Sunday 18.12.16

puddy-cat

84 responses to “Sunday 18.12.16”

  1. JamesFrance says :

    However, there’s a new page coming, so I have towait until that’s done and dusted.

  2. JamesFrance says :

    So as I was saying, have a look at “https://www.theguardian.com/science/2016/dec/18/12-most-important-science-moments-2016-space-sharks-zika-virus-proxima-b#comment-89720551”

    Their “science achievements of 2012” is
    – A stupid rocket.
    – The WHO fighting Zika. This is great, but it’s not science.
    – “Helium found in the ground”. Give me strength.
    – “New planet found! Number one thousand three hundred and twenty two, or twenty three. It’s sort of close and maybe habitable !” – Strength, again. Needed.
    – Lucy the fossil is analysed !
    – A neuroscientist in the fifties lied about obtaining permission from patients !
    – Greenland sharks are old !
    – CO2 goves over 400ppm ! (that’s not science , the science was working out what the 400ppm is doing. The measurement was new science a century or two ago).
    – Bad marriage causes early death.
    – Arctic sea ice record melt – see CO2 note.
    – Scientists understand photocynthesis better – Now this is revolutionary. The only one.

    Rant done and dusted 🙂

  3. interiorbc says :

    I read that James, some stupid things there.

    Now, to change the tone, a Canadian Christmas carol, written in 1642 by a Jesuit missionary who had been sent here, beautiful tune:

  4. Bill0 says :

    Recording the evening thanks justa.

  5. JamesFrance says :

    Now I have to go and cook.

    Pork chop aux herbes. Lentils and green peas out of a tin on the side, and broccoli to taste. Apple juice for desert.

    Or in other words:
    Côte échine grillée aux herbes – Salade chaude de lentilles du Puy avec leurs petits pois – Broccolis vapeur façon Pyrénées – Nectar de fruits

    Sounds fancy en français 🙂

  6. JamesFrance says :

    Ok, so sue me, there were no lentils aux petits pois, only wholmean healthy pasta with some pesto out of a jar.
    The pesto had a bit of mould around the lid.
    Mould, schmould.
    If I have visions later, I won’t go out on the street in my undies shouting “Revelation!”, I’ll blame the mould and go back to sleep 🙂

    I with Jesus and Mahommed and the like had done the same.
    “Oh, I’ve had a dream!
    Wow, that was a good one. Virgin birth? Come on. Son of god? Me? Father, son, and holy ghost ?
    Holy moley, I need a shrink !”

    Add New York Jewish idioms as needed 🙂 If jesus had been like this, and Moses too, we’d have … well we’d have different troubles.

    We might have vikings going on about Odin and Freya and Loki and Thor instead of the mess we’re in. It might not be better, but it would be different.

  7. emmachissete says :

    The lentilssunded good,

    but they weren#t r real?

    this is your creative writing, non?

    the beeb is showing Underwater, a howard hkughes film bet rmembered by the reviewersfor Jane Russel’s swimsuit.

  8. JamesFrance says :

    Ah, “Underwater”, I havent’ seen that. Howard Hughes – I confuse him with “Hawks”, because they’re both called Howard I’m embarassed to admit.

    Hughes is the crazy one:
    http://www.bbc.com/culture/story/20161205-was-howard-hughes-really-insane

    Is there a season on? What happened, why is Howard Hughes in the news? (rhymes).

  9. justamentalpatient says :

    Nothing trumps VW, emms.

  10. JamesFrance says :

    There were no lentils because I figured I should use some of that ancient pesto before it becomes too toxic 🙂

    I will make pesto next time. Basil. Oil. Nuts. Salt. Some hard cheese, like pecorino. Anything else, oh CiF-cooks ? I’ve a feeling there might be something else.

  11. JamesFrance says :

    ‘Evenin’ Justy !

  12. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Ee, you weren’t behind the mangle when they were giving out stair rods, Justa, to coin a phrase. 😉 x

  13. Tybo says :

    “Oddly, although Bass is owned by the foul Molson Coors, the draft bitter is brewed by Marstons.”

    I expect swan necks are behind it, Bill. Marstons and Bass were the last breweries to use swan necks IIRC.

    Ee, I sound like Richard Lichfield!

    I used to really like Pedigree in my bitter drinking days, is my defence.

  14. emmachissete says :

    🙂 strangely enough, I now remember that I went off to iplayer earlier to find out what VW is

    ended up watching an Ausssie film and now ono=to nderwater.

  15. emmachissete says :

    I heard that HOward Hughes had trails of clean loo paper in his flat ‘cos he didn’t like his feettouching the carpet, but hey that’s just mild eccentricity.

