Tuesday, 1st November 2016

woman-knits-tiny-sweaters-for-chickens-to-keep-them-warm-1-677x403-5815444beb5a5__880I’ve taken-up knitting

97 responses to “Tuesday, 1st November 2016”

  1. interiorbc says :

    three..two…one

  2. interiorbc says :

    whatever is happening there cannot possibly be as bad as what’s happening to the south of us…seven more days and then we’ll know…

  3. hermionegingold says :

    greetings all!!!

    hope all are well.

    had one of those ‘spooky tooth’ moments today with my niece (jasmine, 8..beyond fierce, uber intelligent and takes no prisoners….)

    as ever i asked her the book she most adored at halloween. she came up with this:

    https://www.amazon.co.uk/Wickedest-Witch-Witches-War/dp/1843651319/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1478032963&sr=8-1&keywords=the+wickedest+witch

    modesty forbade me for proclaiming i know the author (yeah, right i shouted it out)

    wherever you are kt, you have made an impact unlike so many of us. hope you and yours are well

    xx

  4. justamentalpatient says :

    Britain is run from Wimbledon now? Damn Uncle Bulgaria!

  5. xenium1 says :

    Evening, 51. x

  6. Paul says :

    Hi Herm

    It would be nice to see the old seadog again just to know all’s well with him and his family.

    Hope you’re also well and keeping out of trouble 🙂

  7. justamentalpatient says :

    Diwali, bonfire night and new years eve acceptable. Chinese new year, too.

    It’s the never knowing when your dog is going to get stressed out that is annoying. And how late they sometimes go on.

  8. hermionegingold says :

    never out of trouble paul but keeping well.

    x

  9. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Inty, lovely, we have pledged you all the bricks (half a billion more than you need, we love you that much), please, Canada, get building! x 🙂 x

    http://brickingitforcanada.com/

    Good evening, your dameship. Hope all is will in the borderland.

  10. Paul says :

    Not sure if the following artist will get the juices flowing at Maison Gingold but i’ve been listening to a lot of his stuff recently and really enjoying it.

  11. justamentalpatient says :

    My friends kids have loved some of his books, no doubt my neice and nephew are going to (if they haven’t already), too.

    Think he’s a top bloke, your dameship.

  12. hermionegingold says :

    i have adored greg and his tea cosy hat for years

    a brilliant pr stroke

    x

  13. interiorbc says :

    How nice to see you dear Hermoine…

    51, that’s great, have now bricked off Alaska also!

  14. Paul says :

    I knew we both had great taste Herm .

    Here’s one for our founding father KT wherever he his.

    Long gone but not forgotten

  15. hermionegingold says :

    i must away

    in the middle of a work nightmare with the japanese……

    i shall leave you with this & hope to chat soon

    x

  16. Tybo says :

    Evening each.

    I took a look at the new stations, James, if you are still about. Bloody hell the Oxford one looks boring. The old one was quite boring but they seem to have replaced it with one that is more shiny but even more architecturally dull.

    My favorite newish one, as I commented on there, is the Blackfriars one since the revamp. I had to change trains there a few years ago and the platforms are now actually on the bridge, enclosed by glass, so you can look down the river at Tower Bridge as you wait for your train.

    I would say that makes it one of the top platforms to wait on, with a close rival being Grange Over Sands, which has views over Morcambe Bay and used to have a little second hand bookshop run on the honesty system.

  17. Paul says :

    For those who’re not sure what our Herm’s doing with the Japanese here’s an example of her work with them

    Herm did a crash course in Japanese but sadly it came out sounding like double dutch .She’s therefore speaking in english but with japanese sub titles.

    I’m off as well so toodlepip one and all.

  18. Tybo says :

    Crianlarich is pretty good too. Nice greasy spoon in what used to be the waiting room.

  19. Tybo says :

    Bye Paul

  20. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Evening Tybo, now you have me looking at this:

    https://www.steamheritage.co.uk/museums_and_attractions/listing/pontypool_blaenavon_railway

    I might have to borrow my friend’s little boy if I want to go, he is steam train mad. I don’t know anyone else who would come with me willingly. Although I could weedle someone into it. I’ve museumed everyone out, though. Eric’s Emporium sounds, errm, fun? Anyone know the current whereabout of one Richard Litchfield? 😉

  21. emmachisset says :

    crainlarich,, i remember the name well, must be near Oban?

  22. Tybo says :

    You can get the train to Oban from there, Emma. The line splits there with one branch going to Oban and the other to Fort William.

    Hi Fifty.

    I like steam trains myself but Crianlarich is a normal type station, it is just that they run steamtrains through there sometimes and there happened to be one there when I was walking through.

  23. interiorbc says :

    Great steam train, which of course reminds me of dear Richard, who can be found amongst ‘the untrusted’.
    🙂

  24. interiorbc says :

    Next time I see the steam train man I shall let you know 51.
    He wasn’t about today.

  25. Tybo says :

    If we are bringing steam trains into it though I will have to put in a call for Dalegarth station on the Lil Ratty line ( narrow gauge steam train from Ravenglass up into Eskdale)

  26. interiorbc says :

    Beautiful trains tybo…something very romantic about train travel, especially on those trains!

  27. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Hehe, prob just me Tybo, but it looks like the 2nd 2nd class or goods or open carriage has a little house atop it. x

  28. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Juno and actually, I can’t atch remember the last time I was on a train if you don’t count the choob. I remember loads of journeys but not when the last one was. Must be 30+ years when I passed my driving test. D’ya think they missed me?

