Sunday 23.10.16

recyc

The aftermath of Paul’s birthday bash.

49 responses to “Sunday 23.10.16”

  1. Bill says :

    Morning.

    “Like” has stopped working again.

    7° and miserable.

  2. xenium1 says :

    Cans in the green bin, shirley?

    Is that not Lorraine Kelly’s back garden? She’s graffitied her initials on the fence…

  3. Sleepychow says :

    It’s a confusing pic, Xen. Too many questions …

    Morning (just) all.

  4. Sleepychow says :

    Fings from yesterday: “mosquito coils”

    ?

    I’m imagining something like curly fly-paper.
    I’m guessing I’m wrong.

  5. Bill says :

    This voice recognition malarkey is quite good, he said.

  6. Sleepychow says :

    Ah.

    Reeeeeeeeaaaaaaaaally slow, non-spinny Catherine Wheels.

  7. Sleepychow says :

    Glad you’re enjoying your new toy, Bill.

    You could train it to recognise all sorts.
    I’m now imagining a very rude parrot.

  8. Bill says :

    Morning Sleepy. Feeling a bit better today are we?

  9. Sleepychow says :

    To The Morning Things!

  10. fingsaint says :

    Back where I live, different rules apply to different states but they all encourage recycling in their own recalcitrant ways.

    The winner is my home state of SA where they refund 5c on every can/bottle returned to the recycling plant. Often see people collecting the empties in sacks from sport grounds and other open ground events so they can cash-in in the best environmently friendly way ๐Ÿธ๐Ÿธ๐Ÿธ

  11. Sleepychow says :

    A bit, yes thank you.
    Even though I could have gone out last night I chose to stay sofa-bound.
    Watched all 4 episodes of that disturbing, but very skillfully acted, National Treasure.

  12. Sleepychow says :

    We used to have refunds on certain bottles (no more though) and aluminium cans can be cashed in at about a penny a pop but you need to know where to take them … so some folk do that and some take cans off the streets/parks.

  13. fingsaint says :

    Yep they’re them coils, sleeps โ˜ 

  14. fingsaint says :

    Glad you liked the birthday banner yesterday, Paul.

    I’d just like to point out, that although Bill, Sleeps, Tybo and I put up the daily banner pics, it is Sleepy who keeps the birthday diary and without Sleepy keeping us up to date, we’d be fooked when it came to remembering to celebrate on time.

    Sleepy ๐ŸŽ–๐ŸŽƒ๐Ÿ’‹

  15. Bill says :

    Yep, three cheers for Sleepy.

    Gin and tonic anyone?

  16. fingsaint says :

    Ah, that’ll be nice. cheers Bill *chink slurp*

  17. emmachisset says :

    morning folks,

    Sleeps, i’ve done your trick……………………went to make a loaf, and the paddle’s not there.

    ( It lives either in the machine or with the cutlery ).

    Half an hour of searching and I then i had to use an umbrella to hook my rubbish bag out of the bin.

    ain’t been through the rubbish yet, but it has to be either in the flat or the binbag, so i’m ‘happy’ that it will turn up.

    Only other way out of the flat is down the loo, and even i couldn’t be absent minded enough for that??

    ( i washed it yesterday, so it can’t be far away )

  18. polly says :

    Happy belated birthday Paul, a choon I hope you’ll appreciate

  19. Bill says :

    Pheasant for lunch. Must be ten years since I’ve had one.

  20. brusselsexpats says :

    Afternoon al

    Happy belated Birthday Paul – am not online much over the weekend so often miss the birthdays.

    Hope the hangover isn’t too bad……

  21. xenium1 says :

    Of course I read that as “Peasant for lunch” – grilled or roast?

  22. xenium1 says :

    Good news too. The young friend of the family* wot I ave oft mentioned had a baby girl last night. My mum’s over the moon… ๐Ÿ™‚

    *I know “friend of the family” must not sound like much, but she’s more than that. My parents looked after her until she was 16, childminders kinda thing, & she still comes around. More like the granddaughter they never had…

  23. polly says :

    congratulations on your new sort of great niece Xen…

  24. Sleepychow says :

    Yey, Uncle Xen!

    When was the wedding again … ?
    :squinkle:

  25. Sleepychow says :

    Pleasant for lunch?

    Oh. Lunch. That’s why I’m so hungry – I missed it out completely.

  26. Sleepychow says :

    Hey, Bru.

    It’s understood you don’t do weekend on-line stuff.
    It’s almost as if you have a life n everything.
    :smilie:

  27. Sleepychow says :

    If asked, I would’ve thought Street Life was by Rose Royce.

    As you can see, I’m willing to share my hignorance.

  28. Sleepychow says :

    Emms,
    Shirley if you washed the paddle it wouldn’t be in the bin … ?

    I suggest you look on 51’s settee: It’s a magical place where things just appear.

  29. Sleepychow says :

    Any G&T left, Bill?

