Tuesday, 27th December 2016

44 responses to “Tuesday, 27th December 2016”

  1. Bill0 says :

    Morning and shit.

  2. xenium1 says :

    It’s as good an ante meridiem routine as any, I suppose…

  3. fingsaint says :

    The rain that made waterfalls on Uluru is heading our way

    along with some windy wind

    and the temp is still hot

  4. fingsaint says :

    It’s a toss up whether to batten down the hatches or keep the windows open

    Aha here comes the rain (cue song)

  5. fingsaint says :

    Right problem solved, the windows are now closed πŸ€”πŸ˜ŠπŸ’¦πŸ’§πŸ’¦πŸ’§

  6. Bill0 says :

    Gin and tonic and shit anyone?

  7. Bill0 says :

    Hi Xen and Fing. I’m being cool and shit.

  8. fingsaint says :

    Cool bananas and shit, Bill *clink*

  9. xenium1 says :

    We’ve been watching the film The Five Pennies, with hepcats diggin’ it daddy-o, man, yeah… 😎

  10. Bill0 says :

    Hate to admit it but I’ve been enjoying Red Bull Soapbox Derby on Dave.

  11. xenium1 says :

    Watched some of that yesterday. Always see a bit at Xmas. Good clean fun…

  12. justamentalpatient says :

    Worlds Strongest Man for me.

    Tradition and shit.

  13. lagrandeflaneuse says :

    Afternoon all,

    Everyone well?

  14. Sleepychow says :

    Hey all.
    Woke up quite happy today Llagrande and been for a wee hike in the sun and fresh farmy-poo air.
    x

    Alongside my A&E badge I now have an Unblocking Toilet* badge.
    I’m such a good girl guide and I’ll soon have an armful.

    *polishes halo & shit*

    *With many thanks to Wendy for the bag-around-a-mop method.

  15. Sleepychow says :

    Scary dancing penguins on the telly (I’m not watching) and radio 2 blaring out everywhere.

    Think I’ll take y’all to my room to charge you up.

    *plod plod plod*

  16. Sleepychow says :

    Much more understandable why one of our party is feeling rather emotional after a big chat last night.

    Strange, when folk have problems they need to share but dimwits tell them to keep it to themselves.
    Quite the opposite of “Let It Go”.

    Luckily vokda oiled the vocal chords.

  17. Sleepychow says :

    Hot with rain and wind sounds exciting, Fings.

    Not too exciting I hope.
    *cuddles*

    Dogfing will prolly enjoy it.

  18. Sleepychow says :

    Read back now.

    Sounds like we’ve all had a fairly mixed bag of xmasness but got through.*

    *Unlike George. I wonder if this was his ploy to get Last Xmas to No.1 or if he just felt really left out by the other ones who left us in 2016 …

  19. Sleepychow says :

    I did snip a bit yesterday.
    Said dimwit really has a go at me for being veggie. He says eeurgh to anything without meat. If I did that about meat it would be totally unacceptable behaviour.
    Anyhoo, it’s curry night and the ingredients weer being discussed. The main chef has forgotten to bring the recipes.
    “Recipes?” says dimwit, questioning the plural.
    “Yes, there were four” was the answer.
    “Okay, so that’s one veggie and …. ”
    “Why do you assume there has to be just one veggie?” snips I.
    “Oh there are some nice veggie curries out there” says dimwit.
    “Oh? Are there?” snips I. “You seem to have an [couldn’t remember the word “aversion] … ” and then the conversation strayed on as it always does.

    He’s been snappy at G the whole time too.
    One example:
    “I know you’re stressed about getting off* so just go.”**

    *He wasn’t
    **translates to f*ck off

    There’s a barrel of beer with my name on it.

    It’d be rude not to …

  20. Sleepychow says :

    I know I’m being a grumpy bum.
    I’m using CU as an outlet.

    Luv y’all. Wish you were here.
    xxx

  21. justamentalpatient says :

    It sounds like you are fully justified in grumpy bumness, sleeps.

    It’s really not that hard to provide for vegetablists. Twat!

  22. interiorbc says :

    Love the banner…busiest days of the year here…and shit…

  23. lagrandeflaneuse says :

    I wouln’t spend next Yule with that personage if I was you, Sleeps.

    Unless, of course they’re going to leave you a wad in their will.

  24. lagrandeflaneuse says :

    Fancy is getting a fire going. We have a civilised sitting room now!