  29. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Sorry, I was being a bit darn wiv n that ^there^.

  30. Tybo says :

    It is tiny, Fifty. But it is a real line not a model. It was built to take slate down from Eskdale to the sea for transport on.

  31. Tybo says :

    No trains on Lewis. Lord Levehulme had a scheme to build one I think, but it came to nothing like most of his schemes.

    The nearest one to me is Garve, which is another nice platform. Halfway between Ullapool and Inverness. It is on a little branch line that runs down to Kyle of Localsh. I have been a couple of stops but not the whole way. Must do it now I have my senior rail card!

    Garve is not a bad spot, come to think of it.

  32. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Sorry, Tybo just being silly, the house is obvs a house.

    There used to be 2 stations in P/pool town centre for the same – well similar reason, coal and iron ore. Not one now, you have to have a car to get to the nearest station which is out in the sticks at New Inn. Now, if you have a car and are not going to London, why would you need a train?

  33. Tybo says :

    I had a dream last night. I had been offered a council flat and went to look at it. It was in a tower block but only a few floors up. It was in a terrible state though and as I tried to open a badly cracked door sized window of reinforced glass it fell out and smashed on the ground, narrowly missing some people and leaving a door sized hole in the wall.

    The rest of it was not much better.

    On the way out I realised that I had to pass this bunch of people, all wrapped up in coats, on some battered old sofas in this sort of passage, it wasn’t exactly clear if this was part of “my” flat or the hallway. But they had a fleabitten dog that jumped up at me. It was not being agressive, just out of control and none of these people did anything they just looked incuriously.

    I thought. Hmmm, this is going to be quite a difficult decision.

    I think it must have been in London.

  34. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Although having said ^that^, I do get a bus if going to Cardiff. £7.50 return, they can do the M4 bus lane (M4 madness on matchdays), there are 3 stops in the centre I can get on/off at and I can park in Pontypool while I do all that for free. Think we have to keep championing public transport.

  35. Tybo says :

    The less there is the less it gets used and the more clamour there is to cut it further.

    Beeching turned out to have made a serious error of judgement. He thought that by closing the branch lines it would save money and make the system more cost efficient. But the branch lines, though expensive per head, were what brought many of the passengers to the main lines that remained so they had a massive drop off in paying passengers….

  36. Tybo says :

    I wish I could drive but I like public transport. When I did my walk from London to Stornoway, a car would have been little use because I would have kept having to get back to it at the end of the day’s walk. As it was I had to plot my route using buses and trains to get to the start, and away from the end, of the day’s walk, or chunk of several days.

    So I didn’t miss having a car at all, really.

  37. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Dreams fascinate me, Tybo. But how real they are, i am clueless. There are loads who try to interpret them,but as no 2 of us ever led the same life (unless you’re royal/advantaged), I don’t think that means anything. What was explained to me, they might relate to something that happened yesterday, they might relate to something that happened 20 years ago, they might relate to something that never happened but you have read about. They sort of unravel brain spaghetti, though. You know, like you have to turn off your PC every now and again so it can reset itself. But better. x

  38. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Your fab walk, no, no car, thank you for your blog, I loved it, there wasn’t enough of it. I’d never have done it. xx

  39. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    “The less there is the less it gets used and the more clamour there is to cut it further.”

    Absolutely, Tybo. The nearest station is at a place called New Inn. It is unmanned and unlit. I never allowed my daughter to use it, it is a good half mile from the nearest main road/bus stop. Someone must have known that. Also, only about a quarter of the trains from Cardiff or Bristol even stop there, the rest whizz through and don’t stop til Newport.

  40. interiorbc says :

    Interesting conversation you two, I enjoyed that.

    (I thought it looked like a wee house on the train also)

    nn now.

  41. Tybo says :

    I am so glad I did, Fifty. I only wish I had done more of the blog. Especially the photos. When I started they were a bit of an afterthought, but as time went on I took more and more. Which could be a bit of a pain when I wanted to crack on. But it meant I had a photographic record (I took far more than I put up even on the later, more photo heavy blog posts) so with the photos, blog and memories I can pretty much relive the walk.

    It was one of the best things I ever did. There is something really great about knowning the whole route from Islington to Stornoway. Of course I have forgotten bits but then I have photos to jog my memory. And streetmap lets me retrace the route on OS maps.

  42. Tybo says :

    Right, I had better head. Writing group tomorrow and lots of other stuff to do first.

    NN

  43. Paul says :

    I thought it looked like a wee house on the train also

    We call them toilets here Inty 😉

  44. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    I am so glad you did too. Yep, not enough blog but please post all your pics, would love to see them if you still have them. Just fabbest thing.

    Nn lovelies. xx

  45. Paul says :

    Steam trains are fine if they’re running in rural and isolated areas but are pollutants in the more urban areas.That said i’d like to travel on one before i’m six feet under.

    I would however really love to travel on ”The Canadian ” from Vancover to Toronto.which also dips into the USA at a couple of stages of it’s long route.

    Inty regularly shows us pictures of the beautiful and diverse Canadian landscape .And for any nightbirds and insomniacs the following link will show you some more as ”The Canadian” winds it’s way from east to west across Canada.

  46. Paul says :

    A track from a truly great Canadian

  47. Paul says :

    Love listening to this track late at night.

