Tuesday, 15th November 2016

126 responses to “Tuesday, 15th November 2016”

  1. justamentalpatient says :

    101!

  2. justamentalpatient says :

    See? a complete and utter twat!

  3. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Long, long ago, our then department at the car co I worked for went out for a meal at a lovely little bistro in Stony Stratford. Our dept was 4 young (told you it was a long time ago) women and 4 blokes but 3 of us were dafter than the one called Davina. Anyway, we 3 all decided we needed a wee at the same time and being daft, on the way to the loo and I don’t know who started it, we decided we were Charlie’s Angels and burst into the loos by kicking the door open (it wasn’t locked and it had handles and everything). The poor woman already in there nearly wet herself even though she’d just been.

  4. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    All the best, Nuits. And to your dad.

  5. NuitsdeYoung says :

    Ta. I love your gorgeous doggy pic, justa. It makes me smile, just wanting to pet that cute critter.

  6. NuitsdeYoung says :

    Thanks, 51 and James. It’s just everything seems so hopeless right now.

  7. justamentalpatient says :

    She is a little sweetheart who loves being loved, I’ll give her extra fuss from you.

  8. NuitsdeYoung says :

    Staffies are fab. They are the mainstay of a younger cousin, who has had mental health difficulties himself. I think he’s now on to his second, and she is an utter sweetheart, too. A cuddle-monster.

  9. jamesvalenciano says :

    Justy, now don’t take this the wrong way, but you’re wrong there 🙂

  10. justamentalpatient says :

    Cuddle monster is spot on for a staffie. And so good for people. Bet she helps your cousin.

    Wonderful dogs, loving, and they only want to please. And cuddle. And flop. And cuddle. And play. And cuddle. And be with their human/s. For cuddles.

    Animals are therapy plus, plus!

  11. justamentalpatient says :

    You’re right, james. She is a lump of love. Emphasis on lump when she is in lap dog mode. 😉

  12. justamentalpatient says :

    In all seriousness, take care of yourself, nuit.
    Hope that all goes well for your dad, he sounds like a nice bloke.

  13. jamesvalenciano says :

    Hmm, I’m getting forthrighter and forthrighter: As here.
    I don’t expect approval, because since this carrying on is probably making me a little intemperate. I only flag this up for humour value, hopefully 🙂

  14. justamentalpatient says :

    Ha! Excellent grauniadism in this on
    https://www.theguardian.com/society/2016/nov/16/ban-police-cells-mental-health-crisis

    Paul Harmer (formerly know as Paul Farmer) is not a popular man among more aware nutters…

  15. NuitsdeYoung says :

    Ruby is a real treasure. When we were in Rimini in September (seems years away now), Dad and I met an Italian Staffie with his family – he was called Anube (Italian for ‘Anubis’!) who could have been her brother. He was even wearing the official collar with Stafford Knots on it! I love their smiles.

  16. justamentalpatient says :

    Hmm. Unlike you, james.

    First time I’ve ever worried about the BP of our lovely resident hippy…

  17. justamentalpatient says :

    Oh, yeah. Great smiles. And the staffie yawn “aawoooorrrup!”

    And Anube soaked up the fuss from you and your dad, no doubt!

  18. NuitsdeYoung says :

    Great post, James. I have come to the conclusion that the majority of people are worthless dross who could be wiped out with no great loss to civilisation. I’ve pretty much had it with politics: people aren’t worth defending or supporting when they can vote against their own interests so catastrophically. I hope those who voted Brexit or for Trump suffer even more than the rest of us will.

  19. NuitsdeYoung says :

    Sadly, Anube wasn’t quite in cuddle-reach, but we spoke to his humans. This was in a lovely café on the Piazza Cavour; it had been a 19C chemist’s and had kept a lot of old fittings, shelves & c. Excellent piadine…

  20. jamesvalenciano says :

    Ta Nuits, and Justy, we hippes have teeth, to grind nuts and berries and things, and seeds too of course 🙂

    As you can tell, I’m fatigued, I can’t handle this “Understand these people!” – where “Understand” is shorthand for “stop telling them they are wrong and personally deficient on a moral level”.