    A long tall icy one please … with a slice of lime.

  30. Sleepychow says :

    Ah yes, note to self: Must locate CU celebration diary instead of sitting on my rump.

  31. Sleepychow says :

    “Must be ten years since Iโ€™ve had one.”

    *snort*

    And that’s me caught up then.

  32. Bill says :

    ๐Ÿ™‚ Sleepy

  33. Sleepychow says :

    Machines are about to bleep at me so I best be orf.

    Laterses all.

  34. paul says :

    Evening all

    Ta for the banner Sleeps and ta for the birthday greetings Bru and Polly.

    My head’s actually totally clear-not a hangover in sight.Feeling a bit knackered though.

    ps only drunk red wine so not sure what all those beer cans are doing in our bin.

  35. paul says :

    Hope all’s well -or well(ish) with everyone here.

  36. paul says :

    Urgent Update For Hermione Gingold DBE

    Herm, it’s been reported that Zsa Zsa still has a pulse so she’s still with us.


  37. polly says :

    Evening.

    I think Zsa Zsa is immortal Paul.

    Well I have been getting thoroughly plastered, everywhere is covered in Thistle finishing coat, though I have managed to skim 1 1/2 walls (badly). Bleurgh. About to get in the bath and scrape the rest off.

  38. NuitsdeYoung says :

    My wonderful Dad is awaiting tests to find out if his heart can take being put under anรฆsthetic to remove one of his kidneys (for cancer), and if he’ll need dialysis thereafter.
    Four of my friends have lost a parent so far this year. I am worried sick, and am losing my job in 3 weeks’ time.

  39. Paul says :

    Try and stay postive Nuits.Easier said than done i know.

    I don’t know what you do for a living but most people who lose their jobs find another one .

    Your dad is obviously more important and i can understand you being worried.However the fact four of your friends have lost a parent this year doesn’t mean you’re going to lose your dad .And he’s going to need all the love and support you can give him whilst his health problems are being treated.

    Life can be a right bastard at times but we mostly get through the bad times. So try not to lose hope and if you feel things are really getting on top of you then maybe you should see your gp and see what help and support s/he can give you during this difficult period in your life.

    Take care

  40. NuitsdeYoung says :

    I work in academic admin and have been on a maternity cover contract., so am regarded as disposable because other people having a 2-income lifestyle is now considered to be a ‘right’. I have never had any career security: temping, & c. It took me 8 years post-PhD to get a full-time job, and I’ve never had a job commensurate with my qualifications. (Asperger’s, only diagnosed last year, didn’t help.)

    I just feel that 2016 is the worst year ever so far, politically and personally. Everything is being taken away.

  41. Paul says :

    I’m no expert but it sounds to me like you might be a bit depressed.I really would go and see you doctor and explain how you’re feeling.

    One thing i’ve learned in life is that the rough times are also the times you really need to have your wits about you. So i think for starters it’s important you talk to your doctor so s/he’s aware of how bad you’re feeling.And see what help and support s/he can offer.

    If you do become unemployed you may need to claim benefits for a while so you need to have a think as to whether you want to sign on for JSA and actively look for another job or whether you want to claim ESA on account of being unfit for work.And if the latter you really do need to have the support of your doctor.

    I’m signing off now so i wish all the best.

  42. justamentalpatient says :

    Nuits, if your dear dad is having tests to assess his heart for anaesthesia, it’s a good thing.

    It is likely to be more to do with accurately assessing his risk than a simple yes or no. This enables the anaesthetist to prepare for the safest way to work, it’s normal in patients in some groups of anaesthesia risk rating to get more detail before elective operations.

    Stage, grade and type are more important in deciding whether to go ahead (from his viewpoint, perhaps). Along with physical condition.

    Please believe me when I say that anaesthetists are usually bloody good at caring for the patients. They tend to take a far more holistic approach than surgeons, who focus on one thing (ororgan) at a time.

    The man who brought me up since I was six (not my biological dad, but my dad) died earlier this year and had a terrifying episode of illness last year. And it’s fucking hard. Leaving someone you care about in the hands of othersCrying as I write this.Paul is right see your GP. Butyou know it will happen someday

    I hope it’s not now. Seeyour GP and get help for yourself as you are struggling with a lot of shit onyour own.

    I hope all goes well for youboth. And Chundie land is here fior you.

    Take vcare

  43. desdemoaner says :

    Hello Nuits

    The waiting can be the worst for patients like your father, and yourself, and chances are once he’s had surgery and histopathology can confirm what grade and stage the tumour is, you will all feel better as you will know what you’re dealing with. Many find this early stage in illness and treatment very tough. I’ve talked to so many patients and relatives who said it got easier once they got the information post-surgery.

    It is a good sign that your father’s being considered for surgery as first line treatment.

    There are some very bad websites and misinformation out there so be careful if looking for support, maybe the hospital has information on help for relatives. Many will advise – whatever you do, don’t Google!

