Thursday 2.3.17

36 responses to “Thursday 2.3.17”

  1. fingsaint says :

    Morning

    weather report: not too bad – in the 20s with scattered showers

  2. emmachisset says :

    morning all,

    thanks for looking for that song fings, – Sleeps found it, a fine tune.

  3. xenium1 says :

    Morning.

    And, Emms, from yesterday – of course, Toxteth O’Grady is in the Guinness book of records with the world’s stickiest bogey… πŸ™‚

  4. emmachisset says :

    James,

    missed you last night, how’s the brakes ? πŸ™‚

  5. emmachisset says :

    morning xen, here”s a story for you, we’re going to have a new monarch,

    he’s about to fly over here and sieze power,

    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-4272634/American-man-claims-s-rightful-king-England.html

  6. xenium1 says :

    Long live the Redneck! πŸ™‚

  7. fingsaint says :

    fair call, he’s got the regal bearing down pat

  8. fingsaint says :

    glad you found the tune, emms – thanks sleepy.

  9. fingsaint says :

    You know you’ve been on-line since the dawn of chat when you find that you post a banner and think: ‘that’s a nice lol-catz retro pic’ πŸ™‚

  10. Bill says :

    Banner πŸ™‚

    Only just got up.

    *yawn*

    Morning.

  11. JamesFrance says :

    Morning all, rise & shine, Bill-y-o !

    Who saw my joycean ramblings last night? Just to be cleear, these were not prompted by visits to any pub, but by reading Ulysses on the train on the way home, and by long hours working.

    Right, more labours ahead, let’s rewrite Moby Dick now starting: “Call me Ulysses.”

    Right, so call me Ulysses, some years ago – never mind how long precisely – I was sitting by the comfortable beach in the Iberian peninsula and having nothing of particular interest to keep me there, thought I’d take to the road and travel north a little to see the mist and rain again. Whenever I find myself staring into the sky, and listening to conversations wishing people would stop talking about their mobile phone, and find myself stopping in front of travel agents and reading the foreign press, then is the time I think I must look to the open road.”

    … etc πŸ™‚

  12. JamesFrance says :

    although final note before I go off to finish this report I must write today:

    β€’Β I started aping Joyce last. night.
    β€’ today I see myself aping Melville.

    This is worrying. It means there is no originality in me whatsoever, and all I do is copy, oh no !

    So off I go to copy myself now in writing this stupid and boring literature survey report I have to finish off today.

    On the plus side, it’s a sunny day.

  13. JamesFrance says :

    Still me, I haven’t workde yet. I wrote a long comment about pools, and since I’m always looking for some sort of validation or response to my ramblings, well here is is for your consideration, Undergrounders.

    It’s got a nice alliteration in it, which I mention to encourage youse to have a look πŸ™‚

    https://discussion.theguardian.com/comment-permalink/94155557

    (And a new way of mis-spelling “Guardian”).

  14. fingsaint says :

    James, lovely to read you at your ulyssian best.

    Btw have you seen emms’s’s’s question about your braking power?

  15. Sleepychow says :

    Morning all.

    Love the punny names linky from yesterday, Clocks. Worth a repost:
    http://www.thepoke.co.uk/2017/02/27/19-brilliantly-awful-punning-business-names-britain/

    And thanks to you, Emms, for introducing me to our [can’t think of an appropriate word] new king.

    G has a part time job interview middayish. Just a few hours each week doing therapy with kids affected by cancer. He’s not fired up for it at all – well chilled. He has a track record of being abysmal* at interviews.

    *synonyms: very bad, dreadful, awful, terrible, frightful, atrocious, disgraceful, deplorable, shameful, woeful, hopeless, lamentable, laughable, substandard, poor, inadequate, inferior, unsatisfactory.

    Yep, that just about covers it.

  16. JamesFrance says :

    Hey Fings ! I didn’t see the breaking power thing. Where’s this breaking power Emma’s’s’s question ?

    Ah seen it:

    EC: “how’s the brakes?”
    JC: “well there’s this young lad here who’s a mechanical whiz-kid, and had a look, and found that the pusher on the disk brake has a stop to prevent it going too far, which was set too much “prevented” i.e. the pusher never pushed hard enough.
    Unfortunately there’s a design flaw in that the pusher when set to its maximum range still doesn’t really push hard enough, because the stop can’t be stopped from stopping the pusher pushing enough, but c’est la vie.”
    EC: “Eh ? I think I follow that. Can you break up your sentences a bit there, James?”
    JC: “Oh, pardon me. There’s a disk brake screw piston. I’ve set it at maximum range, so the braking is adequate. But the range is too small, a design flaw, and so the brake is still a bit weak”
    EC: “That’s slightly better.”

    I like writing dialogue πŸ™‚

  17. JamesFrance says :

    Right, silence from me now I have to finish a big chunk of this report in th enext 20 minutes.

  18. JamesFrance says :

    Me again. Boy oh boy, I’m being a bit noisy today. But I want to share this comment about an important issue, which is swimming pools, and fingi therein, pursuant to that Gurardian article on “people and pee in pools” (I love that alliteration).
    So here goes, a Guardian coment on pools, and funghi, and things:

    I was in Spain for years, and I remember the hat thing. This is good.

