Saturday 25.2.17

Dismal Swamp South Australia

holiday pic #39 photo by otherfing

49 responses to “Saturday 25.2.17”

  1. fingsaint says :

    ‘Where did you go on your holidays?’
    ‘Dismal Swamp.’
    ‘Oh ok’

    [Dismal Swamp is in the Kalangadoo district of South Australia. Kalangaloo is an aboriginal name meaning ‘big trees in water’. I blame the Europeans for naming it to sound so repellent because, at the end of the day, the landscape is quite stunning.]

    Morning campers

  2. emmachisset says :

    morning,

    i see that the usa has a Great Dismal Swamp, which is presumably bigger and better than yours πŸ™‚

  3. Bill says :

    In the UK, Pissed Off Muddy Patch in Suffolk is a crowd puller

  4. fingsaint says :

    πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚lols the both of youse

  5. fingsaint says :

    Dinner guests tonight, might catch you later when I’ll be pissed

  6. Bill says :

    Driving toward Ashbourne, ahead of me a pigeon started to cross the road. I thought that if it didn’t get a move on, it’d soon be dead. It got to the white line in the middle of the road and stopped on it. I zoomed by within inches of the little sod, immediately looked in my mirror to see it continuing to cross the road.

  7. emmachisset says :

    just been invited to a ‘team building’ day, (unpaid presumably)

    6 hours of paintballing in the woods,

    followed by 6 hours of eating and drinking, followed by getting home from 15 miles away.

    – It’s a no from me.

  8. fingsaint says :

    Pidgins are urban and know how to negotiate traffic*

    *according to Nat Geo

  9. fingsaint says :

    Emms, you mean you’ve got something better to do? Like what?

  10. fingsaint says :

    Sleepy should be home soon. Hope Doris only kissed Cornfield with a passing breeze

  11. fingsaint says :

    Hafta crash, enjoy

    Night x

  12. xenium1 says :

    Rugger, eh? πŸ™‚

  13. justamentalpatient says :

    That was a pleasant surprise, eh, xen?

  14. interiorbc says :

    Lovely banner fings, beautiful colour!

    Bill, years ago I was driving through the Okanagan on a very busy highway when I saw a family of ducks in the middle of the road…at great risk to everyone, we all swerved and stopped on a six lane highway, 90 km speed limit, to let them cross safely.
    Stupid? yes,but no one wanted to be the one to hit mum / ducklings. Must have been a good dozen of them.

  15. interiorbc says :

    This happens quite frequently in Vancouver, geese on the Stanley Park Causeway, which leads to and from downtown to the North Shore, via the Lions Gate Bridge:

  16. xenium1 says :

    Aye, Justa. And there’s gey few o them when ye’r Scottish… πŸ˜‰

  17. interiorbc says :

    I clicked on this pic and it went to the story of the Great Dismal Swamp in the US, interesting story of the swamp and their civil war aka the war between the states.
    Hopefully this works for you lot.

    http://www.google.ca/url?sa=i&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=images&cd=&ved=0ahUKEwi185iW2qvSAhVO52MKHZp5BiEQjRwIBw&url=http%3A%2F%2Fthomaslegion.net%2Fthegreatdismalswampandtheamericancivilwar.html&psig=AFQjCNHFZXUDgxuzm0Cscr8wHyF73tU2Yg&ust=1488127471983351

  18. interiorbc says :

    …or maybe not…

  19. interiorbc says :

    with the Academy Awards on tomorrow…a clip of the late, great David Niven:

  20. xenium1 says :

    Am looking forward to the liberal elite getting stuck into the POTUS. Though Sean says Donald’s not gonna watch the ceremony. Coward…

  21. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Evening All

    Doesn’t look dismal, Fings, looks v pretty indeed. Quiet here, innit? Was it the rugby?

  22. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    And reading back yesterday, Happy Birthday to the Watch and good luck on the birthday weekend to Clocks.

  23. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    I fell over (well , I didn’t really fall over, my sodding buggering legs went on me again but the outcome was the same, there I was on the floor) and hurt my head and arm then went on a bit of a downer cos a bit fed up of not very wellness. Anyhouses, I already had an appointment for Mr G’s clinic for Monday so I can talk to them and see if we can find out what’s going on.

