Monday 5th December 2016

69 responses to “Monday 5th December 2016”

  1. emmachisset says :

    πŸ™‚

    πŸ™‚

  2. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Oh, shame, is it blocked for the whole of Canada or just you – I can’t do anything “private” on t’internet from work, as in, not allowed. Or maybe you have to be on FB to view FB? Clueless of Pontypool. Mostly the vid is the park, which is vast, still not walked all of it.

  3. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Ooh, in there, Emms. πŸ™‚

  4. interiorbc says :

    no, just by the firewall and IT folks.

  5. xenium1 says :

    Inty, I’m forever leaving spuzzum…

  6. xenium1 says :

    Oh, you been working, 51?

  7. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Not yet, Xen, start back Thursdayunder a “phased return”. Just mentioning that unless things have substantially changed, private use of t’interweb is seriously banned.

  8. JamesFrance says :

    Hey all, back early, for cocoa, and bed. This is what one learns is best, when one gets old and wise πŸ™‚

    The chandeliers were good. The band played brazilian things, nice, non provocative, the Japanese singer had a beautiful voice, and it felt like those seventies moodily lit romantic dramas with men with sideburns and strange hair, and women with long hair and lots of mascara, looking southern.

    That’s the “researchers’ club evening” for you.

    I felt aged when talking to a nice german postdoc, realising that she’s nearly two decades younger πŸ™‚ Nice chat. She plays guitar, I play guitar, so we may play guitar. The Russian man was hard work, one of these softly spoken unfortunates you can’t hear, but his missus was more audible. The long haired neighbour, Italian, with his tall German wise Liese wants to hang out in the evenings, drink, and talk. This sounds good.

    So most including me went off early for cocoa, or maybe ethnic herb teas what do I know,, because, you know, there’s a job to go to in the morning. I’m guessing Nuits will recognise the atmosphere, and Justy too, unless it’s different in the north πŸ™‚ These shy academic species come out reluctantly and go home early.

    There’s probably a story in that ! Hmm. Keep the seventies vibe? I don’t think so, it makes it look dated, for the oldies, or incomprehensible, for the young ‘uns.

  9. JamesFrance says :

    p.s. there’s no cocoa, can’t bear cocoa. That was satire, I best add πŸ™‚

  10. NuitsdeYoung says :

    Oh, that does sound fun, James! I miss that life… Most at home in that sort of setting. Still feeling a bit insecure (work situation and uncertainty with Dad). But I’m confident that things will sort themselves out, certainly on the work front. Am getting bits of transcription work on an ad hoc basis.

  11. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Evening James, enjoyed your story, thought provoking in that I do wonder how many are falsely convicted or have a good partial defence that is either overlooked or not believed.

    I like cocoa, not hot choc, though, far too sweet, has to be good old fashioned cocoa. I don’t have any. I keep hot choc in for my Mum.

    Watching a thing on WW1 hospital ship The Britannic, sister ship to Titanic. There were 2 members of staff/crew who survived both sinkings. One was a “stewardess”; imagine going back on board after Titanic.

  12. interiorbc says :

    I think I saw that show last year 51, quite the story.

  13. JamesFrance says :

    Well, Nuits, it’s a most insecure life.

    The permanents I know are on the other hand always running around. We had this week long workshop recently. We devil may care irresponsible contract persons hung around, going to a talk or two, spending hours in the bar, whereas the poor teachers rushed off to do their classes.
    One of them is really nice. Married, of course πŸ™‚

    I’m one of the cricket fraternity, while the teacher ant crowd to proper work and will laugh at me in winter. They’ll probably give me a few scraps to tide me over to the next summer though – this is what Aesop forgot to mention πŸ™‚

    So things show up, always, though it is admittedly a little tense something wating for the showing up.

    I know, for example, that in 18 months that’s it: I’ll be out. There’s a right and proper legal provision that contractors can’t be hired beyond that timescale.

    By then I’ll be a writer πŸ™‚

  14. NuitsdeYoung says :

    Oh yes, I know about the insecurity. Interviews for lectureships dried up after I turned 30 (I was told it was the pay scales, and because I hadn’t been able to get postdoc). For the last 20-odd years I’ve been hanging around on the margins, admin work, bits of research and transcription, bar the 3 years I was Doors Open Days/JEP co-ordinator for the whole of Scotland.

  15. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Horrendous, Inty, the captain forgot to say “release the lifeboats” so the lifeboats were taken toward the propellers and those who would have otherwise survived were chopped to pieces. Enough lifeboats, this time, just not an engaged brain. And still Violet continued as a ship’s stewardess for many more years. Braver than me.

    Well, I went to ring my Mum (she’s not at the pub quiz tonight, usually is Mondays but her friend was ill), forgot that she’d rung me earlier so my “last number redial” wasn’t her, it was where I’d called this afternoon. Ever had to gabble out an excuse for calling with no reason at 10pm to someone who’s only there cos they have to be? I apologised and explained so much I actually got the really cheesed off sounding person having a bit of a giggle – at me – by the end ….

  16. interiorbc says :

    Yep, that’s the one I saw, awful stuff.
    I don’t know if you could get me in a puddle after surviving something like that.

    Well, that’s the thing to do – be so polite and apologetic that the other person will invariably come ’round.

  17. justamentalpatient says :

    Admins, should lovely james wish to contact me for more info on prison and MH sytems and units in this country, you have my permission to pass on my emule addy to him.

