Tuesday, 18th October 2016

194 responses to “Tuesday, 18th October 2016”

  1. Sleepychow says :

    Welsh whisky or Welsh beer or Welsh cheese, 51.

    NO socks.

    ^hint^

  2. Tybo says :

    Welsh Whisky definitely sounds better than socks – though I don’t think I have had it.

    Welsh Whisky that is. I have had socks.

    My present for everyone for Christmas is The Brilliant and Forever. My plan is to buy a sheaf and get Kevin MacNeil to sign them next month when he is up for a literary festival.

    http://www.birlinn.co.uk/Brilliant-and-Forever-The.html

    Except my mum because I lent her my copy, like a fool!

  3. Sleepychow says :

    Bazzzzzzzzingggggggggggga!

    a-gain

    oh yes

    I.

    Y.

    F.

    !

  4. Sleepychow says :

    ” I have had socks.”

    kinky

  5. Tybo says :

    Cigarettes, Welsh whisky and Welsh, Welsh Women…..

  6. Sleepychow says :

    oh. ‘scuse me … that’ll be boots.

    Kinky boots.

    *no linky*

  7. Sleepychow says :

    Are Welsh Welsh women different from Welsh women?

  8. Tybo says :

    I am sure it is socks for some, Sleeps.

    But probably not in Northampton. They do like their boots there.

  9. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Ooh, cheese, good idea. Matured down Big Pit. And I could do either whisky or wine too, there’s a vineyard in Abergavenny, Welsh cheese and wine from within 10 miles either way of me. Sorted!

    (The shop in town that did “Welsh things” is gone now, I could have bought him socks with dragons on. I bet they sell them in Abergavenny. πŸ˜‰ )

  10. Sleepychow says :

    *checking back*

    Whisky with orange juice??!

    Are you crazy?

    ^don’t answer that^

    arf
    &
    :squoink:

  11. justamentalpatient says :

    Depends on the socks.
    Bridgedales (?) bring smiles of joy to some.

  12. Tybo says :

    I think it is OK to do whatever you want with cheaper blended whisky, Sleeps. Add orange juice, pepsi, ice, bleach…

    So long as you then throw it down the toilet and drink a single malt.

  13. Sleepychow says :

    “But probably not in Northampton. They do like their boots there.”

    I have actually seen that with my very eyes.
    Sometimes* high heeled boots and no knickers iirc.

    *often

  14. Sleepychow says :

    Glad to be of service, 51.

    Invoice is in the post.
    :squink:

  15. Tybo says :

    Well they do, Justa. But having a hillwalking hinterland and a kinky hinterland I have never thought of the two crossing over, certainly not in a sock sense.

    But there are more things in Waitrose and Poundland, as the poet said.

  16. Sleepychow says :

    Arf, Tybo.

    Mebs you can blend it with fruit like you can with vodka .. ?
    Takes away any & every taste of what diabolical alcohol* you flavour.

    *good name for a band?

    ^oh how very 80’s^

  17. emmachisset says :

    for years i thought that one university challenge team sat above the other one,

    which mebee explains why i never got onto the show πŸ™‚

  18. Sleepychow says :

    Everybody’s wearing those kinky hinterland, kinky hinterland,
    oo oo.

  19. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    It’s really, really good if you have a cold, Sleeps. And in about 1985 I met a lovely Scots bloke who had about your reaction when he heard me ask for that in a bar. Took me to Greece, he did. So, it has had more than 1 plus. πŸ˜‰

  20. Tybo says :

    I was inoculated against the taste of blended whisky as a child by my father, who clung to the belief that the cure for everything was whisky until it killed him.

  21. Sleepychow says :

    Emms,
    You’re thinking of The Young Ones UC where the lads dropped stuff on the lower tier (inc one Mr Fry?).

  22. emmachisset says :

    i’ve definitely had whisky and orange, just can’t recall what i thought of it,

    ha, fence sitting or what. Grapefruit and whisky would be a good flavor combo.

