Sunday 1.1.17

goodbye-2016-280x200

Happy New Year Chundies!

32 responses to “Sunday 1.1.17”

  1. fingsaint says :

    HappyNY!

    Shhhhhh, thanks

    🙊🙊🙊

  2. emmachisset says :

    mornings,

    yeah, same ‘ere, hi to Wendy,

    hangover to start the year – didn’t even drink much 😦

    to the lemon juice,

  3. emmachisset says :

  4. Bill0 says :

    I saw the new year in fast asleep in my armchair.

    Morning.

  5. NuitsdeYoung says :

    Still alive.
    That’s a start.

  6. lagrandeflaneuse says :

    Good morning.

    I’m not a lipreader. What are they singing?

  7. xenium1 says :

    So, 2017, eh?

    Resolutions? I’ve already broken two & I’ve been up less than thirty minutes. Good going…

  8. beautifullyburntout says :

    Happy New Year everyone! xx

  9. emmachisset says :

    my favourite bit so far this year from the daily Mail –

    “I don’t doubt the people who toil in Amazon warehouses are underpaid with little rest time, but no one forces them to work there. Perhaps they’d prefer to pick vegetables from the freezing soil for hour after hour. Nope, thought not.”

    Liz Jones

  10. emmachisset says :

    I have a tube of stuff,

    the big letters say ‘Fair Trade Cane Sugar’,

    only the small print reveals that it’s a shower gel ??!

    World’s gone mad. Ingredients also include Saccharine, in case the sugar’s not sweet enough presumably.

    google reveals that people pay £7 for a pint of this stuff, to wash with, in a shower.

    In true Guardian style that one’s Fair Trade Organic Brown Sugar Shower gel.

    why do people have to wash themselves with food?

    ( i’ve another shower gel with lemon and ginseng ).

  11. lagrandeflaneuse says :

    Sugary shower gel? Ack!

  12. emmachisset says :

    it moistens the skin, apparently, lagrande

    unlike, em, water?

  13. Sleepychow says :

    That gel will last yonks with your yearly shower.
    :squink:

    Happy New Year all.
    mwah mwah mwah

    We escaped yesterday and went to the Peaks for the night. Went on a torchlight bear hunt in the woods. Saw no bears ‘though we know there are deer.

    Listened to distant firew**ks as we fell off to slumberland.

  14. emmachisset says :

    annual shower? haven’t had one for over 2 years 🙂

    I read that as ‘torchlit beer hunt’, which sounds much better >…like hunt the easter egg, but for adults.

  15. Sleepychow says :

    A beer hunt sounds more productive, Emms.

    Some laydeez were staying in the same gaff as us but I think we scared them off. They ran away to find a foody pub but kept getting turned away from black tie private functions.
    They found somewhere eventually.

    Quiet laydeez they were.
    Mebs not too impressed with our Exploding Kittens.

    We played rude scrabble but quickly cleared it away when we heard them return. They could have been delicate laydeez.

  16. Sleepychow says :

    Acherly a torchlit beer hunt at that gaff would go down a treat.

    One rule would have to be that you finish your drink on the spot where you found it before searching for the next one.

    Heaps of intoxicated folk stumbling around dark splotty woods: What could possibly go wrong … ?

    Ha!

  17. Sleepychow says :

    I have just washed H’s hair and can hear it tangling by the second*.
    Hoping she comes down soon so I can make a start on wrangling it. Garden shears may be deployed.

    *It’s easier to manage when it’s wet.

  18. emmachisset says :

    Can I recommend Tesco’s £6.99 hair clippers? Takes the whole lot off in 2 minutes 🙂

    saved me a fortune over the years, and time too

  19. NuitsdeYoung says :

    I’m closing my account with the Grauniad. Fed up of the censorship: the limitation of articles we can comment on, the censorship of what we can say, and the influx of Kipper trolls.

  20. brusselsexpats says :

    Happy New Year Everyone – that banner echoes my sentiments exactly.

    Recovering from an almost all-nighter. Snatched four hours’ sleep and decided on a sofa day. Surrounded by lit candles (thirty) and watching favourite DVDs. I can outdo the Scandis any day when it comes to Hygge. However it’s for a limited period only. I’ll be binning the lot come January 6th.

    Still got a mass of New Year events to get through though. Right till the end of January.

    Time to take my vitamin pill.

    Have a good evening.

  21. Bill0 says :

    Right ho, that;s the decs down and packed away for another year.

    Evening.

    A bottle of NV champers brought my sis along for Sunday lunch.

  22. NuitsdeYoung says :

    We watched the Vienna concert as usual, and then Matthew Bourne’s Sleeping Beauty, which I’d seen live in Glasgow.

  23. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Happy New Year, Chundiewonders!

    Well, went with Plan C in the end, that is, midlands but not Bucks, too many hangovers and too much rain. So Sunshine will be down here in a week or 2.

    Anyone considering taking the M50 into South Wales on a rainy day, beware, there are several patches where drainage simply doesn’t happened about 6 to 10 miles before Ross on Wye, ie, standing water on the road, aquaplaning a distinct possibility. Luckily there was v little traffic and I could see cars ahead (never saw a single truck all journey) slightly lose it and leave more spray than they should so was forewarned. Must say and my Mum agrees when I mentioned it when I phoned her when I got home (she lives in England but comes down here a lot), Wales builds roads that cope with rain better than England does. Soon as I got to Monmouth, different driving conditions altogether. As much rain, just not so much spray and no standing water. So, that’s roads and football we’re better at. 😉

    Fings, I couldn’t find the post from Clocks about her accident. So Clocks, hope you’re ok lovely. x

  24. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    I’ve only got white, Emms. Ok and sherry and the cheaper version of Baileys. And beer. Oh, and I never opened the voddy. Don’t mind if I stick to the white, though? All I can manage the day after I ate huge lumps of meat. 😉

  25. NuitsdeYoung says :

    Yeah, what’s happened to Clocks?

  26. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Not sure, Nuits, just Fings said she’d released something out of spam whilst I was away, a head injury and A&E, so I can’t say more cos I never found the released post. But if Clocks posted it then hopefully she’s ok.

  27. V V 1950 says :

    Get well soon dear Clocks…
    And a better year to all!
    x
    Vincent

  28. Bill0 says :

    Go to bed Fing.

    Oh.

  29. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Ta Fings. Whatcha, Clocks? I got boob-ache after wearing my driving bra to the restaurant (must remember, walking, resting, eating do not require a seat-belt, Mostly.). Proper take care lovely, xx

  30. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Wtf is happening on my telly?

