30. 11. 2016

cocacola-christmas-coke-names-funny-bad-worst-nativity-scenes-manger

I know it is a day early for advent calendars but it is surely not too soon for nativity scenes!

45 responses to “30. 11. 2016”

  1. emmachisset says :

  2. fingsaint says :

    Excellent nativity scene tybo – proof positive that Jesus was cool and black (with an outside chance that he was also a tad fizzy)

    Morning

  3. polly says :

    Morning

    Gaaah, my phone won’t charge, and to make matters worse just accidentally called nice neighbour at 5 am trying to get sodding thing to work.

    Need to go to Tesco phone shop, can’t go to Tesco phone shop as have to go on dull work course.

  4. polly says :

    I had an old samsung phone was going to try to stick battery in there and charge it (as it seems to be connecter that has gone) but of course I have chucked it out in fit of tidying up….

  5. polly says :

    Also on technology

    “Jeremy Hunt proposes ban on sexting for under-18s Social media companies should use technological solutions to bar young people from sending explicit messages and cyberbullying.”

    Yes Jeremy, they’ll just use their magic technology that can tell if someone using a device is under 18……..

    what an utter eejit he is. Most technology companies can’t make devices that work and don’t spontaneously combust.

  6. emmachisset says :

    morning,
    #

    yes i thought the nativity scene an excellent interpretation of this historical event.

    I’m a bit puzzled by Joseph’s monkey tail/walking stick?

  7. fingsaint says :

    Hmm, might be a tail but I don’t think spider monkeys were/are natives of Bethlehem and its surrounds. It’s historically unsound if it’s a shepherd’s crook (unless one of the shepherds left it behind) because Joseph was a carpenter by trade. So …. It’s probably an early version of a nail gun.

  8. fingsaint says :

    bad luck with the phone hassle, poll 😦

  9. fingsaint says :

    sleeps are you training/taking tests/doing stuff/upgrading skills for work? sounds like you’re on top of it all 🙂 x

  10. Sleepychow says :

    Morninkses/hevenink all.

    Love the banner.
    If it was easy I’d replicate that for the family get-together.

    I thought it was Emms talking about the uncooperative ‘phone until I saw the “fit of tidying up” bit.
    ha

    Give it a stern look, Poll, sit it in a corner – facing the wall, and let it think about what it’s done. Failing that – a bit of finger-wagging sometimes w**ks.

    Writing up G’s w**k notes, Fings: He’s fair swamped at the mo (which is good in the run up to the festive cola season) and this is one way I can help directly.
    Yes it needs keeping on top of otherwise there’d be at least 9 lots of notes tonight rather than 6.
    It’s interesting though and I get to join in with ideas. I try anyhoo …

  11. Sleepychow says :

    I expect the monkey tail is to help the poor chap w**k all that way to Bethlehem. Maria nabbed the donkey innit.

    Women, eh?

  12. Bill says :

    Morning all. I’m about to clean the hearth. Do you want a live blog?

  13. Sleepychow says :

    Oh yes, Bill!

    Please!

    Oh oh …will you be wearing clothes?

  14. Bill says :

    As ever, just my pinny Sleepy.

  15. leopold1904 says :

    Fab Tybo

  16. Sleepychow says :

    3 sets of notes down.

    Breakfast.

    Oh, nearly forgot I’m w**king to w**k today.
    Best get a wiggle on…

  17. Sleepychow says :

    More Sheffland tree news.
    Can’t say I’m impressed with council leader’s response nor with the non-response of the head of Westways:

    http://www.thestar.co.uk/news/urgent-campaign-to-save-sheffield-war-memorial-trees-1-8265367

  18. Sleepychow says :

    Regarding yesterday’s (?) convo about offering opinion/advice or simply listening.

    Yesterday irl I was asked to just listen but whilst listening I had a brilliant idea. So I listened and then said I was “very reluctant to offer ideas but …”

    “Oh. That’s a great idea. That might work well. Thanks.”

    So it’s a strange balance innit.

  19. Sleepychow says :

    *zooooooooooooooooooooooooooooom*

    *swoooooooooooooooooooosh*

  20. Bill says :

    At last! I’ve managed to buy a galvanised steel dustbin for the bird seed.

  21. fingsaint says :

    Uttoxeter, Bill?

    plus, you missed a bit….pinny or not ….I was inspecting the hearth 🙂

  22. Bill says :

    Ah, Uttoxeter. I meant to mention that. From here to Uttoxeter it’s four left turns and two right. I managed to get lost twice (once ending up outside Doveridge cemetery on a cycle path), lost the car on the car park and the store was out of stock.

    Bought some fairy lights.

  23. Paul says :

    Afternoon all

    Still on the chundie sick list. 😦

    Cold has gone to my chest so red wine cure sadly didn’t work.I’ve got a racking cough and am having to wear an abdominal binder to try and stop my innards catapulting themselves into the stratosphere.Also feeling a bit feversih but haven’t lost my appetite which is a good sign.

    Hopefully a combination of plenty of rest,fluids and beechams all-in-one will soon give this bug its marching orders.

    Anyone wanting either a more detailed description of my symptoms or a sputum sample taken directly from my mouth can email me at Paul’sSick@hotmail.com .Goes without saying there’ll be a small fee so please leave your credit card details.

  24. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Afternoon All

    Well, that was flipping Fab! I danced with actual people most of Sat night, cuz, son, bro, Mum, other cuzes then all the aunts, uncles, cuzes of various degrees of separation took over the dance floor and not a single wibble of the legs.