    Inty, there’s a place in Yorkshire, can’t remember where it is now but can point you to it on Facebook should we ever meet on Facebook, where a duck waits patiently with her brood by the pelican crossing (there are no pelicans involved, it’s just what a crossing of that kind is called here) for someone to press the button and the green man to light up and then leads all her little ducklings across. How clever is that? πŸ™‚

  24. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    I bought a thing that attaches to a thing but the thing broke so I bought a further attachable thing but that broke too so I emailed the company and said words to the effect of “I am not asking for a free thing, I just want to make you aware that your thing of this description keeps breaking, I shall probably order another one but all the other attachments are fine, it’s just this one, can you please have a look at it?” and they emailed me back and said “we would like to send you, free of charge, a more robust [and more expensive alternative to the] thing” and it arrived today. πŸ™‚

  25. interiorbc says :

    Oh that falling over can be a problem 51,you take it easy.
    I will be worried about you.

    Clever duckie story,and I like the outcome of your ‘thing’ story too.

    Yes, I think it was the rugby…

    πŸ™‚

  26. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Well, I think we faller-overers should stick together, Inty. πŸ˜‰ How’s the ribs/wrist, btw?

  27. justamentalpatient says :

    The last gf didn’t believe that I get the wobblies and can fall over when I can’t see.
    Git turned the bedroom light off. Didn’t do it again.

    Scotland not going to get the wooden spoon this year!

  28. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Oh, I can’t bring myself to walk forward when I can’t see, Justa, nope, rooted where I am. This was just a fully collapsible leg situation. Think one of those umbrellas that opens/closes with a press of the button. Well, somewhere I must have a “close” button.

    And btw, we is not mentioning Scotland here (sorry, Xen). πŸ˜‰ x

  29. interiorbc says :

    Three of us are in there together, I absolutely hate it when I can’t see in the dark.
    Injuries getting better, touch wood, thanks.

  30. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Ha, a great 3 bwitches we make, all not good with darkness. How do we stand with eye of toad and wing of bat? πŸ™‚

  31. justamentalpatient says :

    More a case of no balance for muggins, gals. Even when I can see it’s not great. Hence no longer a biker.

    Vicarious pleasure tomorrow, fiddy?

    Glad to hear you are healing, inty.

  32. justamentalpatient says :

    I prescribe new legs, fiddy bwitch. You can have mine, if you want.

  33. interiorbc says :

    good with eye of toad and wing of bat, lol!

  34. interiorbc says :

    what will you do justa? get a golf cart? a broom?
    πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  35. justamentalpatient says :

    Only little. A dustpan and brush will do!

  36. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Justa, must really, really take care of your eyes if they are what balance you. x

    Think England will trounce Italy tomorrow, Justa. I was born in England and have a lot of happy memories and reinforced by my trip back to Yorkshire but I chose to live in Wales and love it, it is always the little brother but with a much better nature (I mean since devolution, it has been less unkind to the dispossessed, I mean a million things ….). If I can avoid ever living in England again, I will, but I don’t hate it. Thing about rugby is, it is a v good natured game so long as you’re not on the pitch. πŸ˜‰ x

    Inty, the ribs might be a bugger for a long time so be gentle with yourself (you know how we, of a certain age and post childbirth, have to ready ourself for a sneeze? Well, for other rib-popping reasons ready for yourself for a cough). x

  37. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    But yours are as wilbbly as mine, Justa. Luff ya though for offering. x πŸ˜‰ x

  38. justamentalpatient says :

    The legs are fine (in fact, they’re pretty damn good, if I say so myself) it’s the brain that is didged.

    You’re not having my bum, though. My bum is bally lovely! πŸ˜‰

  39. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    I’m not entirely happy with eye of anything, if I’m honest and then we’d have a blind toad that might fall over, And bats, well, they need both theirs. Wings, that is, they’re really good in the night except for one I met. Remember, I am the one got hit in the head by one whose radar was not quite right that night. But I love them flying around here, they eat the night bugs, ok, I like moths too but a moth is like a Sunday dinner to a bat, mostly they eat littler things that bite me. A one-winged bat, surely ever decreasing circles?

  40. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    My bum is pretty reliable, Justa, I’m happy with my bum. πŸ˜‰

  41. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    If it flapped it the other way, though, it could be ever increasing circles. Or just circles.

  42. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Oh, ^the 1-winged bat, not my bum^.

  43. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Cushioned, Justa, just cushioned, which given collapsible legs is not a bad thing. πŸ˜‰ x

  44. justamentalpatient says :

    Time for this tired puppy to log off.

    G’night lovely people

