand island but just smeared it on the other half. πŸ™‚

  15. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Woah, Justa, a whole nother thing and when do you have it, breakfast, lunch, dinner, tea, supper? The combinations could be endless …. πŸ˜‰

  16. justamentalpatient says :

    Banananananananas great for ripening other fruities, BTW.

  17. JamesFrance says :

    Fifty, first, let me say that your tales of Yorkshite feasts sound wonderful, culture and traditional things at their best, I always say.

    But let me say the phrasing “kids cooked in a Fray Bentos pie tin” made me raise an eyebrow or two. Quite high, too, and in a mildly censorious tone, even! This is not on, chucking kids in pies.

  18. justamentalpatient says :

    I agree, james. A slow cooker would be better. Nice and tender kid meat.

  19. JamesFrance says :

    Tybo, identity dilemmas are a delightful thing, if you take them the right way, as an expression of the wild variety of the world and tumpty tumpty tum (I can’t finish this phrase, I got stuck, and when that happens I stick in some onomatopoeia (great word) and let it look after itself πŸ™‚

    Mind you, if I cease being superficial for an instant, identity dilemmas are not always great, in cases of alienation, usually of minorities, and so on and so forth, oh and also refugees. Alright, serious parenthesis over.

    On a random note: “dilemmas” sounds as if it should describe some sort of wild animal, like an eland, but finer, streaking across the plains in vast herds:

    *In hushed Attenborough tones*

    “And now, the sun rises over the plain, and we can see greater Idendity Dilemmas streaking across the grasslands in small packets. This interesting species migrates in many separate small family groups, to confuse predadors who do not know where to look.”

    There. An Attenborough moment came and went, in a flash πŸ™‚

  20. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    lol James, I feel suitably censured, I was looking for the missing apostrophe, I even know where it should have gone but it wasn’t missing, it was just terrible phrasing. πŸ˜‰

    PS: I don’t think we ever ate kids but Aunty Jessy’s goat once tried to eat my brother. (She wasn’t a real Aunty, all the older ladies the family were friends with were honorary Aunties.)

  21. JamesFrance says :

    Oooh, slow coooker!
    GAarglglrggrlaarrhh*drool*

    *in Homer tones*
    I had omelette for dinner. Omelette, lardons, muchroom, courgett, with ‘erbs (tumeric, and thyme, and safe, and something else). T’were better than them bentos kid pies, I’ll wager πŸ™‚
    And water. Not tea in pots, just the old “Chateau de Robinet”.

  22. JamesFrance says :

    Dinner, and tea, and things makes me think now

    “Shall we have barbequeued Identify Dilemma chops for lunch, or for tea?”

    I wonder might this concept become a meme πŸ™‚

  23. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Ahh, now your barbecue, James, that is easy, it’s just a barbecue no matter what time of day. We used to barbecue every evening in the summer. I say “we”, that’s because my son was very keen to start with, we’d eat it in the farmyard overlooking the Usk valley hence I have a lot of sturdy plastic plates and beakers cos we never knew when the sheep were going to run through the yard and they don’t stop for nobody once they’ve got a gallop on. πŸ™‚

  24. justamentalpatient says :

    Gawd. Trying to stop a traumatised sheep from getting hurt further on Crimble day in the snow, freezing your tits off in the process…
    And the sodding farmer wouldn’t come out because he was having his dinner. Had to be told that another farmers guests were guarding his loose sheepie…

  25. fingsaint says :

    Oooo avocados πŸ™‚ They’re plentiful in the shops at the moment so the growers must have sorted out their supply chain because I remember them costing a fortune last year due to shortages. I slice them for salads, or mash them and spread on bread instead of butter and I also mash them with greek yoghurt and a squeeze of lemon or lime juice as a side dollop for dishes with chilli in like taco mince.

    drools

