Friday 27.1.17

reef

82 responses to “Friday 27.1.17”

  1. emmachisset says :

    .

  2. emmachisset says :

    ha, πŸ™‚

  3. interiorbc says :

    http://www.brucecameron.com/books/a-dog-s-purpose

    “a dogs purpose sm 52 Weeks a New York Times Bestseller! This novel, told from a dog’s perspective, has the highest reader-ranking of any recent New York …”

  4. NuitsdeYoung says :

    Clocks, Inty: the Uni doesn’t offer permanent contracts any more; this says open-ended, but funding only guaranteed until end of April next year.

    Inty: that hot choc with marshmallows is what is known to my gang in St As as a “Gavin Special”. He’s partial to them as a treat. Unfortunately, one attacked me once and ruined a burgundy velvet dress. It was plonked down a tad too vigorously on the table by a waiter and erupted its molten marshmallowness on to me. I cleaned off the marshmallow gunk as best as i could, but the texture of the fabric didn’t recover.

    Never trust a marshmallow.

  5. justamentalpatient says :

    Last Leg on 4 at 10.

    Whoop, whoop!

  6. interiorbc says :

    oh silly waiter, velvet never recovers…”never trust a marshmallow” lol.

    oh btw all, A Dog’s Purpose is not Beowulf, so if you are looking for deep reading, don’t go there.
    But it is touching.

  7. emmachisset says :

    evening all,

    Sleeps,

    yes, they’re amazing, – here’s a better (?) one,

    ” It’s gone right through their fucking house “.

  8. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Evening All

    Justa, I had to read “A Handmaid’s Tale” for my Access Course Eng Lit, thought I’d hate it, not my genre, couldn’t put it down. Fab book, lousy fillum, though.

  9. justamentalpatient says :

    I’ve been wanting to read it for a while. Got a couple of her other books.
    Current political climate spurred me to purchase it.

    Which is impressive as I usually forget what I was after upon entering a bookshop and go into kid in a sweetshop mode.

  10. xenium1 says :

    To the pub! πŸ™‚

    Hope all are as well as can be…

  11. xenium1 says :

    Emms, I’ve just spent a few seconds trying to wipe your dot off my phone’s screen. Doh!

  12. JamesFrance says :

    Evenin’ all !

    I finished “The day of the Locust”, Nathanael West. The whelming is not very high there (that I borrow and adapt from that Scottish actor on QI the other day, Ronni Ancona).

    It’s not great, is what I’m conveying here. It’s a confused thing which ends in greater confusion. And it’s not very wholesome either, and if I sound like that Telly woman crusader (what was her name?), well, that’s the way it is.

    Don’t bother, is my advice.

    It started out fairly well, but got bogged down in a morass of nothing very much. The best bits might be him walking through film sets, but that’s not up to much.

    Here’s Teh Graun’s review from some time ago.

  13. JamesFrance says :

    Right, now I’m off to watch “The Man in the High Castle”: a excellent book, by that find spaced out californian Phillip K. Dick.

  14. NuitsdeYoung says :

    Recently got and am enjoying David Bellos’ The Novel of the Century. Fascinating.

  15. Sleepychow says :

    All good here:

    Injection in bum, clips out, catherer out. Not much leakage due to strong pelvic floor exercises beforehand.
    Hurrah. All paying off now.

    G so smiley and much more able to walk so he’s been doing a little too much.
    We made it to the cheap Greek but I advised G to come home after that. He didn’t disagree.

    Now watching 4 Lions: Rather funny.

  16. Sleepychow says :

    Lookit us, being all fillumy n that.

  17. Sleepychow says :

    Good news, TD.
    Keep on keepin’ on.
    x

  18. xenium1 says :

    Fillumy?

    Arthur Askey in The Ghost Train. Class… πŸ˜‰

  19. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    V good Last Leg so far.

    V good news on the G front, Sleeps.

    Best to Tiger and Nuits on the jobs front.

  20. interiorbc says :

    best wishes to everyone – there, that’s sorted.
    Off tomorrow.
    xox

  21. xenium1 says :

    Ha! Have those pesky Brexiteers voted for the worst possible Eurovision entry?

    We don’t want no part of your foreign songfest! πŸ˜‰

  22. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Ha, didn’t think of that, Inty. I mean, I was going for the personal touch. Happy day off to you. x πŸ˜‰ x

  23. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Xen, I like music, I can’t bring myself to Eurovision. πŸ˜‰

  24. xenium1 says :

    And to think we could have had Nige & Don singing “Islands In The Stream”… πŸ™‚

  25. xenium1 says :

    “From one lover to another, uh huh…”

  26. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Or, given today’s meeting, the don singing “I wanna hold your hand”, “Lady in red”, the rest of us “End of the world” ….

  27. xenium1 says :

    51, I’ve avoided the news today ‘cos I don’t like poodles. And I don’t like really stupid men with no sense of how thick they are… πŸ˜‰

  28. xenium1 says :

    Nn, anyhoo… x

  29. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Fading fast, nn lovely et al. x

  30. NuitsdeYoung says :

    Night-night.
    I don’t think I give a damn about the ‘real world’ any more, outside immediate family, friends and people in the same fandoms/fields of study.

  31. GrandpasBarn says :

    A bit late (perhaps someone in admin can repost it on tomorrows thread) RIP John Hurt

