Tuesday 20.12.16

Photo by otherfing

38 responses to “Tuesday 20.12.16”

  1. fingsaint says :

    Bill? πŸΊπŸ™ˆπŸ’€πŸ’€

    Morning πŸ˜ŽπŸ‘

  2. emmachisset says :

    morning,

    Is it a new way to grow avocado pips?

  3. fingsaint says :

    Emms, it’s a Moreton Bay fig tree seedling growing out of a wooden bollard down by Sydney Harbour. Nature eh? πŸπŸ›πŸŒπŸžπŸœπŸŒ³πŸŒ΄πŸŒΏπŸŒ΅πŸŒΎπŸŒ·

  4. emmachisset says :

    hi,

  5. emmachisset says :

    oops, would stay and chat but gotta dash………………….

  6. Bill0 says :

    What the bloody hell happened to the post I’d imagined I’d done?

    Thanks Fing. Another drink I owe you.

  7. Sleepychow says :

    I just got some coriander and a shirt: One has gone in the machine and the other in a pint pot of water.
    Not sure I’ve got them the right way ’round.
    :spinny eyes face:

    We’re going on hols tomorrow* and I don’t feel very ready.
    Anyone fancy doing my shopping and packing?

    *coffee*

    *not far away, thank goodness

  8. Sleepychow says :

    I think Ben on Tipping Point is having fun or has taken up a dare or summat.

    Yesterday he said, when seeing that a lot of the counters were finely balanced and about to fall, “That shelf is well hung”.

    btw for those who don’t know and may feign interest.
    It’s based on these things we find at the seaside:

    The TP one looks like this:

  9. Sleepychow says :

    I’ve had caffeine.

    ZOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOM

    CHAAAAAAAAAAAAAARGE

    NEEEEEEEEEEEEOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUNG

  10. hermionegingold says :

    afternoon all.

    had to do my annual great new artist for 2017. it was more of a struggle than usual but i think this guy may well crack it.

    not keen on the video but adore the track

    hope all are super furry tinsel animals.

    x

  11. brusselsexpats says :

    Afternoon all,

    One in five Belgians is knackered and suffering from stress through to Christmas shopping according to a report. I’d say that was on the low side.

    Anyway as one of the 20% I’m proud to say I’ve written and posted most of my cards and now have to Tackle The Tree. It’s assembled and just needs the decorations (after a large mug of tea).

    Only three weeks to go before January 6th….But it’s touch and go if my poinsettias will last that long. I had the bright idea of putting two large plants in front of the open hearth on either side of the huge Chinese vase.

    Have a good evening all.

  12. neartheclocktower says :

    Good afternoon

    The best laid plans and all that…

    Had hols all sorted out – fly to UK on Fri, Christmas with friends in Macclesfield then over to Sheffield, stay with MIL and then New Year with friends also in Sheffield.

    This morning we discovered that MIL will be on her own for Christmas Day and Boxing Day (we thought she was spending them with a neighbour). Well, we can’t have that. So new plan is to go to Macc on Friday night and pick up pressies that Father Christmas has already delivered there. Train to Sheff on Christmas eve morning (trains stop running in the early evening so mustn’t get caught out), spend Christmas Day and Boxing Day with MIL, train to Macc on 27th to see friends, then back to Sheff on 29th for New Year. Oh well, it’s a nice journey over the pennines.

  13. brusselsexpats says :

    Sounds hectic Clocks – but have a great break.

  14. neartheclocktower says :

    Thanks, Bru. I’ll need a holiday after it!

  15. interiorbc says :

    Love the banner, reminds me of one winter when I put a miniature rose in a plastic pot out on top of the compost because I thought it had died.
    It sat there, in the cold and snow, from November through April, and in May it had buds!

  16. JamesFrance says :

    Evenin’ all !

    IBC, I like this banner, as I’ve said many a time, Fings has some good taste there, I wonder if she’s an artist / curator / thing along those lines, perhape, you lot know better than I.

    That seedling in the post conjurs (sp?) up thoughts of mortality, of “life if but a brief candle” and so on, this optimistic sapling thinking “Hey, good spot here, fine ground with plenty of nitrogen compounds to help m grow”, unaware that the platform it’s picked it completely unable to sustaing it.

    Which conjurs (<= now I've cheked the speling, it's ok) up further thoughts of perception and reality: Are we not, like that sapling, incapable of observing our environment, because of our limited senses? Does the slow dawning of the fact that 95% of the universe is stuff we can’t see, except very vaguely by its gravitational pull?

    These are the thoughts a tree trying to grow on a wooden post conjures up πŸ™‚

  17. JamesFrance says :

    Another interesting thing concerning the arts and whatnot: This Noathan Jones one about “Monet isn’t for snobs”.
    https://www.theguardian.com/artanddesign/jonathanjonesblog/2016/dec/20/monet-pastel-scottish-national-gallery#comment-89836902

    I did not know this. Is there anything else like this I should know? Is it “common” to like, say, umm, Gaston Lagaffe ?
    Here’s Gaston Lagaffe:
    http://www.gastonlagaffe.com/timthumb/images/gags/2/gag.jpg&w=280&h=340&zc=1

  18. Bill0 says :

    Evening.

