Tuesday, 3rd January 2017

93 responses to “Tuesday, 3rd January 2017”

  1. emmachisset says :

    if she’s left you a key, you could always get your free dinners from the freezer ? 🙂

  2. Tybo says :

    Yeah, but she has only put a couple of frozen ones in ready. That is not going to last me until March.

    No consideration, some people..

  3. Sleepychow says :

    “I spent the afternoon talking with a guy who has ADD”

    Exhausting.

  4. Sleepychow says :

    Aw Tybes, you poor thing – having to haul yourself to Spain for those home-cooked meals.
    :huge squink:

    Hope your Mum has a fantastic time.
    I imagine her zip-lining her way around every available attraction.
    :huge smilie:

  5. Sleepychow says :

    Hose/hoes.

    lol

  6. Sleepychow says :

    H’s alien baby was born today in the school’s disabled toilets.

    (No, do not call Interpol/Social Services/Surreal Services etc)

    She’s a very proud mother now.

  7. Tybo says :

    I hope she likes it, Sleeps. She is going to Fuengirola because she used to go there with my dad for the winter before he got too ill. That was too long ago for her to still know people but she is at least familiar with the place.

    Would not be my choice, but I hope she likes it. My sister (not that one that lives here, I have hundreds) is going with her for the first week and then I am going about ten days after my sister gets back.

  8. Sleepychow says :

    When we’re driving along, sometimes the sunlight hits the fuelometer in such a way that it looks like the car’s full of petrol.

    H spontaneously said “That makes it a solar powered car”.

    Clever child.

  9. Tybo says :

    “H’s alien baby was born today in the school’s disabled toilets.”

    Hum… OK….

  10. Sleepychow says :

    Fuengirola was a late 70’s, early 80’s classic.

    You have hundreds of sisters??!!

    Your poor mum …

  11. Tybo says :

    I am bitterly disappointed (though not exactly surprised) because I came up for a word to describe my mum today which was “googless” to rhyme with clueless as she refuses to even master a basic mobile.

    But when I checked it was already in the Urban Dictionary.

    Pah!

  12. Sleepychow says :

    Tybes,
    This sort of thing:

    https://www.allaboutpartybags.co.uk/giant-alien-egg-with-baby.html?gclid=Cj0KEQiAtK3DBRCBxt-Yxduq5p4BEiQAbFiaPQPrB9LMivaRO5UOHI8tV2CXCWO5gvmKkSf2ThuK1bQaAlsj8P8HAQ

    … and the disabled toilets at school is the designated “secret” meeting place for all the excited expectant mothers.

  13. Tybo says :

    Well, three anyway, and a sort of surrogate one.

    It was in the late 80s they started going there.

  14. Sleepychow says :

    I think H got this one for Xmas:

    https://www.amazon.co.uk/Ozbozz-SV5259-Alien-Birthpods/dp/B000F8VUH4/ref=pd_sim_201_1?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1&refRID=SS5Q4XKSSZ3TRMQ3377V

    She soooooooooooo wanted to give it a squeeze but knew it would give birth too soon. She kept it in the fridge on holimaday to slow down the process but people kept finding it and eeking.

  15. Tybo says :

    “Giant Alien Egg with Baby

    a squidgy alien baby in goo!

    brilliant fiddle toy

    assorted colours”

    Who could resist!

  16. Sleepychow says :

    I am promoting your cockerel word at every opportunity, Tybes.

  17. Sleepychow says :

    They feel totally disgusting, Tybes.

    Ew, ew and eeeeeewwwwwwwwww.

  18. Sleepychow says :

    Exploding Kittens, Tybo!

    You neeeeeeeeeeeed it!

    (Bit expensive but for hourly entertainment and larfs we’ve already had our money’s worth (not that we bought it).)

  19. Tybo says :

    Oh! BTW I am trying to write something set in the mid sixties from the point of view of a kid the age I was then (about 8) and one of the things it features is Civil War bubblegum cards.

    These were extremely gory card you got with bubble gum when all us horrible little boys used to collect despite the disapproval of adults. We especially desired ones like the one called “Painful Death” because of the blood.

    I know it was called Painful Death because there is the internet and some wonderful person has put all the cards on a site, so my vague memories have been ignited. http://www.bobheffner.com/cwn/front21.shtml

    Anyway, the alien baby thing reminded me that the girls had their own collecting and trading thing only IIRC it was all about jewellery, little plastic beads and rings and things.

    Anyone remember that?

  20. Sleepychow says :

    ” all about jewellery, little plastic beads and rings and things.”

    On the front of every pink magazine I reckon. I wasn’t a collector of tat so I don’t know.

  21. Sleepychow says :

    Anyhoos, I best be orf.

    CU later guys.
    x

  22. Tybo says :

    Bye sleeps.

    This was a bit before pink magazines. I think there was only things like Bunty and Jackie then

  23. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Evening All

    Tybes yes, there was a popper bead thing, you made necklaces and bracelets out of them, rings were a bit difficult, though, the beads were about (guessing here) 8mm in diameter so wouldn’t make a comfortable ring. The would have what would be know by adult engineer people as having male and female couplings and you created a link of them as long as you liked. But us kids just called them “popper beads” and if you wanted a different colour you just swapped with your friends.