  23. Sleepychow says :

    Tybo,
    Your 11:06 is sooooooooo going into classic quotes … unless that’s tasteless … like the whisky …

  24. Tybo says :

    Not that he thought whisky on its own was the cure for everything. He wasn’t mad. So if he had a bad stomach (he had an ulcer for a long time) he was sure that the best thing was to put peppermint cordial in his whisky.

    I managed to avoid that but he did make me drink watered whisky for constipation when I was about ten, which was enough for me.

  25. Tybo says :

    No, it is fine, Sleeps. It is sort of funny but actually quite true.

  26. Tybo says :

    I like grapefruit but someone on a G bake off thread said recently:

    “Why would you put grapefruit in it? It tastes of pain.”

    Which I thought was fabulous.

  27. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    You can’t have grapefruit if you’re on statins. That’s all, no clue why.

  28. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    I flipping love grapefruit, but then again, I like tomato juice. I used to dip crisps in it. But I outgrew that. I wonder if I miss it?

    Note to self: Never again mention whisky and orange juice – at least until someone gets a cold when I must highly recommend it) πŸ˜‰

  29. Tybo says :

    It lowers your blood pressure, Fifty. I drink a glass every morning for that reason. My blood pressure is slightly up but when they tried to prescribe drugs they were all too powerful so I have opted for a morning grapefruit juice.

    But that is instead not as well, the blood pressure tablets all said no grapefruit juice (or kiwi fruit)

  30. Tybo says :

    If you like whisky and orange good luck to you, Fifty. Someone has to drink that blended stuff (my Mum can’t drink it all). The Scottish economy depends on it!

  31. emmachisset says :

    that’s true 51, and i loved grapefruit juice………..

    asked my doctor if it’s ok if i just had the occasional grapefruit binge, but she looked kinda appalled at the suggestion, even one segment would be BAD

  32. Sleepychow says :

    Grapefruit is a strange beastie. Odd thingy it is. If a fruit won’t make good jelly it’s the doings of the devil n that.

    It’s bedtime about 19 hours ago here so I’ll hump you and leave you.

    *enthusiastic leg humps all ’round**

    NN all.
    Ta for an entertaining evening.

    *spesh for your guest, Justa

  33. Sleepychow says :

    *sneezing fit*

    6 so far …

    NN

  34. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Ooh, some days you learn 2 things. No one ever mentioned kiwi when I was on statins, but that is a while ago. I stopped buying them (kiwis) cos daughter became allergic.

  35. Sleepychow says :

    7

    oooooooooOOOOOOOOOOooooooooooo

  36. emmachisset says :

    My taste buds have changed as i age, dunno if others are the same,

    eg 30 years ago, orange juice was my only fruit juice,

    now i find it too sweet and cloying, rarely buy it, and only then just to mix

    but squeezed lemon juice , – that hits the spot

  37. Sleepychow says :

    darn it

    blew my nose and the chance of 8 … ?

    oh well ….really nn

    Good fun, you lot.

    Love to Bill & hens

    xxx

  38. emmachisset says :

    night Sleeps πŸ™‚

  39. Tybo says :

    Night Sleeps.

    I had better go too as I have a gruelling two hour shift at the writing group starting at the crack of 2pm.

    Oh, hope you enjoy the banner tomorrow. (I have a suspicion that Bill will)

  40. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Nn Sleeps xx

    Tbh, I only buy 1 bottle of whisky a year but invariably oh, what is it, that one with the little label “afore ye go”. Sort of tradition. But x**s, when I buy it. is cold and flu season so I use it if I get one, a cold, that is.

    Emms, you can get “1 of your 5 a day” by just drinking one of those little cartons which I used to do x 2 on my way to w**k. Almost half way there! πŸ™‚

  41. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Oh, they don’t do “little cartons” of “grown up” juices, though, like grapefruit or tomato. And anyway, how would I get the lee & perrins in the tomato? πŸ˜‰

  42. emmachisset says :

    I don’t often buy more than one bottle of whisky a week ,

  43. Paul says :

    Tybo

    Bananas are rich in potassium which is also good for lowering blood pressure.