    I normally do the weekly shop v early on Saturday but I went in mid-afternoon today. It was like the Shrovetide football match. Hundreds of people cluttering up the place.

    X**s featured cheeses are Cornish Yarg, aged Red Leicester, brie with truffles and Hartington Stilton.

  19. Sleepychow says :

    Fine cheesy choices, Billiam.

    Tinseled up to the eyeballs here and covered in glitter like Father Dougal, Hermione.

    Take it steady, Bru, and never mind the poinsettias – make sure you make it through.

    Sounds a bit like our arrangements, Clocks. Hurtling back and forth.
    This is why I’m thankful we’re not going too far.

    To The Shops!
    A-bloomi’-gain.

  20. interiorbc says :

    Then there is this little wonder, the tree growing on Siwash Rock, which is seen on the causeway in Stanley Park in Vancouver:

  21. interiorbc says :

    For the first time in over 20 years I have 5 days off for Christmas!
    Back Boxing Day, yippee!

    So, from the snowy, blowy land of the Interior of British Columbia I wish each and every one of you a very Merry Christmas, and I hope you have a lovely and safe holiday, however long or short it may be.

    One of my very favourite carols:

    xox
    πŸ™‚

  22. JamesFrance says :

    Hey IBC, that’s champion !

    I too have about 5 days off for Xmas. Though I have to add that I have more days off for Xmas because the bleedin’ shysters or chancers in the admin in me new job starting in Jan. were too bone idle to sort out my starting, and I have me an unpaid week, first week of Jan.
    Heigh ho, it won’t put me on the street, but the principle is the principle.

    Having said that, the lab closed on the 16th. So hols. officially started yesterday, and last officially until tues. 3rd. Then I start tues. 10th (unpaid week) later πŸ™‚

    So I have a long holiday but am slightly not paid for it which I mention only so that I don’t seem to be crowing “I have a huge holiday !” πŸ™‚

  23. JamesFrance says :

    Adeste fideles is champion too. Here’s another good one, “Maris durch ein dornwald ging”:

    It’s best if it’s a singer singing it solo straight: no vibrato, no dramatic pauses, no drama: all it needs is the melody.
    Medieval simplicity and probably one of them strange sounding scales, I’m not sure πŸ™‚

  24. JamesFrance says :

    Here’s one example of a version that’s not for me. (note studiously avoided video here on this comment πŸ™‚ )

    Here’s another one. Aaargh !

    And a wierd one, for bob’s sake just sing the song, lads.

    An easy one to get right, in my opinion, this Maria Dornwald thing, simply by not over-complicating the thing. And should only be sung by sopranos: those bass gents in that last one sound ridiculous πŸ™‚

  25. JamesFrance says :

    Moving swiftly on from religious songs (Obscurantism ! Opium and that ! People being repressed ! But some are very good songs, I don’t mean to be a barbarian) .. moving on, as I was saying, there’s a fetching piece by Philomena Cunk (what a name, it’s fantastic – Roald Dahl).

    https://www.theguardian.com/tv-and-radio/2016/dec/20/philomena-cunk-guide-to-christmas-food#comment-89841717

    I had a good time writing about my sister’s christmas cakes, which nobody liked for about two decades before she worked this out, poor sister πŸ™‚

    A great cook otherwise, but she had this massive emotive blind spot with Xmas cakes, they made her think of our old aunt, and lose sight of the fact that her Xmas cake was like a cannonball make of pig-iron with little hard raisins, hard as diamonds but black as sin, peppered through them.
    The icing sugar on top only served to put the unsuspecting off guard and break all their teeth, or nearly, on this steely annual trial.

  26. JamesFrance says :

    And with this comment I’ve written exactly 25%, that is, one quarter of today’s comments. If I carry on at this vertiginous rate, I’ll be both bot and top of the page πŸ™‚

    Time to do a little cooking. No pig iron not rock hard raisins here, thanks. Broccoli, rice, and saussages. Easy peasy πŸ™‚

  27. Sleepychow says :

    vertiginous?

    dis-gus-ting

  28. Sleepychow says :

    I got a surprise cauliflower.

    I’ve noticed that they’re really expensive for something the size and weight of tennis balls, so when I saw this one the size of a football reduced to 49p …… well, I just had to get it.

    It’ll make an interesting centre-piece if nothing else.

  29. Sleepychow says :

    I’m on holiday but it doesn’t feel like it. Too much running around.

  30. justamentalpatient says :

    Your caulis are the size and weight of tennis balls?

    Dude!

  31. neartheclocktower says :

    Justa, I’m considering the sprout stripper πŸ™‚

    Well, got the first batch of train tickets booked. There’s a Christmas market at Sheff train station so that could be fun to stop by. Maybe even the pub πŸ™‚

    Frustrating day because I was waiting all day for a delivery. It arrived at 7pm. Main King’s pressie for when we get back – a decent acoustic guitar and case. That’s really all she wants so it’s not easy to think of things for Christmas.

  32. neartheclocktower says :

    Anyway, it’s got to that time again. so nn lovelies.

  33. interiorbc says :

    please pass on my 6:48 merry festive greetings to all who were not here today.
    thanks much.
    xox
    πŸ™‚

    take care all.

  34. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Have a fab one, Inty. xox

