Thursday 5.1.17

Photo by Klaus Pichler

90 responses to “Thursday 5.1.17”

  1. Tybo says :

    From Wikipedia on Jackie Pallo:

    “he revealed the secrets of the wrestling entertainment business (including referees carrying razor blades to nick fighters’ earlobes in order to produce the necessary blood to satisfy the bloodlust of the frenzied crowd of mostly elderly women ”

    That would be right and included my extremely staid, almost Victorian grandmother.

  2. emmachisset says :

    51,

    hi, the puff in the eye thing is a cheap bit of kit, at the hospital they do it properly.

    one time at the opticians the puff thing said that my eyeball pressures were super high, she was about to send me straight to hospital, when she discovered the machine was cacked, – my pressures were normal πŸ™‚

  3. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Nice when they tell you things have got better, innit Cyan? One year I had to do the “lights on a green background” test twice on one eye but this year, gold star material! πŸ™‚

    They did tell me outright not to drive without my distance glasses; I thought “I don’t even walk around without my distance glasses”. I got a pair of distance sunglasses for half price on the “2 for 1” btw.

  4. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Aahh, that might explain why I had “raised pressure” once and only once, Emms. There’s glaucoma on both sides of my family, a parent of each of my parents so when there was “raised pressure” one year, they said I had to go every year instead of every 2. Still have to, though, now I’m on a certain medication.

    Tybes, don’t forget Brian Glover, a fascinating character, former grammar school boy who began wrestling professionally whilst a student at Sheffland University and carried on whilst also being a teacher.

  5. emmachisset says :

    hiya cyan,

    how’s your chest thing, all better ?

    I was told about the sun thing re cataracts ( by the doc ), makes me wonder why everyone in the middle east etc doesn’t get them? maybe they do.

    I had one fixed ( the other’s only 10% of the way towards qualifying ). Rather odd as the surgeon said that most people notice that the cataract spoils their vision of blue colours most,

    but for me blue stayed much the same in both eyes, it was more like a brownwash, making everything look drab and dully brown. Afterwards, It was a bit like wearing specs for the first time, ie hadn’t realised how bad it was, until it got fixed.

  6. Tybo says :

    Brian Glover was great, but I don’t remember him from the ITV all in wrestling on the telly

    Actually, the only people I remember are Mick Macmanus, Les Kellet, Jackie Pallo, Johnnie Kwango and Kendo Nagasaki.

    No doubt more will come back to me but those are the only names that I can think of at the moment.

  7. Tybo says :

    Mick Macmanus, the arch villain, I discover was only five foot six, collected porcelain and became an expert in it and was so happily married that he died shortly after his wife, in a retirement home, refusing to eat.

    You could not make some things up.

  8. emmachisset says :

    have you forgotten this guy tybo, the biggest haystack of all

  9. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    And Big Daddy, Tybes.

  10. emmachisset says :

    I guess he didn#t give up the dayjob…

  11. Tybo says :

    That was after my time, Emma.

  12. emmachisset says :

    not that i’m trying to worry you 51 but you can get ‘normal pressure glaucoma ‘ too, there’s several types of it, not all caused by high pressure.

  13. Tybo says :

    Big Daddy might have been around under the name Shirley Crabtree, but I can’t say I remember him. Apparantly he quit in 1966 after a campaign of harrasment by Bert Assirati, who sounds completely terrifying.

  14. xenium1 says :

    Ha ha ha.

    Eh? No, really.

    G’night…

  15. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Yes, when I googled him Tybes, late 50s to mid 60s under the name “Blond Adonis Shirley Crabtree”, retirement for 6 years or so then came out of retirement early 70s. But still wrestling in the 1990s!

    Emms now I’m on Tamoxifen I have to go every year anyway so I reckon they’ve got their eyes on my errm, eyes. πŸ˜‰

  16. Tybo says :

    So how is the weather in Wales, fifty? Cold and blowy here but they claim warmer air is on the way

  17. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    V cold today Tybes, I try to park where when the sun comes up it melts the frost on the windscreen. De-icer needed this morning but the rest of the day sunny which means in my house if I get home while it’s still up, I still don’t need heating. But it’s on tonight. But no snow so far, snow’s the bugger up here, it’s all downhill for a few miles in quite a steep way.

    *closes eyes and hopes to not to have jinxed anything*

    Prob not as cold here as it is there, though. Yes, warmer air on its way but it’ll bring rain to us at least.

    Ooh, did you get your x**s sprouts?

  18. Tybo says :

    I got some but they weren’t great. I like to get them on the stalk but there were none to be had. I did get some in Tescos just before Christmas but they were a bit elderly.

  19. emmachisset says :

    i got some lidl sprouts,

    bit of a con, as they come in a bag, didn’t notice how small they all were, by the time the bad outer leaves had been peeled there wasn’t much left.

