Sunday 22.1.17

043.JPG

Our absolutely lovely, but dishevelled, room in a riad in Marrakech …

so long ago but still alive in the smells we took home in the form of soap-stone like things we’re still not sure how to use.

The reflective shoes on the left being G’s running shoes; the shoes next to them being my  (then) brand new approach shoes with pink stripey socks atop which I subsequently gave to H (and which she still loves to mix n match with blue stripey ones).

On the left stool is the fez (still, at this point, in the protective packaging) that G convinced me he “needed” for his bad hat collection.

H wanted us to get a camel for her … there it is, on the table to the left just on front of the Golden Virginia and lighter we no longer use.

Bottom right on the table is a fabulous hand-painted ashtray from and depicting Essaouira (which sits in a dispay cabinet and still stinks of faggage to this day).

(Plus, I so wanted to steal that colourful bedspread.)

89 responses to “Sunday 22.1.17”

  1. Paul says :

    Some funk for you James

  2. neartheclocktower says :

    Sleeps, glad to hear the swelling has gone down and G got out and about a bit. If it’s something that responds to exercise that will have done the world of good.

  3. Paul says :

    Did Sleeps given G a swelling already ?

    How long did it take to go down Sleeps ?

  4. Paul says :

    What’s in that silver flask Sleeps ?

  5. Paul says :

    Hope things are settling down for you Clocks.

  6. neartheclocktower says :

    Hey, did I tell you about my dream the other night?

    I was contracted to be Prince’s (the dead singer, not royalty) PA on a short visit to London. He was doing some secret gigs which were taken care of by music people but he also needed someone to accompany him shopping and the like. So he was brought to me from the airport and he looked me up and down and said ‘I don’t need a PA. I need a friend. You’re gonna be my friend.’ In that sexy voice of his.

    So we went to a few shops and he bought a few purple things. He was wearing ordinary clothes, no makeup and his hair was a mess so he wasn’t much recognised, more double takes. He had heels on but was still a little shorter than me.

    Then he declared himself bored of shopping, made a phone call and next thing we were in an open top sports car (sadly not a little red corvette). He drove us across London (which he evidently knew well) and parked up at a small 2 star hotel with an ordinary public bar. We walked in and the regulars looked up and said hello to him, then carried on with what they were doing. We sat in a leatherette booth and the landlady, swelling with excitement, asked what he wanted. He ordered a pot of tea, I asked for tea too, and we sat drinking tea and chatting about inconsequential things.

    Then I woke up…

  7. neartheclocktower says :

    Thanks Paul, we’re slowly getting better. I haven’t coughed for a few hours now!

  8. Paul says :

    One for Clocks and Prince 🙂

  9. Paul says :

    Glad you’re on the mend Clocks.

  10. Paul says :

    The President of the USA as you’ve never seen him before and won’t want to see him again after..

    https://lasvegasportfolio.com/2016/09/24/life-is-beautiful-with-naked-donald-trump/donald-trump-naked-life-

  11. NuitsdeYoung says :

    I managed to make my old friend Lisa to say she needed to bleach her brain yesterday, after telling her that I had visions of any Trump/Putin summit going à la mode d’Oliver Reed and Alan Bates in ‘Women in Love’…

  12. neartheclocktower says :

    I am not falling for it, Paul. No way 😉

  13. justamentalpatient says :

    OMD, nuits.

    Wanna puke

  14. neartheclocktower says :

    Nuits, just no.

  15. neartheclocktower says :

    Just watched the first two episodes of Lemony Snicket en famille. It’s not often all three of us enjoy something so much. Highly recommended. H might enjoy it.

  16. JamesFrance says :

    Hey Paul, good sounds 🙂 A bit late that, ‘cos of this and that.

  17. neartheclocktower says :

    nn all

  18. Sleepychow says :

    Lovely dream story, Clocks.

  19. Sleepychow says :

    I’ve heard of Lemony Snicket but …

    Hope all’s more peaceful chez Clocks and T is doing okay.
    Again, bless ex SiL.

    Not knowing MiL’s plans and thinking there may be a hostipal visit tomorrow she booked train tickets for Tuesday noon.

    I don’t know if she already had a ticket for travel tomorrow (I think so) but a few things got lost in communication. I feel a bit bad, assuming she could collect H from school tomorrow if needs be … there are others offering help but I think she felt it would be easier if she could just be here.

    It’s easier for me. I don’t want her to go. But it’s not that realistic.
    I have no idea if she’s missing something she had planned to do tomorrow or if she’s just lost cash.

    All sorted now so no point in asking … I apologised profusely at the time and so know I can do apology overload so I resisted takling about it further.

  20. Sleepychow says :

    Got most of H’s hair done today. More tomorrow.

    Did “cooking” and it was small but acceptable. Washing up faeries helped afterwards.

    H has now seen G’s catheter bag and asked questions … all answered appropriately in child-language and she’s fine. She’s seen vids of the robot making paper aeroplanes too and prolly thinks G has origami inside him now.

    Oh, that machine’s so cool. I saw a vid of it playing the game Operation.
    Ha.

  21. Sleepychow says :

    ” takling” ?

    talking

  22. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Good to hear G’s up to a little walk Sleeps. Your MiL sounds fab, I’m sure she’s fine with changing any plans she had if it helps you, G and H.

  23. Sleepychow says :

    G’s stomach wounds are doing fabulously.

    Staples/clips and catheter out on Friday.
    Another yellow request form for me for more time off work though … An hour later would’ve been ideal. Might see if they can change it … Doubtful.

  24. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    I’ve gone all topsy-turvy. Got home this afternoon, got jim-jammed up, thought “it’s a shame to waste the jim-jams, I’m tired, I’ll go to bed for an hour”. So, waking up I had no idea what time it was or even what day. Was it getting dark or beginning to get light? Proper head fuddle for a minute. Then I remembered there’s a clock the other side of the bed. 😉

  25. Sleepychow says :

    She is a MiL and friend +++, 51.
    What a boon.

    “I’m sure she’s fine with changing any plans she had if it helps you, G and H.”

    Yes, she’d drop anything at a mere and slight hint but I’m not sure she’ll be needed in the way I was trying to pre-empt (sp?) without consultation/conversation.

    I would like her to stay until Friday but she does have a beautifully busy life.

  26. Sleepychow says :

    Aye but does the clock tell you it’s a.m. or p.m.?

    Can be confusing if it just says 6:00.

  27. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    They might, Sleeps, my clinics were v flexible, give your Ace Nurse a call.

  28. Sleepychow says :

    Bedtime.

    NN

    xxx

  29. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Aahh, it said 17 something so I thought “What am I doing in bed at 17 something?”, then I remembered. x

  30. justamentalpatient says :

    Opposite problem here. lack of 24hrage on the clock by my bed has caused problems several times.

    Mrning, afternoon, what?

  31. fingsaint says :

    @Bill’s 1.26pm

    jolly good 🙂