    Rings, though, Twinkle comic (for girls), I def used to get that in the mid-60s, used to give one away almost every week. They were cheap tat, obvs, as Sleep suggests and almost always caused a run in your jumper/socks/whatevs. 🙂

  24. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Twinkle had Nurse Nancy, a little girl whose grandad ran a hospital for sick and injured toys. I loved Nurse Nancy, was my favourite. I’m going to google and nostalge. (Ok, “nostalge” is not a word, but I know what it means. 😉 )

  25. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    These are “poppit beads”, Tybes, although we called them “popper”. I think a slightly more grown up version of the kids’ ones, or it could just be that they’re arranged in a more grown up way (ie, each chain of them one colour, we mixed them up). And hoping that the photo works because the jpg in its link has a “?” after it and those often don’t work and Bill or Fings comes along and fixes it. 😉

  26. Tybo says :

    Just checked it out, Fifty. Twinkle was indeed going in the 60s but started in 68 which is a bit later than my period (I am not quite sure exactly when to set it but it is between August 65 and May 66).

    But I am sure that things like Twinkle with free plastic jewellery were cashing in on the craze for making and swapping jewellery.

    I don’t know where the girls got it from in 65 though. Even if Bunty had freebies it would not have been enough I suspect.

  27. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    The site I just gave above, Tybes, says the popper beads started in the early 50s. I didn’t get popper beads from Twinkle but as I think I mostly got them from my Gramma and Auntie Joan, I haven’t a clue where they got them. Thinking Hudds market or Woolies.

    Yes, Jan 1968, Twinkle started, which would have made me 6 and a half. So of course I could take it to bed and read it myself. Had thought it a year/18 months earlier but thinking about it, I mightn’t have been a competent reader by then. Bunty was good, though, tales of much derring do by girlies. Which was all that was thought of us at the time (girlies who’d grow up to work in’t mill) but my faves were always Dennis the Menace and Minnie the Minx from my big bro’s comics. And Bazooka Joe bubble gum wrecked my teeth and only a little cartoon, no collectable cards. But you could send for x-ray glasses from the USA if only you had a zip code and dollars …. 😉

  28. Tybo says :

    I remember bazooka joe! I didn’t really like bubble gum though, I preferred things like sherbet fountains, I only bought the bubble gum to get the gory cards.

  29. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    I didn’t like bubble gum either, Tybes, but my big bro would always make me buy at least one so we could have a bubble blowing competition after we’d gone to collect our weekly comics. My only memories of chewing bubble gum are on his top bunk on a Sat morning. About the size of a 50p and 8 times as deep, too big and too sweet!

    I have a feeling another aunt still with us might well have given me my first box of the popper beads, I know she bought me a fashion designer kit, cut out dolls and patterns and prints of fabrics to cut out and mix and match dress them in. But that def was late 60s.

    I’ve got to get in touch with her over something else and anyway cos she’s my aunt (well, she’s my uncle’s wife and lovely) so I’ll ask her if she has a clue.

  30. Tybo says :

    Cheers, Fifty. It really isn’t important but the more I kindle my memories the better.

    I had better go now as I have the writing group tomorrow and am still feeling like crap. Thanks for the memories!

  31. justamentalpatient says :

    Considering changing the dogs names to Pinky and The Brain.

  32. lagrandeflaneuse says :

    Busy day. Just to say hi to everyone.

  33. justamentalpatient says :

    Hi, lgf

  34. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Hi LGF;

    Is there something I should know, Justa (there’s loads, I know …) ? x ;

    Tybes, no biggie, we’re in regular touch (saw her less than 6 weeks ago) and has a brill memory for lots of family stuff. Better than her husband who’s my Mum’s brother. Controversially will suggest that girls often are,.

    *ducks*

  35. justamentalpatient says :

    Fox face seems intent on world domination, Sexy bum seems thick and takes things in her (John Wayne-like) stride

  36. interiorbc says :

    justa your 10:23 is funny as we often refer to the wee beagle and the marrema that way – guess who’s the brain?

    we have to come up with another one now that we have puppy…

    hi and nn to everyone else I haven’t talked to today…

  37. interiorbc says :

    “H’s alien baby was born today in the school’s disabled toilets.

    (No, do not call Interpol/Social Services/Surreal Services etc)

    She’s a very proud mother now.”

    what on earth sleeps??????????????

  38. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Little dog syndrome? I had the tiniest jack. He was a right little fuck but the other dogs knew he was a fuck but fucks were welcome my house. And that little fuck accepted the cat and so did the big one cos the spaniel did and told them to. Rescue dogs are always a revelation at least. Honest, Justa, the day the cat walked into the room not long after we’d got the big one, he just looked straight to the spaniel and not to me re “what do we do about this”. They do seem to talk among themselves. xx

  39. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    I think it’s ok, Inty, I mean, Sleeps, H and the Alien Baby. Remember Furbies? Tamagoches? (I prob spelled Tamagoche wrong but the spell-check alternative was “Masochist” so I’ll stick with what I had.) 😉 x

  40. justamentalpatient says :

    Slugforabutt, inty? 🙂

    Yep. We don’t really know about his first year (or two), fiddy. Working on skinny bro getting Napoleons nads chopped…

    B was hard work but a lovely rescue. And we’ve had a few in our family!

    Dogs fared better than the kids.

  41. interiorbc says :

    “Dogs fared better than the kids.”

    That’s sad justa, glad you made it.

