Thursday 23.2.17

44 responses to “Thursday 23.2.17”

  1. emmachisset says :

    “Do NOT go out! Drivers are warned to stay at home as Storm Doris moves in…”

    who says the Mail’s always wrong, that’s looking excellent advice to me.

  2. xenium1 says :

    Sleet & icy cold wind here. Hello, Doris… 😦

    Morning…

  3. emmachisset says :

    morning, ’tis a bit breezy here, but not the 45mph the beeb weather is saying we should have.

  4. Bill says :

    I shall stay in.

  5. Bill says :

    Defo getting a bit blustery. A leaf just blew across the front lawn.

  6. JamesFrance says :

    Mornin’ Fings, that’s a fine yellow picture there. I like to think it’s summer haze, reflecting balmy asiatic climes, and no pollution outside Shanghai. Optimism πŸ™‚

    Hey Bill, statying in is in fashion, you fashionable person.

    Emms, ta for the brake things there, the stupid brakes are all adjusted and still barely work I’m in for an interesting freewheeling trip down the steep hill just next door, though I’ll probably take the bus down and miss the exciting mortal danger of whizzing down the steep hill with not much in the way of brakes.

    Justy, I think we have a neat and tidy mutual appreciation society going here, and that’s the sort of society we want, so all’s well there πŸ™‚

    I hardly need need mention all other here, absent or present, are also members.
    But this society member better go away and work on this report what’s due next week. Heigh ho.

  7. Bill says :

    When I adopted Richard Ingrams as my style guru, I knew I’d always be on the bleeding edge.

  8. Bill says :

    Chaos created by storm Doris from the Daily Mail:

  9. xenium1 says :

    Fake news! That’s so obviously a set-up. I’m surprised they didn’t include “a child’s doll”…

  10. brusselsexpats says :

    Afternoon all,

    I nearly got blown off my feet this morning when I went to the Quack and it’s freezing. Got a lousy bug, shivering, running temperature and appetite gone. Plus rattling with medication. So long as I’m OK for next week’s trip I don’t care.

    Off to bed with a hot water bottle and a trashy chicklit novel.

    Keep warm and keep safe.

  11. fingsaint says :

    Wild weather? Keep safe and protect your bunnies.

    Great segue …. walking with the dawg yesterday we encountered escaped floppy eared rabbits gallumping about as bunnies do. They were in the local park and obviously too exotic looking to be feral. Luckily for them I spotted them before I’d let dogfing off leash. She was v excited when she did spot them *pull bark tail-wag on fast repeat*

    I tied her up and went to investigate at the house nearest to the park. Let myself into their high fenced front yard and noticed, not far from the chook shed, that they had a rabbit hutch and enclosed rabbit run adjoining the garden fence and sure enough the bunnies had burrowed their way under the fence to pastures new.

    No one was at home so the best I could manage was to go back to the park and shoo them back to the fence and the safety of their burrow.

    We carried on as normal with our walk after dogfing had a good snuffle around where they’d foraged minutes earlier.

    🐰🐰🐢🐰

  12. justamentalpatient says :

    fings the bunny rescuer!

    Just had my PIP assessment.

    A fence panel is down.

  13. Paul says :

    Hope you feel better soon Bru

    And hope you’re keeping your lady garden watered in that terrible heat Fings.I’ve heard all about bush fires down under .

  14. Paul says :

    ”Storm Doris” is still blowing away outside.Some of the sounds it’s generating around our block are actually quite spooky.especially in the communal hallway.Thankfully the roof hasn’t blown off and the token tree in the front of the block-which survived the blitz incidentally-is still standing.

    So far public transport seems to be running normally so i’m assuming ”Doris” isn’t producing the wrong sort of wind.

    Hope any bewigged Chundies haven’t suffered the embarassment of having their rugs blown away.

  15. Paul says :

    I’ve just had a worrying thought.Hasn’t our Sleeps gone off for a jaunt in the Chow Camper Van ?

    Hope she’s securely fastened wherever she’s gone .