    Bit of a disaster on the way home, my friend thought I was due on Friday, not Tuesday so her son was in his own bed and his workmate was on the sofa as they had an early start so I said “No worries, there’s a Premier Inn not too far away, I’ll book in there and you come along in a bit and we’ll eat”. No room at the Premier Inn. So a bit of googling later I found a hotel. Now the good news: it only had a flipping carvery! 😀

    Ooh, and Bill, my uncle and aunt from SW London did a road trip too and on Wed and Thurs nights stayed in Ashbourne. I said “I hear it has a v good cheese shop”. 🙂

  25. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Not sure what the temperature is outside but this glass fronted house is mad. I drove home wearing a thick woolly jumper, the sunshine has heated my sitting room up so much I’ve just had to take it off and am typing in my bra (with the curtains closed).

  26. NuitsdeYoung says :

    Look after yourself, Paul: that sounds nasty.

    Am a bit peeved. One of the agencies called with an offer of my old job back as a temp. My CV was submitted, and the department decided “to go with another candidate”. I wonder if, having forked out for my leaving do, they didn’t want me back so soon?

  27. neartheclocktower says :

    Paul, we could always exchange sputum free of charge.

    Oh, that didn’t come out quite right 😉 🙂

    Sorry to hear you’re also on the chundie sick list. As you say, plenty of rest should help.

    After a bad night I’m feeling a bit better but v tired. The sore throat has now gone so I feel more like eating.

  28. emmachisset says :

    evening folks,

    must’ve be’n cold last night, got to work and found that my water bottle that i’d left in the van overnight was frozen, almost completely solid. never seen that before.

  29. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Hope all ailing chundies are on recovery road soon as. I recommend fleecy jimmies, I’m in mine.

  30. emmachisset says :

    Spent the past 2 days doing a nice needle sweep, bail hostel, 2 women’s rooms,

    only found about 25 hypos, and they’d mostly put the caps over the needles, which is nice 🙂

    I have to search EVERYWHERE, underwear drawers included,

    Was tempted to dress up and send a pic to all on our network using the ‘share ‘ facility………….plenty of make up there too,

    kinda sad too, mountains of clean neatly ironed clothes, some good quality, brands etc, Armani, blah, all into the bin.

    not finished yet, must be costing someone a fortune !

  31. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Hi Emms, does that mean the women whose rooms you are clearing up have moved on, then? And left all their clothes behind? Back to prison or elsewhere? Don’t suppose you’re made party to that. There is a whole other really sad world most of us never even think about.

  32. emmachisset says :

    hiya 51,

    hope you enjoyed your trip , are you back home now?

    I was told they’d both just gone, without leaving an explanation/forwarding address,

    They seemed to have left loadsa personal things and bits and pieces behind that most people wouldn’t abandon,

    eg one of them was a bit of an artist, quite good, and she’d left stacks of her drawings etc,

    I gather they didn’t go to prison – don’t know if that means they’re on the run, or what…

  33. NuitsdeYoung says :

    Fleecy is good. I have a fleecy nightie with a hood.

  34. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Yes home again, Emms. I hadn’t been back to Yorkshire (apart from a trip to York when the children – now almost 27 and 23 – were small) since 1998. Took it easy and it was fab, thank you.

    Ooh, Nuits, a nightie with a hood. I am going to have to look for one ….

  35. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Oh, Mum and I stayed in the Premier Inn on Angel Street, Sheff for 2 nights, though. 2nd night, just before 5am, sodding fire alarm goes off. 300 peeps file down the stairs, across the road to the mustering point, I had my jimmies – and not the fleecy ones – on, a mac, no socks and there were others in way less and it was not warm. 4 fire crews turned up, searched the place and let us back in at 5.30am.

  36. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Aaahh, the driving in Sheffland, though. My sil lives on Eccleshall Road. From Angel St to Eccleshall Rd, about 93,000 sets of traffic lights. I did Milton Keynes on the way, easy flipping peasy, they just do roundabouts.

  37. polly says :

    Evening

    Well I got to the tesco phone shop and they’d gone home early, so had to just point at lowest tech looking phone and say ‘that one’ll do’

    Bit like this

  38. polly says :

    Anyway it’s working, though the internet is a bit shite.

  39. polly says :

    Hope you’re better soon Paul, and all the other indisposed peeps. Some nasty cough/chest infection type things about so if it doesn’t clear up soonish, might be an idea to visit the docs.

  40. polly says :

    Ha, my new phone has got snake on it!

    Happy Polly…..(and also probably a hipster now I’ve got a retro phone).

  41. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    I’m awful with phones, Polly. I just want it to be a phone. And I text. And take the odd photo. Ok, I want it to be a phone and a msg service and camera. But I pay for broadband at home. Where I use the landline cos I pay for that too, with no choice, Sky (I don’t have their telly) charge a given rate for unlimited b/band and calls to mobiles and landlines. So I kind of separate the 2 cos I won’t pay for broadband twice.

    Mum bought a Tesco phone a few months ago, big bro had to get it unlocked for her, she couldn’t get her head around it. Mind, she was 80 last week but a brill, active and right up there 80. Mostly.

  42. NuitsdeYoung says :

    Fiftyone: I’m the same with phones. I just use it as a phone. It’s a simple machine, not a smart phone. I can’t be arsed trying to text. I have a camera, and for email/www I use a computer.

