Saturday 17.12.16

76 responses to “Saturday 17.12.16”

  1. emmachisset says :

    wifi’s too new fangled for me James, i stick in the good olde ethernet cable,

    the luddite in me is convinced there’s less to go wrong with a physical connection.

  2. emmachisset says :

    i don’t remember any old updates causing problems either…

  3. justamentalpatient says :

    Dr Heimlich has died.

  4. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Oh dear, I’m going to have to shop again. I got the port and stilton and a tin of biscuits today. I might have made a start ….

  5. interiorbc says :

    oh justa, and I never got to thank him…the mr had to do the manoeuvre on me once when I choked on some dinner…

  6. justamentalpatient says :

    Trump. Half man, half wit.

  7. neartheclocktower says :

    Been having Windows 10 probs too. Was totally happy with it until this week (got it in September).

    What I really really hate is not being able to schedule updates. At least I’m not working at the moment, otherwise I’d be tearing my hair out at the time I wait while Windows is preparing. Grrrr

  8. justamentalpatient says :

    You make a very good point there, clocks.

    It must be seriously screwing with w*** for many.

  9. neartheclocktower says :

    So we are off to the UK on Friday. The watch mentioned that her thick skiing jacket might be too small. Ha, the sleeves were up to her elbows and she couldn’t zip it up. Yep, she’s not worn it since last February! The sort of thing that is rarely needed here unless you are, well, skiing. So off we went to the shops to buy her something for the frozen north, success and not too expensive from Decathlon. At least we realised now and not when we were packing on Friday 🙂

  10. justamentalpatient says :

    Aye, that could have resulted in an emergency trip to Go Outdoors!

  11. neartheclocktower says :

    Justa, yesterday I waited for at least 30 mins whilst it said ‘do not turn off your computer’. I went to the shops and came back to the same message. Turned it off, back on and it was working fine. This is my new desktop computer which has only ever had Windows 10 so I really don’t know what is going on.

  12. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Hi Clocks, according to that site I pointed to earlier, you can schedule the updates but only if you’re wifi and if you’ve previously told your device you are “metered” certain hours. If you use an ethernet cable it just goes ahead and does it. Having said that, I have great difficulty in persuading this laptop its “scheduled hours”, ie, the hours that don’t allow updates/shutdown/restart are not the pre-programmed ones which are work/office type hours so, good luck if you decide to try it.

    And happy hols in the UK.

  13. neartheclocktower says :

    Justa, my daughter is renowned for not taking in the reality of weather in England. One Easter holiday she insisted on wearing shorts and short sleeves and it started raining as we walked into town and she was turning blue. We went into a charity shop and the lovely ladies there were falling over themselves to find her suitable clothes.

  14. neartheclocktower says :

    Hi 51, yes I checked that out but as I’m cabled it doesn’t really help. I’m reluctant to try to set scheduled hours, as I think, as you have found, it doesn’t work.

    Off on Friday until 4th Jan, should be good, thanks. All the best for your hols.

  15. justamentalpatient says :

    Bless her!

    Sounds like a lass from Trinidad the ex’s sis was friends with. She stayed with the family during one uni holiday.
    Lovely girl, but insisted on wearing summery clothes all the time and was always cold.
    Her only concession to the weather was occasionally wearing a puffer jacket that was way too big for her.

    Enjoy your hol in Brexitia!

  16. xenium1 says :

    In the curry house I said, “Right, I’m going for a cigarette.”

    My mate said, “Well, I’m glad you never said you were going for a shit.”

    Context is everything.

    Wendy! 🙂 xxx

  17. neartheclocktower says :

    Justa, getting off a plane down the steps to the tarmac at Liverpool airport she amused everyone around by asking ‘since when did rain go sideways?’

    Will enjoy hols whilst we’re still allowed in!

  18. interiorbc says :

    clocks, safe trip and happy hols in the UK.

    xen “context is everything”

    truer words never spoken, look at precedent trump and his without presidents comments…”guffaws”

  19. neartheclocktower says :

    Hey up, xen. Hope you had fun with your Edinburgh colleagues.

    Reading and loving Tracey Thorn’s book at the mo. Next in the queue is the one you gave me (planning to read Spanish when in England).

  20. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Xen, if you’re still around, Victoria Wood evening tomorrow, BBC2, 7.40 to about half 11.

  21. NuitsdeYoung says :

    James, yes – decimation was executing only one in ten: they’d have to draw lots after a mutiny, say, or cowardice in the field. Mind, Julian had an even better method in Gaul. One unit had made a poor show vs the Germans, but rather than decimate them, he disbanded them, having first made them parade through the camp in women’s clothes…

  22. NuitsdeYoung says :

    I love parts of Edinburgh. Haven’t had the chance to run around there for a while, though – mainly just changing trains. I love Cockburn Street, and the Old Town, and the University end of things – the charity shops down Nicolson Street, and the New Town.

  23. justamentalpatient says :

    Oooh, VW. Egggscellent!

    Were they future MPs, nuits?