  16. emmachisset says :

    hiya guys and gals,

    James, how’s the bike,

    i was thinking, if it’s a cable system it might just be that the cable needs tightening, ie more tension on it?

    they stretch and get slack, and do it repeatedly.

  17. emmachisset says :

    It was the immigrants that knocked the chairs over! FACT.

  18. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Evening All

    Well, here Doris arrived last night and was a bit noisy, then today blew some wheelie-bins into the road – inc mine – and moved my neighbour’s patio furniture a whole 3 feet, didn’t upturn it, though so I’m inclined to agree that pic above is staged. πŸ˜‰

    Best with it, Justa. x

  19. justamentalpatient says :

    Wind sends dogs (and children) wampy. It’s been windy.

    Wampy dogs and Capita in the flat. S was brilliant. Poor sod assessing probably thought they were in a ruddy tornado!

    Doris should put my fence back up, but I doubt she will.

  20. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Clearly sending my broadband a bit wampy too, Justa, it is, shall we say, intermittent. 😦

    Oh, and it’s back! πŸ™‚

  21. JamesFrance says :

    Evenin’ all ! This wild and windy weather you’re talking of reminds me of …

    “Wild and windy thing
    I dum de dum, I loved you, I hated you
    Over something lala
    wail wail, haha
    Wuuthring wutherin wuthering height
    Keithley, it’s mee-ee Kathy, I’m home
    Um um ah ah”

    Pardon me, Kate Bush, but that’s how I remember it, from when I was … the clichΓ©d 14 year old watching this ’round me mates house (we didn’t have t’telly, dad wouldn’t have it in’t home).

    Mind you, I think K. Bush is excellent, but can’t bear that Keithley song now. Well .. “can’t bear” is a bit strong. I don’t think it’s up to much.

    The other song that comes to mind “Wild Thing”, by Jimmy himself (not his best either, I reckon – that might be All along the watchtower) :

  22. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Evening James, it was “Heathcliffe” but as it happens, there is a place in Yorkshire (whence Wuthering Heights, name of song, name of book, was set) that’s called Keighley but pronounced Keithley, and so it all comes round …. πŸ˜‰

  23. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    PS: I had one of those fathers too, however he left in 1974 so whilst I missed out on the Beatles and shivered through early David Bowie (we were allowed a record player in the garage, set away from the house) by the time punk came around we had a stereo and a little cassette recorder. πŸ™‚

  24. JamesFrance says :

    OK, Ok, Wild Thing was great.

    But this next song, I’m fairly sure Pope Benedict says “None of this Voodoo Child thing, not before marriage”. Here’s The Jimmy Hendrix Experience at the Lulu Show, Voodo Child:

    Lulu pops up in the middle, but that’s ok too. She says “that’s really nice” πŸ™‚

  25. JamesFrance says :

    Fifty, I couldn’t quite remember the real name, but I knew it wasn’t “Keithley”.
    This is the name of a famous manufacturer of amplifiers for scientific applications, and it tickled me to imagine Kate Bush singing “Kiethley” πŸ™‚

    Beautiful pieces of kit – it wouldn’t surprise me at all to hear Kate singing to them πŸ™‚

  26. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    I rather liked the Keighley/Keithley coincidence, James. πŸ™‚

  27. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    And, for want of anything else to be doing, decided to AA route map it and Keighley is only 4.2 miles from Haworth, Bronte-land, so you don’t know how close you were! (I do like coincidences.) πŸ™‚

  28. JamesFrance says :

    I think one or two science and engineering students might even chuckle at that one, Fifty: “Keithley, it’s me-ee, Cathy-ee !”

  29. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Sounds like Doris has gone, from here anyway but she’s left it quite chilly. Facebook is awash with the odd garden chair going over but there was quite a bit of damage and one death so she meant business. She was a “weatherbomb”, apparently, I thought she was a storm. Brand new word, wonder if it will make it into the OED as this year’s word?

