21. 12. 2016

home-hero_1024x1024

A Very Happy Hipster Christmas to one and all

home-mobile-mary

home-mobile-shepherd

34 responses to “21. 12. 2016”

  1. JamesFrance says :

    Good morning oh silent ciffunderground, another year, another yule, with the harmonic cycle of the season in time with the timeless beat of the seasons.
    That’s supposed to be lyric.
    I does my best πŸ™‚

    Over on OiF, there’s discussions about feasting with the OiF quoting loads of supermarkets in its feasting article.
    So I had to comment on this in the usual laboured and baroque prose:
    https://discussion.theguardian.com/comment-permalink/89858901

    How’s everyone this fine morning ? Bill who’s usually up bright and early, rise & shine ! Fings who’s pondering which evening feast will ensue, usually, by this time, how’s this evening’s feasting?

    I’ve said I’m going to Connolly’s pub this evening, this being cognate with myself, seeing as it’s my name, and it being a pleasantly hippie pub here in Paris, I’ve meant to go there for the last 15 years.

    I never went in before, despite living half a kilometre away. Now I live a few kilometres away, I said I’d go this evening but I have an early train tomorrow. Well, “early” – I say 9.15 aye emm is early.

    Contradict me if you must, Bill – early riser, or Fings – bachanalian night-owl.

  2. JamesFrance says :

    Hey Bill ! As I was scrawling away there, you pipped my to the post I think the (posh?) expression is.

    Anyway, here’s Connolly’s Corner, Paree:

    Is it wise to go there before catching a train at the crack of dawn ?

  3. JamesFrance says :

    Hey Leo, who’s Montana?

  4. Sleepychow says :

    Morning all.

    Ha, Tybo.
    Funny banner. Lots of thought and work gone in to that.

    James,
    Being namesakes you could chance your arm at a free tipple.

  5. Sleepychow says :

    It remains a stunning photo’, Leo.

  6. Sleepychow says :

    Right, who’s going o do my packing?

    There’s stuff in the cellar and stuff upstairs and stuff on ground level. Stuff in the freezer, both fridges and various cupboards too.

    You might want to shove that sofa out of the way.

  7. Sleepychow says :

    Eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeep.

    The Dust Bunnies!
    The Dust Bunnies!

    Run away!

  8. Bill0 says :

    It’s the winter solstice today. Less than eight hours of daylight. Roll on spring.

  9. Sleepychow says :

    Oh, oh, Bill.

    Our 2.5 anniversary today.

    (Nots ours, Bill, ours.)

  10. Sleepychow says :

    Packing going well. I take all the credit with my handy lists.

    tick
    tick
    tick

  11. Bill0 says :

    And they said it would never last.

  12. Sleepychow says :

    What’ll never last?
    The packing?
    :squinkles:

    It bloomin’ seems to be bloomin’ going on for bloomin’ ever.

    Nah, nearly there …

  13. JamesFrance says :

    Hey all – Bill, winter solstice, right enough.

    Ready here, with herbs, and mystical things to do, arcane dances to dance, gnomic chants to chant and occult songs to sing. And the good bit, sacrifices to sacrifice at the dead of the night, as the turning of the multiverse judders along. If we don’t play our cards right, it might just grind to a halt.

    This year, I couldn’t find a goat. Any of you got a goat handy? Would a chicken do the trick, do we think ?

    There are dark clouds, which tell me the Morrigan is out, riding the frozen breath of Nastrond fighting light with dark.

    Right, I best not get carried away. People will talk πŸ™‚

    Some of the inspiration for that little skit is “The Wierdstone of Bresingamen” by Alan Garner – did any of you lot read that when you were younger ?
    It was brilliant πŸ™‚

    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Weirdstone_of_Brisingamen

  14. Sleepychow says :

    Right. That’s me done.

    CU all in about 7 days.

    Have happy hols everyone.

    xxx

  15. Bill0 says :

    Happy X**s Sleepy.

  16. Bill0 says :

    I’m going to run a competition over the holiday called “Guess Where Clocks Is”.

  17. JamesFrance says :

    Byebye Sleeps ! Enjoy, indulge, in an epicurean way !
    And Bill, same there, and any lurkers lurking !

    Bill, what did you think of my response to your solstice note there ?

  18. JamesFrance says :

    Bill, what you reckon of Connolly’s Corner ? As well as the solstice question, which is still out there, fishing for an answer.

    Like many would-be writers, I’m needy, I need feedback πŸ™‚

  19. Bill0 says :

    James,

    I’ve got it into my head from somewhere that Stonehenge is all about the winter solstice rather than summer.

    Buggered if I can remember anything else.

  20. neartheclocktower says :

    Ha ha, Bill

    I think ON A TRAIN might win it.

    Have a good hol, sleeps.

  21. Bill0 says :

    Can’t help on the animal front other than some year-old bullocks.

  22. Bill0 says :

    I can do you a chicken James. It’ll need to thaw.

  23. JamesFrance says :

    A frozen chicken?

    Hmm, I’ll have to get out the extra special sacrificing stuff, the granite stuff.
    Obsidian, yeah, I hear you – obsidian is dramatic, granite will never come close this is true. But you get me a fresh chicken, I’ll get you obsidian.

    As long as it’s frozen stuff, I’m not risking my obsidian blades, no siree πŸ™‚

    (I have a vision of Tarantino, and whatshername “Kill Bill” martial arts woman…. argh. mind’s going).

  24. emmachisset says :

    evening all,

    it’s gonna be quiet without Sleeps and fings, we’ll have to make some noise to compensate.

  25. Bill0 says :

    Uma Thurman James.

  26. Bill0 says :

    I’ll live blog BBC Midlands Today if you like Emms.

  27. emmachisset says :

    today , I got some Stitchelton !!! πŸ™‚ ! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ ! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    on a market stall, v. rare and unusual find.

    £39 a kilo 😦

    http://www.stichelton.co.uk/presspdf/Guardian151207AroundBriatainwithaFork.pdf

  28. emmachisset says :

  29. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Ha Emms

    And Happy Hols/Travels to all those I seem to have missed!

    Emms. Mum used to hang balloons in bunches of 3 from the pelmets (v 1970s, your pelmet) and they went: round one, long one, round one and every year my brother laughed, took me til I was about 14 to know what he was laughing at.

  30. Tybo says :

    Stichelton is good stuff, Emma,

    I got some a few years ago from Neal’s Yard Dairy. They were involved in setting it up IIRC.

    The cheese is made on the hill behind the village where my mum was born.

    Is it markedly better than pasturised stilton? (the reason that they can’t call it stilton is that make it the way stilton was made historically with unpasturised milk)

    I can’t say because I stupidly didn’t get a lump of quality stilton and do a comparison.

    You will have to perform the experiment for us.

  31. justamentalpatient says :

    http://www.thedailymash.co.uk/news/society/teenagers-turn-short-train-journey-into-massive-fking-drama-20161221119352

    Ha!

    clockie, make sure that you never, ever board a train heading to Nuneaton. Unless you are fully up to date wth your jabs (including rabies).

  32. emmachissete says :

    I’ve only just sampled it Tybo , ( fell asleep earlier before I could open it )

    It’s a nice stilton Tybo, harder texture than most, and very blue flavour. If it cost about the same as the others, i’d buy it again.