  16. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Victoria Wood evening, Emms. It’s fab so far and another hour and half to go. Cried a bit when Caroline Aherne was also on. Been a b*stard of a year.

    Btw, meant “to borrow a phrase”.

  17. justamentalpatient says :

    I love Victoria Wood.

    That is all.

  18. emmachissete says :

    ah gottit, not a ref to VolksWagen.

  19. justamentalpatient says :

    Evenin’ james

    *waves*

    I wasn’t going to mention names as billiam is recording it, fiddy. But yeah, that got the hairs on the back of my neck standing up.

  20. emmachissete says :

    Tybo – I used to love Pedigree, but that was years ago, and up north, ie in the Midlands

    It just doesn’t taste the same down here, nowadauys

    but I’ve no idea if the beer has changed, or my tastebuds, or maybe it doesn’t travel well.

  21. Tybo says :

    Me neither, Emma. The bottled version is (was?) pretty crap.

    It was the beer but also the pubs. Back in the mid seventies Marstons seemed to have really great pubs. Nice people running them, lovely beer. Never hand pumps but electric pumps for cask conditioned beer, which was unusual too.

    My favorite pub of all time was The Albion in Newcastle Under Lyme. Fantastic beer, lovely landlady, and it was that rarest of things, a female dominated pub.

    I had friends who were in the ladies darts team, they didn’t have a men’s team.

  22. Tybo says :

    This puzzled me greatly but some years later there was a little documentary series that offered an explanation.

    It was about the paintresses in the potteries. The painting and transferring of designs on pottery was done by women and, in some cases (such as Clarice Cliff designs) it was very highly skilled.

    But the men’s jobs were, on the whole, less skilled and less highly paid. Hoiking crated of biscuit ware about etc.

    I particularly remember one woman whose husband was a miner talking about how he was quite dischuffed when she got a job as a paintress and was bringing home as much or more money than he was. They had moved from another coal mining area where the culture was more, well, typical, and her husband had trouble adjusting.

    Now, I don’t know if that was the reason but working class potteries women did have an unusual culture and status, and it may have been something to do with why that pub was so women orientated.

  23. hermionegingold says :

    zsa zsa gabor is now officially dead.

    paul, who’d have thunk…..

    been a not very funny old year

    x

  24. justamentalpatient says :

    Great.

    Now I want to slap a copper.

  25. justamentalpatient says :

    What kind of year is it when getting nicked would be the best bit?

  26. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    That, my darling Justa, is not the best idea you ever had. It has been a bad one. For me and you and many, many others it has been a tough one. I don’t want another one like it or the one before it. But we got through it lovely. And I thank you a lot for helping me, listening, being there. xx

  27. justamentalpatient says :

    True. I was tempted to slap someone tonight.
    Random weirdo who always dumps her crap on me, started going on about her problems, all the crap in her flats (she is a troublemaker), her poor mum being 77…

    But I had VW to get back to.

    Sometimes a good laugh is needed. Even when bittersweet.

  28. Sleepychow says :

    Not read back.

    Johnn Otway was AWESOME!

    I laughed, I cried.
    Mostly, I grinned.

    lovely

    NN

  29. justamentalpatient says :

    And you have done more than your fair share of being there for me, mate.

    Thank you

    And thanks to all providing silliness and support here

  30. justamentalpatient says :

    NN lovely chow.

  31. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Glad you had a lovely night, Sleeps, nn x

    Justa, ‘swot we’re here for, innit? And yeah, not sure who else I could have let it out to, thanks all those who gave support.

    Mad thing about my illness, when I was seeing them on a regular basis I had no fear at all. Now I feel more lost than I ever have. I know what Thursday’s appointment’s about but I have one in Feb and another in May and I’m wondering what for. Will phone my breast care nurse and arrange to meet up on Thurs, I think.

  32. justamentalpatient says :

    Hmm. Might have a Macmillan link that could be of interest to you somewhere in my emules.

    I’ll see if I can find it tomorrow and pass it on.

  33. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    I’ve got a number for MacMillan counsellors. I’m not really anxious, I don’t think, other than, what are these appointments for and I can find that out with either a call to L, my named nurse or seeing her on Thursday. I am not up for a mammogram or ultrasound in the near future, far too tender still. I know they can’t do reconstruction for several more months, radiotherapy and previous infection after the 2nd opening of the wound ruled that out. So, I’ll just ask her. x

  34. GrandpasBarn says :

    What a shame herm – just a few days short of her ton. RIP Zsa Zsa