  30. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Totally lost in a Yorkshire site on Facebook now. When you were a child, what did you call sweets? To me and big bro they were “spogs”, to my parents and grandparents they were “spice”. Never lived outside the UK and love our dialects, there are Yorkshire words that you just never, ever hear anywhere else but my Mum still uses them and I know what they mean. πŸ™‚

  31. Tybo says :

    No Doris here. I would scoff. In fact I am very tempted to scoff because usually, when we get serious wind up here the G is full of dickheads going on about how it is hardly newsworthy that there is a bit of a blow.

    But one of the scariest times I have been in wind and not up a mountain was in Kentish Town about ten years ago and I doubt if the gusts were much above 60 mph. But it was scary because of all the loosely attached signs on shops.

    A year or so ago we had 112 mph winds and it was pretty scary, but 70- 80 isn’t because no shops here have dangly signs that can blow away. The power goes pretty regularly but only for half an hour usually because that is how long it takes to wind up the local power station at battery point and the power has generally gone because of lightning strikes on the mainland.

  32. Tybo says :

    Kate Bush, btw James has completely besmired herself in shit by going on about how much she admires Theresa May.

    Even my friend C who is not so much a Kate Bush lover as a Kate Bush stalker and who has sent me several CDs with the quite unlistenable “washing machine” on in an attempt to bully me into joining the cult has been seriously taken aback.

    http://www.telegraph.co.uk/music/news/kate-bush-theresa-may-wonderful-best-thing-happened-us-long/

  33. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Tybes I remember mid-70s and ok I was quite slight but literally getting blown down the street – now, now, boyz, I is a girl, I meant by the wind! Having to hang on to a lamp post, one of those rough concrete and pebble ones and getting my arm quite badly ripped open. I was about 14 I reckon so 1975-ish?

    No, don’t care for Kate Bush other than Wuthering Heights, I liked that, it was different when we liked different. Oh, The Man with the Child in his Eyes too. Theresa May lover? Eek!

  34. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Does anyone else understand “nesh”? It’s Yorkshire for soft in cold weather and I still flipping use it, not lived there for 30-odd years. Tybes, you are excluded in this, given your northern exposure, I would not suspect you are at all. πŸ˜‰ x

  35. Paul says :

    the G is full of dickheads going on about how it is hardly newsworthy that there is a bit of a blow.

    .

    Hi Tybo

    You’re just jealous that ”Doris” didn’t give you a good blow.G’wan admit it πŸ™‚

  36. Paul says :

    On the subject of blowing the following is a tune i used to sing during my catholic childhood.I was quite the innocent.

  37. Paul says :

    ps,it was much more up tempo when we sung it.I think the performers here are on prozac.

  38. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    I love that your island’s emergency power station is called “Battery Point”, Tybes. I have a gazillion candles hanging around my house, all in nice little glass housings so safe. I should be called Candle Point if ever Pontypool needs me. πŸ˜‰

  39. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    I had a little fall on Tuesday (which was why I wasn’t here on Wednesday) and by “little fall” I mean entire and unforeseen leg collapse. Happened about 5 times now since the chemo, fed up with it. And unless I have a blue badge – which I don’t – I have park ages away for Monday’s appointment and walk if I can. Bollocks.

    And Labour holds Stoke.

  40. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    And yes for those who previously attacked me, I could ask the Welsh Ambulance Services’ wonderful volunteer drivers to pick me up but you know, not only do I love driving my little Polo, there are 2 other reasons I won’t: 1 I can really now drive myself and a lot of the people I met when they ferried me might never again, and fabulous as that service is, I know what time I need to leave and I can come straight home, no waiting on either leg. So long as I can get across Cardiff Road! πŸ˜‰

  41. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Copeland: Shit, it went tory!

  42. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Well, if this is the first site you sign in to, you heard it here first. folks(and if not, not) πŸ˜‰

  43. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    I am v cross at myself for not getting better, you might have noted. Sorry about that, I know they all did their best. My left breast is like v painful building rubble after 2 ops and all the rest, I don’t know now if I made the right decision to go for WLE x 2 and not mastectomy. Although my lovely chemo buddy said she cried so much at the pain of mastectomy (although she did have double and reconstruction and 4 drains).

    It’s a right bastard.