  20. emmachisset says :

    I roasted them, for the lst time, might have been someone here that recommended, v nice πŸ™‚

  21. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Can’t imagine living on an island where supplies can be disrupted so easily. What happens if you get ill, is it a mainland trip? I mean to consultants, etc. I did a couple of cities though over x**s/new year and before and thought “how did I ever live in a place like this?”, so think I landed up in a nice “middle ground”.

  22. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Ooh, never heard of roasted sprouts, Emms. I’ve had them finished off fried with a bit of bacon and chestnuts but I like them as they come. Well, boiled for a bit, obvs.

  23. Bill0 says :

    We start cooking our X**s lunch sprouts in early November.

  24. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Hope you noticed the v important comma ^up there^. “Well, boiled”, not “well boiled”. As you like it, though, Bill. πŸ˜‰

  25. neartheclocktower says :

    Well, happy Kings night all

    The pressies are wrapped, except the guitar which is the big pressie this year. Mr has been asleep for about 3hrs, the watch has gone to bed so I’ll move the pressies into the living room soon when I think she’s asleep.

    It’s a tough life being Father Christmas and Three Kings. I need a holiday!

  26. neartheclocktower says :

    I like the sound of roasted sprouts, emms. I’ve heard of them deep fried too, but not tried them yet.

    The only festive food we still have to have is the Kings’ cake. Hopefully will have lots of candied fruit in it.

  27. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Hiya, Clocks. So, did you give x**s pressies at x**s and you get more now, or just small to none on “the day”?

    Hope all’s good with you all, btw. x

  28. justamentalpatient says :

    How are you doing, clocks?

  29. neartheclocktower says :

    51, it depends. This year the main pressie is a guitar so she’s getting it tonight as we wouldn’t have taken it to England. Usually we spread it out so she’s not disappointed on either day. Her friends here tend to get clothes or pyjamas for Christmas and then bigger pressies tonight.

    I’m very well, thanks for asking. Will probably bore you with the whole story soon. Hope you’re well too. x

  30. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Any time you’re ready, Clocks. But glad you got sorted and are ok now. And I’m fine, thanks. Still waiting for my chicken fillet. πŸ˜‰

  31. neartheclocktower says :

    I love this moment, when the pressies are all in place. I know that even if she gets up for the loo she won’t peek. She loves the surprise.

  32. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Blimey, though, it was hard enough to hide the kids’ presents up until x**s. Do you have a wardrobe that opens in Narnia?

  33. neartheclocktower says :

    It was a very daft thing that happened. I fell out of bed on Christmas day morning, smaller bed than I’m used to and banged my head on the door. Got a big lump and then three days later there were massive bruises around my eyes as well as the lump. Went to A and E in Macclesfield and they were lovely, but my INR (anticoagulant level) was way too high. The next morning the doctor I had seen rang to say he’d talked to colleagues and thought I should have a CAT scan to check for bleeding on the brain. So I went in again, had the scan which was fine, and the INR had gone down but still too high. Had to go to A and E in Sheffland on New Year’s Eve for another INR check, which was OK.

    So I spent much of my holiday checking out the NHS, which was absolutely wonderful.

  34. neartheclocktower says :

    51, we have an outside toilet (not used) where we hid the bike last year (shhhhhh, she has no idea).

    Small things I hide in my undies drawer which is way too icky for her to look in. πŸ™‚ Having a study full of random boxes means that a new one is not always noticed.

  35. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Sorry, had a little grin, Clocks. I went to Huddsland end of last year and for the first time in years, decades even, had to sleep in a single bed and a 2ft 6 single bed at that (Travelodge, don’t do it peeps but the Premier Inn was all booked up) and I moved it against the wall and then I put a chair next to it cos I thrash about all night and was bound to do that. Only other night I’ve spent in anything like that I was a bit hyper after going under a general anaesthetic that afternoon, which I always manage to come round from quickly and well so stayed awake all night whispering to a lovely staff nurse who I think (hope) was glad of the company.

    Well, at least you got an ongoing UK assessment of your levels as well as your Spanish ones. And fab that they recalled you. I tell people they do that kind of thing (my GP phoned me about once a month throughout chemo) and some don’t believe you. But there are the very best of them and we are lucky for that. xx

    Ffs, some twat’s just let off a massive firework, 11pm on a Thursday? Dogs (I don’t have any, the local ones) going bananas.

  36. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Chair next to bed, next time, Clocks, chair next to bed! My daughter would have been fine with “hiding things in plain sight”, Sunshine a bugger for rooting everything out. Bought daughter a violin once and booked some lessons, she’d asked, that was a mistake! But she was good on keyboard so I bought a guitar another year but no interest at all. She does science now.

  37. neartheclocktower says :

    Yes, I was so touched when the doctor called me back in. He didn’t need to – I was just a random passerby who doesn’t even live in the UK but he said he couldn’t stop thinking about my situation. A young doctor who is a real hero.

  38. neartheclocktower says :

    No space next to bed for chair 😦

    nn lovelies, will be up quite early in the morning for a serenade I expect.

  39. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Nn Clocks, hope you have a lovely day. x