    Well, to use an americanism, “to hell with that”: the stage has been vastly crossed (mixed metaphors, pardon me) where being nice is appropriate.
    I would not have been nice to Pol Pot either 🙂

  21. jamesvalenciano says :

    Finally, in an optimistic tone of sorts:

    I’ve also had it up to here with politics, Nuits, for now. I’m going to leave it be for a while, maybe a long while, and take it easy, n short. I just bought a pile of books I haven’t read, second hand shop here, so have lots of reading.
    You’ll be interested:
    – Vinland sagas.
    – John Le Carré “a small town in Germany”.
    – Amin Maalouf “Samarcande” no idea what that is, but promising new French arab lit.
    – Graham Greene the quiet american. He’s great.
    – Rumer Godden “kingfishers also catch fire” I think it was: Great, a bit grim in parts.
    – Joyce ! Someone gave me Ulysses, I’m going to read it. It’s forbidding. The intro is great.

    I best stop but there are at least ten more. I had a book binge a few weeks ago (no good bookshops in Valencia you see, I had years of non0booking to make up for 🙂 )

  22. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    James, I joined you there but only just now and with a brand new comment. I had to point out something, which is that 42.1% voted for no-on at all according to best available figures. What a mess we are in.

  23. NuitsdeYoung says :

    Agreed, James. I had been starting to get politically engaged again, and feel vaguely optimistic, but Brexit and Trump sicken me…And I detest the sheer arrogance of the exceptionalist nationalist narrative being peddled here in Scotland (which mirrors that of the so-called ‘Home Counties’), that takes no account of the fact that 1000s of us have family members in the rest of Britain… Anyone who wants to put an international border between more than half my family (my Dad included) and me, and take away our ability to have a vote in each other’s interests, will have to kill me first. It’s that simple.

  24. NuitsdeYoung says :

    James – The sagas are great. I grew up on them (thanks to Pa having lots of Penguin Classics around). I used to get threatened and chased at junior high school, aged 9, for carrying Njal’s Saga around to read for pleasure at breaktimes. I used to have to dodge bricks being thrown at me on the way home from school. That was Bransholme in the mid-’70s.

    The North Tower of Victor Hugo’s Notre Dame is still where I feel safest at present.

    Maalouf isn’t in my good books: his The Crusades through Arab Eyes is inaccurate ‘pop’ history, not a patch on Gabrieli’s edition of selections from the actual Arabic chronicles.

  25. jamesvalenciano says :

    Nuits: Bricks !
    Jees.
    I had it easy. Mind you I didn’t read books at breaktimes. We used to steal grapes across the border, or play lord of the rings quizzes with each other as in “What’s the name of the elf that such and such?”
    This girl I quite liked used to make fun of us. That smarted. All these eyars later, i still remember the name: Marguerite 🙂 Goes to show eh ?

    Anyway, I read books while walking to the bus-stop which was the equivalent of staring at mobile phones now. In both cases, one risks walking into lamp posts.

    Njal’s saga is the one I’m sending to the Irish bookseller Jim who I met with his missus Breda, ‘cos they met my talkative sister, Jim being a talkative chap, and he sent my Ulysses and I said I’d send him Njal ‘cos he’s never read it 🙂

    There. Books are books, and all’s well, and we can forget all the rest for a bit.

    Final book: I got a copy of “William” which I remembered from when I were a lad. That’s a laugh, I’m glad to report it works as an adult too 🙂

    There are more books in my lovely new pile, I’ll tell you about them another day, because now, I must to bed, it’s past 2am and I’m supposed to work tomorrow.

    So, on that slightly random note about books, I say think books, and not bad things, and talk, that is write, soon !

  26. jamesvalenciano says :

    p.s. Maalouf: Noted. I’ll bear that in mind.
    p.p.s Victor Hugo: haven’t read that for ages. The closest I came was a most curious “trouble of a chinaman in China” by Jules Verne. Unfortunately, it’s serialised, and I only have the first 100 pages. The rest will remain a mystery: It was a little strange, being a French version of China in great detail in Victorian times.

    Right, bedtime again. Pardon the pun: “Bonne nuit !” 🙂

Leave a reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.