Friday 9.12.16

cactus

67 responses to “Friday 9.12.16”

  1. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    All the best to your Pa, Nuits. The Jobcentre are not going to accept you are looking for a job to their standards (you are supposed to be looking 35 hours a week) so although I think you should go to support your Pa, you should perhaps not tell them your concerns elsewhere; they are a machine designed to seek out any flaw in those who apply for what is actually their right. It is an awful thing. Please be sure to make them aware of your diagnosis, you might have a little bit of leeway that others might not but don’t rely on that. I worked with CAB for ages, I saw Jobcentre at its worst so hoping it’s not that bad for you.

  2. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    But the UK prosecutes people for misbehaving around the cenotaph, churches, etc, their “sacred places”. And I don’t think that is wrong just because I think war is wrong and there is no god. I think it is a matter of respect for those who do believe in those things. I don’t think we can pass through anywhere without respecting those before or beside us.

  3. justamentalpatient says :

    Not seen the clip, but did she even know at the time?

    I just can’t see it as worse than the Argentinian athlete video in the Falklands.

  4. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    I don’t know and tbh, I care even less. We can piss off the whole world with just the words “Jeremy Clarkson”. And then we have an actual Boris who says what we all know but aren’t supposed to say. So …. xx

  5. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Beeb4. Dylan goes electric. I like both.

  6. xenium1 says :

    Ha. Met a cousin I haven’t seen for about 15 years – I’ve got about 40 cousins! ๐Ÿ˜‰ – the last I heard she was a warden in Perth Prison. Lovely girl. Now taking care of vulnerable kids in Fife. Ah. Sweetie.

    Am pissed now… ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. xenium1 says :

    Whatever Argentinians do in Las Malvinas is fine by me. They are theirs anyway… ๐Ÿ™‚

    (And Jim Davidson can go fuck himself.) ๐Ÿ˜‰

  8. xenium1 says :

    I’m watching Jacob Rees Mogg on a show I recorded. He’s on tele. Why is he on tele? And I’m not? Think about it. Then think about Britain. And why it’s basically shit…

  9. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    I do like to watch Ian Hislop’s body language (Paul Merton does it too but not quite so overtly, he’s sometimes a little more verbal, though) when they get a guest on their team they’d really rather not. He leans so far away. ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. xenium1 says :

    True, 51. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I share a birthday with young Jacob’s pa. And I seem to recall the younger twat trying to enter parliament as a Tory Scum MP for North East Fife while I was up in St Andrews.

    Ridiculous, really. North East Fife may be home to many types of absolute dickheads but few, I’m sure, could believe such a privileged, chinless wonderkid had anything much in common with them.

    He wants hanging & flogging. He really does… ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. xenium1 says :

    I should point out that North East Fife is “different” from “Fife” – anywhere east of Leven or north of Falkland – yes, Falkland, a lovely little place Thatch couldn’t point to on a map of her beloved Britannia but was willing to spend millions to “defend” if it was the other side of the fucking globe – is NE Fifeshire. Rather different. Not so many mines in the old days. Fewer factories. A lot fewer smelly working class types… ๐Ÿ˜‰

  12. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Xen, the worst thing about the UK is that Jacob Rees Mogg was born feeling entitled to be an MP. And his nanny (who clearly was not of the hanging and flogging persuasion, we can only reflect on that) thought so too she helped him with his leaflets. And, lo and behold, there he is, an MP. What else could he be? He is so far beyond parody.

    I sometimes feel like shouting for help but get the feeling fewer and fewer are listening. Because that happens?

  13. xenium1 says :

    Yeah, 51. Unfortunately, Britain – whatever that means – has long been a basketcase. Not even worth considering solutions. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I’ve watched an episode of Modern Family & will retire now. Nn… x

  14. NuitsdeYoung says :

    I love NE Fife. I felt at home there: slow pace of life, not coarse, not hectic, people I could sit up late with listening to 12C music or talking about Villon by the fireside. I loved St As and Cupar and would never have moved away if I’d had the chance of regular paid work there. I moved to Glasgow for a “renewable 3 year contract” only not to be renewed and ended up stuck. I dislike Glasgow outside the West End: too much like Hull, where I never felt I belonged. Thought Glenrothes soulless, like Bransholme, Cumbernauld and all ‘New Towns’. I like the central old part of Kirkcaldy, and old Dysart is beautiful. On a sunny day, the white buildings and blue sky are almost Mediterranean.

  15. NuitsdeYoung says :

    51: Yeah, I’m going to take my official diagnosis documentation.

  16. NuitsdeYoung says :

    “Rather different. Not so many mines in the old days. Fewer factories. A lot fewer smelly working class typesโ€ฆ”

    Yes. That’s why it’s better.

  17. justamentalpatient says :

    I be a smelly working class type (especially when I haven’t had a shower).

    Some are actually quite lovely. Not me, of course.

