Monday, 27th February, 2017

65 responses to “Monday, 27th February, 2017”

  1. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Exactly, Justa, it is experience that’s needed. FB in a min. The “community prisons”, the lower security ones but not open ones is where the danger is.

  2. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Please tell me you have a monacle, what, what? πŸ˜‰

  3. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Anyhouses, check-up today, apart from scar tissue, no lumps. πŸ™‚

    Then, came back to P’pool, called in at the GP’s to collect prescription, went and parked in a “Taxis Only” bay knowing that after 2.30pm there are no taxis cos they’re all off ferrying the schoolkids about, I was the 5th car in the bay and only nipped to Boots to get the prescription filled, came back 2 Community Support Officers ticketing the cars parked where I was. They were on car 3, next was a small van, then me, I pretended I hadn’t seen them, snook into my car and off. Phewww ….

  4. interiorbc says :

    What? What!

    old joke from junior school when we said ‘what’…

    “watt built the steam engine”

    hahahaha

  5. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Old (and rather more obscure) joke from my junior school, Inty, my old headmaster’s former schoolchildren had had a book they wrote published called “A Time of Ravens” or something like. Anyway, he was v proud of it and taught us English for a little while and kept on about it and why not? But if anyone said “What?” he’d remind us (yet again) of the communal writing of that book and that “What was their surname [main family]?” was answered with “Yes, Watt was their surname”. He found it very, very funny.

  6. interiorbc says :

    teachers back then had an interesting sense of humour πŸ™‚

  7. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    I hope something so silly as counting votes for Oscars (or giving the right envelope) brings down PWC, in even David Cameron’s opinion a firm that promotes “aggressive tax avoidance”. In my dreams, eh?

  8. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Oh, he was a lovely old thing, Inty, about a gazillion years old as far as we knew but much loved.

    When I got to Grammar School, horrible, we had a history teacher who couldn’t touch chalk without having to “Just go wash my hands” immediately afterward and anyway, think he’d lived through most of the history we were studying.

    We even had a geography teacher who really wore a corduroy jacket with leather elbow patches. And he had a beard. Full House! πŸ˜‰ x

  9. justamentalpatient says :

    We had a history teacher who, when teaching about the industrial revolution and textile manufacturing, wrote
    K
    H
    A
    C
    C

    on the board. It was a great way to get kids to remember the lesson.

  10. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Nope, I was defo a Luddite, Justa. πŸ˜‰ x

  11. justamentalpatient says :

    I still am, fiddy. πŸ˜‰

    But KHACC is never leaving my mind.

    Also had a lovely Irish Geography teacher with the cliched jacket and I can still hear him saying “plate tectonics”. The man was obsessed!

  12. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Rubber plantations in Malaysia was beardy-corduroy-leather-elbow man’s thing. I reckon I could tap the rubber without killing the tree even now. πŸ˜‰ x