  25. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Sleeps, I’ve mostly opted out of x**s, had “the day” with an old friend down here then at home only to read an email from my oldest Yorkshire bezzie that her family had taken complete advantage of her and then from you someone’s going all out to be a plain a*se. Thought it was particularly bad no dinner was saved for you and presumably the child and parents you took to A&E. Sorry, lovely but have to say I would rather stay home alone than spend time with people like that. And my neighbour has announced on FB she’s had it with x**s and taken the tree down already. So much for the season of joy and goodwill …. and shit. xx

  26. GrandpasBarn says :

    RIP Carrie Fisher

  27. justamentalpatient says :

    Damn. A smart, funny, talented woman.

  28. xenium1 says :

    Loved her Chelsea Bun headphones…

  29. interiorbc says :

    Shit…
    loved her in many films.
    R.I.P

    (but very much loved Star Wars…still do).

  30. NuitsdeYoung says :

    Watching DVD of Leonard Cohen at the O2 in 2008.
    Let’s pretend 2016 didn’t happen.

  31. xenium1 says :

    Had a look at her filmography. Have only seen about 4 films she was in – & can’t really remember much about her in them.

    I remember her more as an entertaining chat show guest really.

    *I actually posted – then redacted – the words “My bad?” at the end of this post, but I don’t see how it should be… πŸ˜‰

  32. interiorbc says :

    If you have not seen this, rent it or Netflix, Fisher is great in it, along with John Belushi and Dan Ackroyd:

  33. lagrandeflaneuse says :

    The Blues Brothers, playing the abandoned fiancee. Marvellous.

    She was the same age as me. Worrying.

    Although I haven’t spent half of the last thirty-five years in rehab.

  34. interiorbc says :

    She was apparently a good script doctor xen…

  35. interiorbc says :

    indeed lagrand…it is worrying, however, one could get hit by a bus as it were, so there you go.

  36. lagrandeflaneuse says :

    Same thought at the same time.

    Incidentally, my mother was a big Debbie Reynolds fan. She wanted to call me Carrie after DB’s new baby. And my surname’s Fisher. You can imagine how that would have played out circa 1978. ‘What’s your name?’ ‘Carrie Fisher’ ‘Yeah, right, and I’m Han Solo’

  37. xenium1 says :

    Blues Brothers is one of the few films I’ve seen her in.

    No wonder she gets shoved to the back of my mind when that particular classic features the likes of Aretha, Ray & John Lee… πŸ™‚

  38. interiorbc says :

    A boat load of great cameos in that movie xen…

    haha lagrand, we have a girl working here whose name is liz hurley…

  39. interiorbc says :

    oh yes, I was named after the daughter of a Hollywood persona in the fifties…not Carrie though…

  40. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Ha, I was barely even named. Well, I was then within weeks both parents went off both names and I hated the 2nd one so the name they’ve always called me (that I remember) was derivative. Makes me really hard to find on FB etc so there’s an up-side to everything. Unless you know the derivative, obvs (which I know a few of you do here). So, for instance, throughout all of my treatment I went by one name but the v clever nurses insisted on knowing if I was called anything else in case I got ill and wouldn’t respond to the one they called me (after all these years, I respond equally, I think, to the first and the derivative of the second, never been called the 2nd official one in 55 years that I remember). I must have been in the recovery room twice though and remember neither occasion, only being quite chipper on the trolley in a sort of collecting area waiting to go back to the ward, so lord knows what they called me.

    Well, I know what I’m talking about. πŸ˜‰

  41. interiorbc says :

    That sounds complicated 51, but as long as you know what you’re talking about πŸ™‚

    We gave the kids three names and they get called by their middle name, so along with their last name that makes four.
    I tell them it hinders identity theft when they complain about it, although that wasn’t the reason at the time.

  42. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Aah, is that the Scottish thing of “Mac or Mc something”, Inty? My husband #1 had that, all 3 of the boys had the same, the 2 girls got their mother’s clan. Which was really odd as their dad was from Trinidad and we lived in Southampton. πŸ˜‰ x

  43. interiorbc says :

    When we had the first one we didn’t know if we would be able to have anymore so being the first boy in the family he got all the names, including the ‘mac’thing.

    Then we had the other two so we kept it the same.
    There were a lot of names that hadn’t been used.
    Although they all have family names they go by the names that we picked, which are their (first) middle one and totally their own.

    All Scottish background though, old names.