    The flip flops thing was, however, not mandatory. On the contrary, it was more or less obligatory, because going to the pool without flipflops guaranteed picking up mushrooms and fungi, not that I know the difference between foot mushrooms an d foot-fungi.

    This always annoyed m: A proper pool keeps fungi at bay by regular disinfection of all flat surfaces, and by making people walk through disinfecting baths on the way to the pool.

    In Swiss pools, for example, this is a enormous success: I’ve never caught foot fungus in a swiss pool (and I’ve been often)

    Whereas in Spain, even though I wore flip-flops in an irritable manner (because they should bloody well have foot baths and a lot more cleaning), I caught them fairly regularly.

    Incidentally, the only cure against the foot thing is foot powder. The anti-fungal cream is nearly pointless. Get foot powder, refuse all alternatives forthrightly.

    Here in France, it’s back to foot baths, and I’m glad to say it’s much cleaner than Spain, so things are looking good. After eight months here, I have yet to report any cleanliness problem πŸ™‚

    So pardon me for contradicting, but Spain: NOoooo ! Mushrooms (0r fungi, same thing).

    Linked an’ all πŸ™‚ Hope the spam gnome isn’t about, is that the patter of gnome feet I hear behind me? Let the spam gnome be visited by foot fungi I say !

    Ok, report now. Six minutes left on my timetable πŸ™‚

  19. neartheclocktower says :

    Good morning/afternoon/evening

    Thanks for the banner and birthday greetings yesterday. The watch was well chuffed! She finished school at 2pm and we had a lovely afternoon playing games and chatting. Mr made a surprise appearance to give her a present (he has a gap between classes but doesn’t usually come home). Her plan to have a homework-free birthday didn’t quite happen but she knuckled down to what she had to do.

    After she had gone to bed Mr and I stayed up waaaay too late drinking for a weekday.

  20. neartheclocktower says :

    Sleep’s, I hope G’s job interview goes well – it sounds ideal. I’d suggest giving him a kick up the backside but probably not the best idea.

    Got my fingers crossed for the results next week.

  21. neartheclocktower says :

    James, I’ve been avoiding reading that article because if I do I suspect I’ll never go near a swimming pool again. Flipflops mandatory at our pool, but no foot baths.

  22. Sleepychow says :

    51,

    Cheaper to get the powder from Asian shops, if you have them.

    Here’s the turmeric recipe:

    β€’ One cup (250ml) of turmeric powder
    β€’ 10g finely ground black pepper
    β€’ 150ml olive oil
    β€’ 200-300ml hot water
    β€’ Ginger powder optional extra

    In a saucepan, mix turmeric, pepper and hot water. Put on a low heat and stir constantly, adding water as needed so that the paste feels like very soft Nutella. Add half of the oil and mix on the heat for about 5-6 mins. At the end of cooking, add the rest of the olive oil.
    Find small glass jars and fill them. Keep one in your fridge for daily use, and put other(s) into freezer. Use the paste within 7 days, and when used, replenish it with the one from the freezer.

  23. Sleepychow says :

    Glad the Watch enjoyed her day.

    G says the interview was so so. Hence much better than expected although he did waffle and not really answer questions as they were asked.

    Q “What’s the difference between …”
    A “I prefer to think of the similarities …”

    *sigh*

    He’ll find out today. There are 2 posts so if only 2 people turned up …
    Ha.

  24. Sleepychow says :

    “we had a lovely afternoon playing games and chatting”

    What kind of 14 yo is she?!
    She shoulda been out sitting in the square drinking alcopops with her mates and making rude noises at passers by.

    pfft
    :squoink:

  25. emmachisset says :

    hiya all,

    yesterday we did half of a double living room , in a posh house, wooden laminate flooring.

    today we went to do the other half, uplifted the carpet, and then a foot went through the floorboards πŸ™‚

    rotten as can be, the joists too are crumbly and falling apart. Below the floor is 6″ of water with electric cables snaking through it.

    felt a bit sorry for them, even if they are rich ( only a little bit ) – they expected the job finished yesterday, instead they’re facing having to tear up the entire floor and replace the joists, and possibly for the entire house also.

    so that put an end to our flooring for the day – did a piss easy needle sweep instead, found nothing, -get bonus.

  26. xenium1 says :

    Square? Alcopops? Rude noises at passers-by?

    Nah, that’s jist a Chundie meet-up… πŸ™‚

  27. neartheclocktower says :

    shhh… don’t put Bru off πŸ™‚

  28. Paul says :

    Make sure Bru keeps an eye on her handbag Clocks.

  29. Paul says :

    I am glad to report that following my dental check-up my pearly whites have been declared to be in pristine condition.

    ps it’s just the rest of me that’s falling apart. 😦

  30. Paul says :

    I want my epitaph tol read –

    ” He was a martyr to his sinuses

    And his innards developed a life of their own

    But….

    His knashers were a joy to behold.”

  31. Paul says :

    This takes me back,so far back in fact it’s almost off the scale

  32. xenium1 says :

    Oh, Clocks, I’m sure Bru’s looking forward to catcalling the locals & necking alcopops in the square…

  33. JamesFrance says :

    Evenin’ all, here, following on from Paul, top stuff, Pau, “well well well” – is .. Warren G :

  34. neartheclocktower says :

    19 pound flights to Barcelona with Monarch from Manchester.

    Just booked our returns for Easter πŸ™‚

